Government Defeat in Lords on Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill

Tuesday 11/07/2023

On 11/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Levelling-up and Regeneration Bill: To add a new clause requiring the government to publish a rural proofing report alongside the levelling-up missions, detailing the ways in which levelling-up impacts on rural areas.

This was defeat number 87 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	160	0	160	107
Labour	0	95	95	78
Liberal Democrat	0	57	57	27
Crossbench	4	9	13	162
Bishops	0	1	1	25
Other	3	7	10	41
Total	167	169	336	440

Conservative Votes with the Government

Baroness Pidding

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Altmann Lord Altrincham Lord Ashcombe Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Balfe Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Lord Bethell Lord Blackwell Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Blencathra Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Viscount Bridgeman Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine **Baroness Browning** Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Cathcart Lord Choudrey Lord Colgrain Lord Cormack Lord Davies of Gower Lord Duncan of Springbank Lord Deben Lord Dunlop Viscount Eccles Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Farmer Baroness Finn Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie Lord Frost Lord Garnier Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Lord Goodlad Viscount Hailsham Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Lord Hill of Oareford Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Rising Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Lord Hunt of Wirral Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Jopling Lord Kamall Lord Keen of Elie Lord Kirkham Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Lansley Baroness Lawlor Baroness Lea of Lymm Earl Leicester Lord Lexden Lord Lilley Earl Lindsay Lord Lingfield Earl Liverpool Lord Lucas Lord Mancroft Baroness Manzoor Lord Markham Lord Marlesford Baroness McGregor-Smith Lord Marland Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord McLoughlin Earl Minto Baroness Morgan of Cotes Baroness Mobarik Duke of Montrose Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Mott Lord Moynihan Baroness Moyo Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Naseby Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Nash Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Norton of Louth Lord Offord of Garvel Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Patten Lord Patten of Barnes Baroness Penn Lord Pickles

Lord Popat

Lord Porter of Spalding

Lord Randall of Uxbridge

Lord Remnant

Lord Roberts of Belgravia

Lord Sarfraz

Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Shinkwin Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Strathcarron Baroness Sugg

Viscount Trenchard

Baroness Verma

Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrottesley

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Baroness Rawlings

Lord Risby Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Strathclyde Baroness Swinburne

Lord True

Lord Waldegrave of North Hill

Lord Willetts Baroness Wyld Lord Reav Lord Robathan Lord Sandhurst Baroness Seccombe Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Soames of Fletching Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Baroness Stroud Lord Swire

Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Wei

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Blake of Leeds

Lord Bradley

Lord Campbell-Savours Viscount Chandos Lord Coaker Lord Davies of Brixton

Lord Falconer of Thoroton

Lord Giddens

Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Khan of Burnley

Lord Lennie Lord Lipsey Lord Maxton Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen

Baroness Osamor Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Rebuck

Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Sahota

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean

Baroness Thornton Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Lord Whitty

Lord Young of Norwood Green

Lord Anderson of Swansea

Lord Bach Baroness Blower Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles

Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy

Lord Faulkner of Worcester Baroness Golding

Lord Hacking Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy

Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Leong

Baroness Lister of Burtersett Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks

Baroness Nye Baroness Pitkeathley

Baroness Primarolo Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker

Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Touhig Baroness Twycross Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Lord Berkelev Lord Blunkett

Baroness Bryan of Partick Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davidson of Glen Clova

Lord Dubs Baroness Gale Lord Grantchester Viscount Hanworth

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Lord Howarth of Newport

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Liddle Lord Livermore

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Morgan

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Baroness Quin

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Rowlands

Lord Sikka Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Whitaker Lord Wood of Anfield

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Allan of Hallam Lord Addington

Baroness Barker **Baroness Brinton** Lord Dholakia Lord Fox Baroness Grender Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord McNallv

Baroness Northover Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Purvis of Tweed Earl Russell

Baroness Sheehan Lord Stephen

Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson

Lord Beith Lord Bruce of Bennachie **Baroness Doocey** Lord German Baroness Hamwee Baroness Hussein-Ece Lord Lee of Trafford

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Oates Baroness Parminter Baroness Randerson Lord Scriven Lord Shipley

Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Stunell

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Benjamin

Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Foster of Bath Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Janke Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Lord Sharkey

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Storey Baroness Suttie

Lord Thomas of Gresford

Baroness Thornhill Viscount Thurso Lord Tope

Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley Lord Wrigglesworth

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Hope of Craighead Lord Pannick Lord Patel

Lord Skidelsky

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Aberdare Lord Cameron of Dillington Baroness Casey of Blackstock
Lord Cromwell Baroness D'Souza Baroness Finlay of Llandaff
Duke of Somerset Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Manchester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Lord Grade of Yarmouth Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Elis-Thomas Lord Inglewood Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Stone of Blackheath Lord Truscott

Lord Wigley Ref: 2748