Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Wednesday 06/09/2023

On 06/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To require local plans to identify local housing needs and make provisions for sufficient social rent housing and to eliminate homelessness within a reasonable time period.

This was defeat number 108 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	145	0	145	125
Labour	0	89	89	82
Liberal Democrat	0	41	41	43
Crossbench	5	36	41	134
Bishops	0	2	2	23
Other	6	5	11	40
Total	156	173	329	447

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative Votes with the Government					
Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Baroness Anelay of St Johns	Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom			
Earl Attlee	Lord Baker of Dorking	Baroness Barran			
Lord Bellamy	Lord Bellingham	Lord Benyon			
Baroness Berridge	Lord Black of Brentwood	Lord Blencathra			
Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Lord Borwick	Baroness Brady			
Baroness Bray of Coln	Lord Bridges of Headley	Lord Caine			
Earl Caithness	Lord Callanan	Viscount Camrose			
Lord Carrington of Fulham	Earl Cathcart	Lord Colgrain			
Lord Cormack	Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne			
Lord Cruddas	Lord Davies of Gower	Lord Deben			
Lord Dobbs	Lord Duncan of Springbank	Lord Dunlop			
Baroness Eaton	Earl Effingham	Lord Evans of Rainow			
Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Lord Farmer			
Lord Fink	Lord Finkelstein	Baroness Fookes			
Baroness Foster of Oxton	Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie	Lord Geddes			
Lord Glenarthur	Lord Glendonbrook	Lord Godson			
Baroness Goldie	Viscount Goschen	Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach			
Lord Hamilton of Epsom	Lord Harlech	Lord Haselhurst			
Baroness Helic	Lord Henley	Lord Hintze			
Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Holmes of Richmond	Lord Horam			
Lord Howard of Rising	Earl Howe	Lord Howell of Guildford			
Lord Hunt of Wirral	Lord Jackson of Peterborough	Lord James of Blackheath			
Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Johnson of Lainston	Lord Jopling			
Lord Keen of Elie	Lord Kempsell	Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate			
Lord Lansley	Baroness Lea of Lymm	Lord Leigh of Hurley			
Lord Lilley	Lord Lingfield	Lord Lucas			
Lord Magan of Castletown	Lord Mancroft	Lord Markham			
Lord McColl of Dulwich	Lord McInnes of Kilwinning	Lord Mendoza			
Baroness Meyer	Earl Minto	Baroness Mobarik			
Duke of Montrose	Baroness Morgan of Cotes	Baroness Morris of Bolton			
Lord Mott	Lord Murray of Blidworth	Lord Naseby			
Baroness Neville-Rolfe	Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne	Baroness Noakes			
Lord Northbrook	Lord Norton of Louth	Lord Offord of Garvel			
Baroness O'Neill of Bexley	Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay			
Baroness Pidding	Lord Polak	Lord Popat			
Lord Porter of Spalding	Lord Randall of Uxbridge	Lord Ranger of Northwood			
Lord Reay	Baroness Redfern	Lord Risby			
Lord Roborough	Baroness Sanderson of Welton	Lord Sandhurst			
Lord Sassoon	Baroness Sater	Baroness Scott of Bybrook			
Baroness Seccombe	Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia	Lord Sharpe of Epsom			

Baroness Shields Lord Soames of Fletching Baroness Stowell of Beeston **Baroness Stroud** Lord Swire Lord True **Baroness Verma** Lord Willetts Lord Young of Cookham

Lord Shinkwin Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Strathcarron Baroness Sugg Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Baroness Warsi Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Strathclyde Baroness Swinburne Lord Trefgarne Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Baroness Wyld

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Bach **Baroness Blackstone** Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington Baroness Crawlev Baroness Drake Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Henig Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leong Lord Livermore Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness Primarolo Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Sawyer Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Stevenson of Balmacara **Baroness Thornton** Lord Turnberg Lord Watson of Invergowrie Lord Whitty Lord Wood of Anfield

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Andrews Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Lord Hain Lord Haskel Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Jones Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Liddle Lord Maxton Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Prosser Lord Rooker **Baroness Sherlock** Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig Baroness Twycross Baroness Wheeler Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett Baroness Bryan of Partick Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Donoughue Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale Lord Grantchester Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Lord McAvoy **Baroness Merron** Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Sahota Lord Sikka Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Tunnicliffe Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Baroness Whitaker Lord Winston

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Alderdice Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport **Baroness Humphreys** Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer **Baroness Parminter** Lord Roberts of Llandudno Lord Sharkey Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell **Baroness Thornhill** Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Baroness Barker Lord Bradshaw Lord Clement-Jones Lord German **Baroness Grender** Baroness Hussein-Ece Lord Newby Baroness Pinnock Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Storey Baroness Thomas of Winchester Viscount Thurso Baroness Walmsley

Lord Beith Lord Bruce of Bennachie **Baroness Featherstone** Earl Glasgow Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Kramer Lord Oates Lord Redesdale Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Strasburger Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Tope

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Bew

Lord Jay of Ewelme

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Bowness Lord Carrington Baroness Clark of Calton Lord Crisp

Baroness Cavendish Little Venice Lord Powell of Bayswater Lord Best Baroness Boycott Lord Chartres Earl Courtenay of Devon Lord Cromwell

Lord Geidt

Lord Bichard Baroness Bull Earl Clancarty Viscount Craigavon Baroness D'Souza

Baroness Falkner of Margravine	Baroness Finlay of Llandaff	Lord Green
Lord Greenway	Lord Hampton	Baroness H
Lord Kerr of Kinlochard	Baroness Kidron	Lord Laming
Earl Lytton	Lord McDonald of Salford	Baroness O
Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve	Lord Patel	Lord Rickett
Lord Singh of Wimbledon	Lord Stevens of Birmingham	Lord Vaux c
Lord Walney	Duke of Wellington	Lord Wilson
Bishop Votes with the Governme	nt	

n of Hurstpierpoint Howarth of Breckland ∩g O'Loan tts of Harrowden n of Dinton

Bishop Votes against the Government Bishop of Durham B Bishop of Southwark Other Votes with the Government Lord Browne of Belmont Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee Lord Gadhia Lord Lupton Lord Tyrie Other Votes against the Government Lord Austin of Dudley Lord Mann Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle

Lord Rogan

Lord Weir of Ballyholme

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

Ref: 2777