Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Thursday 13/07/2023

On 13/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause allowing local authorities to meet virtually.

This was defeat number 101 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	145	1	146	121
Labour	0	91	91	83
Liberal Democrat	0	60	60	24
Crossbench	8	10	18	157
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	3	7	10	41
Total	156	169	325	452

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Sarfraz

Baroness Seccombe

Lord Soames of Fletching

Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Lord Ashcombe Lord Ashton of Hyde Earl Attlee Lord Balfe Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Baroness Bertin Lord Blackwell Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Blencathra Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Baroness Bray of Coln Viscount Bridgeman Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine Lord Callanan Lord Colgrain Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Cormack Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Davies of Gower Lord Deben Lord Deighton Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Earl Effingham Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Farmer Baroness Finn Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Fleet Lord Fliaht Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Frost Lord Goodlad Lord Greenhalah Lord Grimstone of Boscobel Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Hill of Oareford Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Rising Earl Howe Lord Horam Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Marylebone Lord Kamall Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Kirkham Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Baroness Lea of Lymm Earl Leicester Baroness Lawlor Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lilley Lord Lingfield Lord Mancroft Baroness Manzoor Lord Lucas Lord Markham Baroness McGregor-Smith Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord Mendoza Baroness Meyer Farl Minto Baroness Mobarik Duke of Montrose Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Moynihan Lord Mott Lord Moylan Baroness Moyo Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Newlove Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Northbrook Lord Norton of Louth Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Lord Pickles Baroness Pidding Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Ranger Lord Reay Lord Risby Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Roborough Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst

Baroness Sater

Lord Selkirk of Douglas

Baroness Stedman-Scott

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Lord Sewell of Sanderstead

Lord Smith of Hindhead

Lord Sterling of Plaistow

Lord Strathcarron

Lord Strathclyde

Lord Swire Lord True

Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Wei

Baroness Williams of Trafford Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord Suri

Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma

Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrottesley

Baroness Swinburne Viscount Trenchard Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Waldegrave of North Hill

Lord Willetts Baroness Wyld

Conservative Votes against the Government

Baroness McIntosh of Pickering

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Berkeley Lord Boateng

Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles

Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy

Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale

Lord Goldsmith Lord Grocott Lord Haskel

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Leong

Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton Baroness Merron

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Baroness Quin Lord Rooker Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Turnberg

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Young of Norwood Green

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Blower Lord Bradley

Baroness Bryan of Partick

Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Lord Cunningham of Felling

Lord Dubs

Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens **Baroness Goudie** Lord Hain

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy Lord Jones

Lord Khan of Burnley

Lord Layard

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke

Lord Livermore

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Murphy of Torfaen Lord Prentis of Leeds Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Sherlock

Lord Stevenson of Balmacara Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Baroness Twycross

Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Whitaker

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Blunkett

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Coaker

Lord Davies of Stamford

Lord Eatwell

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Baroness Mallalieu

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Nye

Baroness Primarolo Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Baroness Smith of Basildon

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Baroness Thornton

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Lord West of Spithead Lord Whitty

Baroness Brinton

Lord German

Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer

Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath

Baroness Hamwee

Lord Strasburger

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Lord Addington

Mandeville Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Lord Beith Baroness Benjamin Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Lord Bradshaw Lord Bruce of Bennachie Baroness Burt of Solihull

Lord Dholakia **Baroness Doocey** Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Grender Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Humphreys Baroness Hussein-Ece

Baroness Ludford Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Lord McNally Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Baroness Northover Lord Newby Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Razzall Baroness Randerson Lord Redesdale Earl Russell Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham

Baroness Janke

Baroness Sheehan Lord Shipley Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Storey

Lord Stunell Baroness Suttie Lord Teverson Lord Thomas of Gresford Baroness Thornhill Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope Lord Wallace of Saltaire Viscount Thurso **Baroness Walmsley** Lord Willis of Knaresborough Lord Wrigglesworth

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Chartres Lord Craig of Radley Lord Birt

Baroness D'Souza Lord Kakkar Earl Kinnoull

Lord Mawson Viscount Waverley

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Best Lord Aberdare

Baroness Boycott Lord Harries of Pentregarth Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd Lord Freyberg Lord Skidelsky Baroness Bull Earl Sandwich

Lord Woolley of Woodford

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Lord McCrea Magherafelt and Lord Verdirame

Cookstown

Other Votes against the Government

Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Brennan Lord Inglewood Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Mann

Baroness Uddin Ref: 2762