Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Monday 04/09/2023

On 04/09/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause requiring the Secretary of State to promote a comprehensive regulatory framework for planning and the built environment to secure the physical, mental and social health and well-being of the people of England.

This was defeat number 106 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	142	1	144	127
Labour	0	80	80	91
Liberal Democrat	0	49	49	35
Crossbench	2	21	23	152
Bishops	0	1	1	24
Other	5	6	11	40
Total	149	158	308	469

Conservative Votes with the Government

Baroness Sanderson of Welton

Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Balfe Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Baroness Berridge Lord Blencathra Lord Borwick Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Viscount Bridgeman Lord Caine Lord Choudrey Lord Colgrain Lord Crathorne Lord Cruddas Lord De Mauley Lord Dobbs Lord Dunlop Baroness Eaton Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Fink Lord Flight Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Gascoigne Lord Glendonbrook Lord Gold Baroness Goldie Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Hill of Oareford Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Howard of Rising Lord Howard of Lympne Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Lamont of Lerwick Baroness Lea of Lymm Baroness Lawlor Lord Lilley Earl Lindsay Lord Lucas Earl Liverpool Baroness Manzoor Lord Markham Baroness Meyer Earl Minto Baroness Morgan of Cotes Duke of Montrose Lord Mott Lord Moylan Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Naseby Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Northbrook Lord Norton of Louth Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge **Baroness Pidding** Lord Polak Lord Ranger of Northwood Lord Randall of Uxbridge Baroness Redfern Lord Remnant Lord Robathan Lord Roborough

Lord Sandhurst

Baroness Seccombe

Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Baroness Brady Viscount Camrose Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Effingham Lord Fairfax of Cameron **Baroness Fookes** Lord Frost Lord Godson Viscount Hailsham Lord Harlech Lord Henley Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Horam Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Jopling Lord Lansley Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lingfield Lord Mancroft Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Baroness Mobarik Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Moynihan Baroness Neville-Jones

Baroness Barran

Lord Benyon

Baroness Penn Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Reay Lord Risby Lord Rose of Monewden **Baroness Sater**

Baroness Noakes

Lord Offord of Garvel

Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia

Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Sterling of Plaistow Baroness Stroud Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Udny-Lister Baroness Warsi

Baroness Shields Lord Soames of Fletching Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Sugg Lord True

Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wei

Baroness Williams of Trafford

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord Willetts

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Young of Cookham

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bach

Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley

Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Davies of Brixton

Baroness Drake

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Grantchester

Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Khan of Burnley

Lord Lennie Lord Maxton

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardlev

Baroness Osamor Baroness Rebuck Lord Sahota Viscount Stansgate

Baroness Thornton

Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Whitaker

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Blunkett Lord Browne of Ladyton

Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Baroness Donaghy Lord Eatwell Baroness Gale

Lord Grocott Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Leong Lord McAvoy Lord Mendelsohn Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley

Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Sherlock

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Tomlinson Baroness Twycross

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Lord Whitty

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Blackstone Lord Boateng

Lord Shinkwin

Lord Strathcarron

Lord Tugendhat

Baroness Verma

Baroness Swinburne

Lord Wharton of Yarm

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

Baroness Stedman-Scott

Baroness Bryan of Partick Viscount Chandos

Baroness Cohen of Pimlico

Lord Donoughue

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Baroness Golding

Lord Hain

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Lord Howarth of Newport

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Mandelson

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Baroness Merron

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale

Lord Rooker Lord Sikka

Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Baroness Wheeler Lord Winston

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Benjamin Baroness Brinton

Baroness Featherstone Lord German

Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer

Lord Newby Baroness Parminter Baroness Randerson Lord Roberts of Llandudno Lord Sharkey

Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso

Baroness Walmsley

Baroness Barker

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Fox

Earl Glasgow Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Ludford **Baroness Northover**

Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan

Lord Strasburger Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope

Lord Beith

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal

Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Jolly

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Lord Scriven

Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Stunell Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Patel Lord Bew

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Berkeley of Knighton Lord Best Lord Crisp Lord Cromwell Earl Erroll Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Baroness Grey-Thompson Lord Hampton Baroness Hollins Lord Kerr of Kinlochard

Baroness Bull Baroness D'Souza Baroness Gohir Baroness Hayman Earl Lytton

Lord Ravensdale Lord Thurlow Lord Vaux of Harrowden Baroness Watkins of Tavistock Viscount Waverley Baroness Wheatcroft

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government Bishop of Southwark

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Gadhia Baroness Hoey Lord Weir of Ballyholme Lord Morrow

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Mann Baroness Uddin

> Ref: 2775