Government Defeat in Lords on Justification Decision (Scientific Age Imaging) Regulations 2023

Monday 27/11/2023

On 27/11/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Justification Decision (Scientific Age Imaging) Regulations 2023: To regret that the government has brought forward regulations for x-ray age verification tests that are premature as the policy is still under development and insufficient information about free consent and impact have been provided (non-fatal motion).

This was defeat number 1 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	73	0	73	196
Labour	0	95	96	79
Liberal Democrat	0	55	55	28
Crossbench	9	10	19	161
Bishops	0	1	1	25
Other	4	4	8	45
Total	86	165	252	534

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton Earl Attlee Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Bellamy Lord Benyon Lord Bethell Lord Black of Brentwood Lord Borwick Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone **Baroness Browning** Earl Caithness Lord Callanan Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Baroness Finn Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Gascoigne Baroness Goldie Lord Garnier Lord Greenhalgh Lord Harlech Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Houchen of High Leven Lord Howard of Rising Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Marylebone Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jopling Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Lord Lilley Lord Mancroft Lord Lingfield Lord Lucas Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord McLoughlin Earl Minto Lord Mott Lord Movlan Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Norton of Louth Lord Offord of Garvel Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Reay Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Sandhurst Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Soames of Fletching Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Strathcarron Baroness Sugg Lord Taylor of Holbeach Viscount Trenchard Lord True Lord Wharton of Yarm Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Wrottesley Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Baroness Andrews

Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Lord Bassam of Brighton

Baroness Blower

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Baroness Andrews

Lord Bach

Baroness Blackstone

Lord Browne of Ladyton

Baroness Andrews

Lord Bach

Baroness Blackstone

Lord Bradley

Lord Campbell-Savours

Lord Carter of Coles Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Glasman Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Leong

Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Quin

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape

Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Touhig

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Whitaker Lord Winston

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Baroness Chakrabarti Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury

Baroness Crawley Lord Drayson Baroness Gale **Baroness Goudie** Viscount Hanworth

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Baroness Kingsmill Lord Lennie Lord Liddle Baroness Mallalieu

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardlev

Baroness Osamor Lord Prentis of Leeds Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Sawyer

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Tomlinson Baroness Twycross Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Lord Woodlev

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addinaton Lord Alderdice Lord Beith Baroness Benjamin Baroness Brinton

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull Baroness Featherstone

Lord German Baroness Hamwee Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Kramer Lord Newby

Lord Palmer of Childs Hill

Lord Razzall

Lord Storey Baroness Suttie

Baroness Thornhill Baroness Tyler of Enfield

Baroness Scott of Needham Market

Baroness Smith of Newnham Baroness Sheehan Lord Strasburger

Lord Teverson

Baroness Donaghy

Baroness Golding

Lord Hacking

Lord Jones

Lord Layard

Lord Livermore

Lord McAvoy

Lord Monks

Lord Sahota

Viscount Stansgate

Baroness Thornton

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Tunnicliffe

Lord Sikka

Lord Watts

Lord Whitty

Lord Dholakia

Baroness Janke

Lord Redesdale

Lord Scriven

Baroness Ludford

Baroness Northover

Baroness Parminter

Lord Foster of Bath

Lord Goddard of Stockport

Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Henig

Lord Khan of Burnley

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale

Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Viscount Thurso

Lord Wallace of Tankerness Lord Wrigglesworth

Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Baroness Doocey

Baroness Garden of Frognal

Baroness Grender Lord Hussain Baroness Jolly Lord McNally **Lord Oates**

Baroness Randerson Earl Russell Lord Sharkey

Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Stunell

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tope

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Cromwell **Baroness Deech** Viscount Craigavon Baroness Falkner of Margravine Lord Hogan-Howe Lord Kakkar Baroness Stuart of Edgbaston Lord Thurlow Lord Walney

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Birt Lord Cameron of Dillington Earl Erroll

Baroness Ford Lord Hope of Craighead Lord Hampton Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Baroness Neuberger Baroness O'Loan

Baroness Young of Hornsey

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of London

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Austin of Dudley Lord Empey Lord Gadhia

Lord Rogan

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Mann

Baroness Uddin Ref: 2813