Government Defeat in Lords on Immigration (Age Assessments) Regulations 2023

Monday 27/11/2023

On 27/11/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Immigration (Age Assessments) Regulations 2023: To regret that the government has brought forward regulations for x-ray age verification tests that are premature as the policy is still under development and insufficient information about free consent and impact have been provided (non-fatal motion).

This was defeat number 2 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	66	0	66	203
Labour	0	95	96	79
Liberal Democrat	0	54	54	29
Crossbench	6	10	16	164
Bishops	0	1	1	25
Other	3	4	7	46
Total	75	164	240	546

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton Earl Attlee Lord Bailey of Paddington Lord Bellamy Lord Benyon Lord Bethell Lord Borwick **Baroness Browning** Earl Caithness Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Courtown Lord Callanan Lord Davies of Gower Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Effingham Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Finn Lord Garnier Lord Gascoigne Baroness Goldie Lord Greenhalgh Lord Harlech Lord Haselhurst Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Hayward Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Houchen of High Leven Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Jopling Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Lord Lingfield Lord Lillev Lord Lucas Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord McLoughlin Earl Minto Lord Mott Lord Moylan Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Norton of Louth Lord Offord of Garvel Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Reay Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Sandhurst Baroness Seccombe Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Strathcarron Baroness Sugg Lord Taylor of Holbeach Viscount Trenchard Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord True Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Wrottesley Lord Young of Cookham

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Andrews Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Ashton of Upholland Lord Bach Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Berkeley Baroness Blackstone **Baroness Blower** Lord Blunkett Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Carter of Coles Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Collins of Highbury **Baroness Crawley**

Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Glasman

Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Leong

Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton **Baroness Merron** Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathlev Baroness Quin

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Touhig

Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Whitaker

Lord Winston

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Baroness Donaghy Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Lord Hacking Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Henig Lord Jones Lord Khan of Burnley

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Lord Livermore Lord McAvoy

Lord Layard

Lord Monks Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale

Lord Sahota Lord Sikka Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watts Lord Whitty

Baroness Grender

Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Lord Hussain

Baroness Jolly

Lord McNally

Lord Stunell

Lord Tope

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Young of Norwood Green

Lord Dravson Baroness Gale **Baroness Goudie** Viscount Hanworth

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Baroness Kingsmill Lord Lennie Lord Liddle Baroness Mallalieu Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Morris of Yardley **Baroness Osamor** Lord Prentis of Leeds

Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Sawyer

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Tomlinson Baroness Twycross

Baroness Wheeler Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Lord Woodley

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Alderdice Lord Addington Lord Beith Baroness Benjamin Baroness Brinton Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Dholakia Lord Foster of Bath

Baroness Featherstone Lord German

Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Janke Baroness Ludford **Baroness Northover**

Baroness Parminter

Lord Redesdale Lord Scriven

Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger

Lord Teverson Viscount Thurso

Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Lord Bruce of Bennachie **Baroness Doocey**

Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Hamwee Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Kramer

Lord Newby

Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Oates Baroness Randerson

Lord Razzall

Earl Russell Baroness Scott of Needham Market Lord Sharkey

Baroness Sheehan Lord Storev Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester Baroness Thornhill Baroness Tyler of Enfield

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Cameron of Dillington **Baroness Deech**

Lord Hogan-Howe Lord Patel

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Best Lord Birt Baroness Ford Lord Hampton Baroness Neuberger

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Baroness Young of Hornsey Baroness Falkner of Margravine Lord Thurlow

Baroness O'Loan

Lord Hope of Craighead

Earl Erroll

Lord Wrigglesworth

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of London

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Empey Lord Gadhia Lord Tyrie

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Mann

Baroness Uddin

2814 Ref: