# Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

# Thursday 13/07/2023

On 13/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To ensure that only full members of a combined county authority are voting members.

This was defeat number 99 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	<b>Against Govt</b>	Total	No vote
Conservative	146	0	146	121
Labour	0	91	91	83
Liberal Democrat	0	60	60	24
Crossbench	7	8	15	160
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	2	5	7	44
Total	155	164	319	458

#### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Soames of Fletching

th Oxford estone Row
estone
estone
estone
estone
Row
ton
erbourne
E

Baroness Stedman-Scott

Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Lord Strathclyde Baroness Stowell of Beeston Baroness Swinburne Lord Swire

Viscount Trenchard Lord True Lord Vaizey of Didcot Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Lord Wei Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Wrottesley

Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

### **Labour Votes with the Government**

**Labour Votes against the Government** 

Lord Anderson of Swansea

Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett

Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles Viscount Chandos

Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy

Lord Eatwell Baroness Gale Lord Goldsmith Lord Hain

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Lavard

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Lord Livermore

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks Baroness Nye Lord Prentis of Leeds

Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale

Lord Rooker

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Baroness Thornton **Baroness Twycross** 

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Lord Whitty

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Blackstone

Lord Bradley

Baroness Bryan of Partick

Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

**Baroness Crawley** Lord Donoughue

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Giddens **Baroness Goudie** 

Lord Haskel Lord Hendy

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Lennie

Lord Lipsey Baroness Mallalieu Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Morgan of Huyton Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Baroness Primarolo

Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Sahota

Lord Snape

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Touhig

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Baroness Blower

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Coaker

Lord Davies of Stamford

Lord Dubs

Lord Suri

Lord Tugendhat

Baroness Verma

Baroness Wyld

Lord Taylor of Holbeach

Lord Wharton of Yarm

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding

Lord Grocott

Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Jones Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Leong
Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley

Baroness Quin

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Baroness Whitaker Lord Woodley

## **Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government**

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam

Lord Beith Baroness Benjamin Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Baroness Burt of Solihull

Lord Dholakia Lord Fox

Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer

Lord McNally Baroness Northover Lord Palmer of Childs Hill

Baroness Randerson Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan

Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Stunell Lord Thomas of Gresford

Viscount Thurso **Baroness Walmsley** 

Lord Bradshaw

Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal

Baroness Grender Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Ludford

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Storey

Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tope

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

**Baroness Brinton** Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord German

Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Janke

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Lord Sharkey

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Wrigglesworth

**Crossbench Votes with the Government** 

**Lord Chartres** Viscount Craigavon Lord Hogan-Howe Lord Kakkar

Lord Geidt Lord Kilclooney Lord Ricketts

**Crossbench Votes against the Government** 

Lord Carlile of Berriew Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Aberdare Earl Clancarty Baroness D'Souza Earl Kinnoull

Lord Mair Baroness Meacher

**Bishop Votes with the Government** 

**Bishop Votes against the Government** 

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Tyrie Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Truscott Baroness Uddin

> Ref: 2760