Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Thursday 13/07/2023

On 13/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add additional requirements which must be satisfied before local government areas are added to an existing Combined Authority for the nine months following the passage of the Act.

This was defeat number 100 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	146	0	146	121
Labour	0	92	92	82
Liberal Democrat	0	59	59	25
Crossbench	6	6	12	163
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	5	5	10	41
Total	157	162	319	458

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative Votes with the Government					
	Lord Agnew of Oulton	Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom		
	Lord Ashcombe	Lord Ashton of Hyde	Earl Attlee		
	Lord Balfe	Baroness Barran	Lord Bellamy		
	Lord Bellingham	Lord Benyon	Baroness Berridge		
	Baroness Bertin	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Lord Blencathra		
	Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone	Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth		
		Viscount Bridgeman	Lord Brougham and Vaux		
	Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row	Lord Caine	Lord Callanan		
	Viscount Camrose	Lord Carrington of Fulham	Lord Colgrain		
	Lord Cormack	Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne		
	Lord Davies of Gower	Lord Deben	Lord Deighton		
	Earl Effingham	Lord Evans of Rainow	Baroness Evans of Bowes Park		
	Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Lord Farmer	Baroness Finn		
	Baroness Fleet	Lord Flight	Baroness Foster of Oxton		
	Lord Godson	Baroness Goldie	Lord Goodlad		
	Lord Greenhalgh	Lord Grimstone of Boscobel	Lord Hannan of Kingsclere		
	Lord Harrington of Watford	Lord Haselhurst	Lord Hayward		
	Baroness Helic	Lord Henley	Lord Herbert of South Downs		
	Lord Hill of Oareford	Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts	Lord Holmes of Richmond		
	Baroness Hooper	Lord Horam	Lord Howard of Rising		
	Earl Howe	Lord Howell of Guildford	Lord Hunt of Wirral		
	Lord Jackson of Peterborough	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Kamall		
	Lord Kirkham	Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate	Baroness Lawlor		
	Baroness Lea of Lymm	Earl Leicester	Lord Leigh of Hurley		
	Lord Lilley	Lord Lingfield	Lord Livingston of Parkhead		
	Lord Lucas	Lord Mancroft	Baroness Manzoor		
	Lord Markham	Lord Marland	Lord Marlesford		
	Lord McInnes of Kilwinning	Baroness McIntosh of Pickering	Lord McLoughlin		
	Lord Mendoza	Baroness Meyer	Earl Minto		
	Baroness Mobarik	Duke of Montrose	Baroness Morris of Bolton		
	Lord Mott	Lord Moylan	Lord Moynihan		
	Baroness Moyo	Baroness Newlove	Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne		
	Lord Northbrook	Lord Norton of Louth	Lord Offord of Garvel		
	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	Baroness Penn	Lord Pickles		
	Baroness Pidding	Lord Popat	Lord Porter of Spalding		
	Lord Randall of Uxbridge	Lord Ranger	Lord Reay		
	Lord Risby	Lord Roberts of Belgravia	Lord Roborough		
	Baroness Sanderson of Welton	Lord Sandhurst	Lord Sarfraz		
	Baroness Sater	Baroness Scott of Bybrook	Lord Selkirk of Douglas		
	Lord Sewell of Sanderstead	Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury	Lord Smith of Hindhead		

Lord Soames of Fletching Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Lord Strathclyde

Lord Swire Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Wei Baroness Williams of Trafford

Lord Young of Cookham

Baroness Stedman-Scott Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Suri

Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrotteslev

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Baroness Blackstone

Lord Campbell-Savours

Lord Cunningham of Felling

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Stevenson of Balmacara

Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Bradley

Lord Coaker

Lord Dubs

Lord Hain

Lord Hendy

Lord Layard

Lord Monks

Lord Whitty

Baroness Nye

Baroness Primarolo

Baroness Sherlock

Baroness Twycross

Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Livermore

Lord Giddens

Baroness Goudie

Lord Khan of Burnley

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea

Lord Berkeley Lord Boateng Baroness Bryan of Partick

Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington Baroness Crawley

Baroness Donaghy

Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale Lord Goldsmith Lord Grocott

Lord Haskel Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Leong

Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale

Lord Rooker Viscount Stansgate

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Baroness Whitaker

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Strathcarron Baroness Swinburne Viscount Trenchard

Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Waldegrave of North Hill

Lord Sterling of Plaistow

Lord Willetts Baroness Wyld

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Blower Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Stamford

Lord Eatwell

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Lord Griffiths of Burry Port

Viscount Hanworth

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Lord Howarth of Newport

Lord Jones

Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Baroness Mallalieu

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morgan of Huyton

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Baroness Quin

Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Baroness Thornton

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam

Lord Beith Lord Bradshaw Baroness Burt of Solihull **Baroness Doocey** Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Janke

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Lord Newby

Lord Shipley

Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Baroness Randerson Farl Russell

Lord Storey Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tope

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord German Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord McNally Baroness Northover Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall

Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Wrigglesworth

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Lord Dholakia Lord Fox

Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Hussein-Ece

Baroness Ludford

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Baroness Sheehan

Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell

Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso **Baroness Walmsley**

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Chartres Viscount Craigavon Lord Kakkar Earl Kinnoull Lord Mawson Viscount Waverley

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Baroness Boycott Lord Aberdare Lord Birt

Lord Freyberg Lord Harries of Pentregarth Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Lord McCrea Magherafelt and Lord Rogan

Cookstown

Lord Verdirame Lord Tyrie

Other Votes against the Government Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Mann Baroness Uddin

> Ref: 2761