Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Thursday 13/07/2023

On 13/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To establish a mechanism for non-constituent members of a combined county authority to be become full members.

This was defeat number 98 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	144	0	144	123
Labour	0	88	88	86
Liberal Democrat	0	59	59	25
Crossbench	11	10	21	154
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	2	5	7	44
Total	157	162	319	458

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative votes with the Government					
	Lord Agnew of Oulton		Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom		
	Earl Arran	Lord Ashcombe	Lord Ashton of Hyde		
	Lord Baker of Dorking	Lord Balfe	Baroness Barran		
	Lord Bellamy	Lord Bellingham	Lord Benyon		
	Baroness Berridge	Baroness Bertin	Lord Black of Brentwood		
	Lord Blencathra	Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone		
	Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth	Baroness Bray of Coln	Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row		
	Lord Caine	Lord Callanan	Viscount Camrose		
	Lord Carrington of Fulham	Earl Cathcart	Lord Clarke of Nottingham		
	Lord Cormack	Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne		
	Lord Davies of Gower	Lord Deben	Lord Deighton		
	Earl Effingham	Lord Evans of Rainow	Baroness Evans of Bowes Park		
	Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Lord Farmer	Baroness Finn		
	Baroness Fleet	Lord Flight	Baroness Foster of Oxton		
	Lord Frost	Lord Godson	Baroness Goldie		
	Lord Goodlad	Lord Greenhalgh	Lord Grimstone of Boscobel		
	Lord Hannan of Kingsclere	Lord Harrington of Watford	Lord Haselhurst		
	Lord Hayward	Baroness Helic	Lord Henley		
	Lord Herbert of South Downs	Lord Hill of Oareford	Lord Hintze		
	Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts	Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Holmes of Richmond		
	Lord Horam	Lord Howard of Rising	Earl Howe		
	Lord Howell of Guildford	Lord Hunt of Wirral	Lord Jackson of Peterborough		
	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Johnson of Marylebone	Lord Kamall		
	Lord Kirkham	Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate	Baroness Lea of Lymm		
	Earl Leicester	Lord Leigh of Hurley	Lord Lexden		
	Lord Lilley	Lord Lingfield	Lord Livingston of Parkhead		
	Lord Lucas	Baroness Manzoor	Lord Markham		
	Lord Marland	Lord Marlesford	Lord McInnes of Kilwinning		
	Baroness McIntosh of Pickering	Lord McLoughlin	Lord Mendoza		
	Baroness Meyer	Earl Minto	Baroness Mobarik		
	Duke of Montrose	Baroness Morris of Bolton	Lord Mott		
	Lord Moylan	Lord Moynihan	Baroness Moyo		
	Baroness Neville-Rolfe	Baroness Newlove	Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne		
	Lord Northbrook	Lord Norton of Louth	Lord Offord of Garvel		
	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	Baroness Penn	Lord Pickles		
	Lord Popat	Lord Porter of Spalding	Lord Randall of Uxbridge		
	Lord Ranger		Lord Roberts of Belgravia		
	Lord Roborough	Baroness Sanderson of Welton	Lord Sandhurst		
	Lord Sarfraz	Baroness Sater	Baroness Scott of Bybrook		
	Lord Selkirk of Douglas		Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury		
	Lord Smith of Hindhead	Lord Soames of Fletching	Baroness Stedman-Scott		
	Lord Stewart of Dirleton	Baroness Stowell of Beeston	Lord Strathclyde		

Lord Suri Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma

Lord Wharton of Yarm

Baroness Wyld

Baroness Swinburne Viscount Trenchard Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Young of Cookham

Lord Swire Lord True

Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Wei Lord Wrottesley

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles Viscount Chandos

Lord Collins of Highbury **Baroness Donaghy** Lord Eatwell Baroness Gale **Baroness Goudie** Lord Haskel

Lord Hendy Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leong

Lord Livermore Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks

Baroness Nye Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale

Lord Rooker

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Baroness Thornton Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Lord Whitty

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Blackstone

Lord Bradley

Baroness Bryan of Partick

Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Baroness Crawley Lord Donoughue

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Golding Lord Grocott

Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Howarth of Newport

Lord Jones

Lord Layard

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Baroness Mallalieu

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morgan of Huyton Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Baroness Primarolo Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Sahota

Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Blower

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chakrabarti

Lord Coaker

Lord Davies of Stamford

Lord Dubs

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Lord Goldsmith Lord Hain

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Khan of Burnley

Lord Lennie

Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Quin

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Turnberg Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Baroness Whitaker Lord Woodley

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Allan of Hallam Lord Addington

Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Dholakia

Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer

Lord McNally Baroness Northover Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Baroness Randerson Earl Russell

Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tope Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Baroness Benjamin

Lord Bradshaw Lord Campbell of Pittenweem

Baroness Doocey

Baroness Garden of Frognal

Baroness Grender Baroness Hussein-Ece

Baroness Ludford Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall Lord Scriven Lord Shipley

Lord Storey Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill

Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Wrigglesworth

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath

Lord German Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Janke

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Lord Sharkey

Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Stunell

Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso Baroness Walmsley

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Aberdare Viscount Colville of Culross

Lord Geidt Earl Kinnoull Baroness Bull Viscount Craigavon Lord Hogan-Howe Lord Young of Old Windsor

Lord Chartres Lord Evans of Weardale

Lord Janvrin

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Baroness Boycott Earl Clancarty Baroness D'Souza
Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Harries of Pentregarth Baroness Hayman
Lord Kilclooney Lord Mair Baroness Meacher

Lord Ricketts

Bishop Votes with the Government Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Tyrie Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government

Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Truscott Baroness Uddin

Ref: 2759