Government Defeat in Lords on Illegal Migration Bill Monday 03/07/2023

On 03/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Illegal Migration Bill: To retain the existing limit of 24 hours for the detention of unaccompanied children.

This was defeat number 67 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	145	3	148	119
Labour	0	108	108	64
Liberal Democrat	0	55	55	30
Crossbench	3	51	54	125
Bishops	0	3	3	23
Other	4	10	14	37
Total	152	230	382	398

Conservative Votes with the Government al Alama al af Minalala da

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Ashton of Hyde	Lord Arbuthnot of Ec
Lord Bellamy	Lord Bellingham
Lord Bethell	Lord Blencathra
Baroness Bray of Coln	Baroness Buscombe
Earl Caithness	Lord Callanan
Lord Carrington of Fulham	Lord Colgrain
Lord Cruddas	Baroness Cumberle
Lord De Mauley	Lord Dunlop
Viscount Eccles	Earl Effingham
Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	Lord Fairfax of Cam
Baroness Fleet	Baroness Fookes
Lord Frost	Lord Garnier
Lord Glenarthur	Lord Godson
Baroness Goldie	Lord Goodlad
Viscount Hailsham	Lord Hamilton of Eps
Lord Haselhurst	Lord Hayward
Lord Herbert of South Downs	Lord Hill of Oareford
Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Holmes of Rich
Earl Howe	Lord Howell of Guild
Lord Jackson of Peterborough	Baroness Jenkin of I
Lord Kirkham	Lord Kirkhope of Ha
Baroness Lampard	Lord Lansley
Baroness Lea of Lymm	Earl Leicester
Lord Lexden	Lord Lilley
Lord Lingfield	Earl Liverpool
Lord Markham	Lord Marland
Lord McInnes of Kilwinning	Lord McLoughlin
Earl Minto	Duke of Montrose
Lord Mott	Lord Moylan
Lord Murray of Blidworth	Baroness Neville-Jo
Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne	Lord Norton of Louth
Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	Lord Patten
Lord Pickles	Baroness Pidding
Lord Popat	Baroness Rawlings
Baroness Redfern	Lord Remnant
Lord Robathan	Lord Roberts of Belg
Baroness Sanderson of Welton	Lord Sandhurst
Lord Sassoon	Baroness Scott of B
Lord Sewell of Sanderstead	Lord Sharpe of Epso
Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury	Lord Shinkwin
Baroness Stedman-Scott	Lord Sterling of Plais
Baroness Stowell of Beeston	Lord Strathcarron

rd Arbuthnot of Edrom Lord Ashcombe **Baroness Barran** e ege neron osom d hmond dford Kennington arrogate ones th gravia Bybrook som istow

Lord Benyon Lord Borwick Lord Caine Viscount Camrose Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Baroness Eccles of Moulton Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Farmer Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Geddes Lord Gold Lord Grimstone of Boscobel Lord Harlech Lord Henley Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Horam Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Lamont of Lerwick **Baroness Lawlor** Lord Leigh of Hurley Earl Lindsay Lord Lucas Lord Maude of Horsham **Baroness Meyer Baroness Morrissey** Lord Moynihan Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Offord of Garvel **Baroness Penn** Lord Polak Lord Reay Lord Risby Lord Roborough Lord Sarfraz Baroness Seccombe Baroness Shephard of Northwold Lord Soames of Fletching Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Strathclyde

Lord Suri Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Baroness Williams of Trafford Viscount Younger of Leckie

Baroness Swinburne Viscount Trenchard Lord Udny-Lister Lord Wei Lord Wrottesley

Conservative Votes against the Government Baroness Helic Baroness Mobarik

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea **Baroness Andrews** Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Cashman Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Eatwell **Baroness Gale Baroness Golding** Lord Hain Lord Haskel Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hutton of Furness Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Leong Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Baroness Merron Lord Morgan Baroness Nye Baroness Pitkeathley **Baroness Primarolo** Lord Rooker Lord Sahota Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Thornton Lord Triesman Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Lord West of Spithead I ord Whitty Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Baroness Blackstone Lord Boateng Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Clark of Windermere Baroness Crawley Baroness Donaghy Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Grocott Viscount Hanworth Lord Haworth Lord Hendy Baroness Jay of Paddington I ord Jordan Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Lord Livermore Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede **Baroness Rebuck** Lord Rowlands Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Tomlinson Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Wheeler Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Woodlev

Lord Swire Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Young of Cookham

Baroness Sugg

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Bach Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Viscount Chandos Lord Coaker Lord Cunningham of Felling Lord Dubs Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Glasman Lord Hacking Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Jones Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Layard Lord Lipsey Lord Maxton Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morgan of Huyton Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor Lord Prentis of Leeds Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Lord Sikka Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watts Baroness Whitaker Lord Winston Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government Lord Addington

Baroness Barker Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord German Baroness Harris of Richmond **Baroness Hussein-Ece** Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard Lord Scriven Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope Baroness Walmsley

Lord Allan of Hallam

Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull I ord Dholakia Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer **Baroness Northover Baroness Parminter** Lord Razzall Lord Roberts of Llandudno Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville **Baroness Benjamin** Baroness Brinton Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal **Baroness Hamwee** Lord Hussain Lord McNally Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Earl Russell Lord Shipley Lord Storey Baroness Suttie **Baroness Thornhill** Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Crossbench Votes with the Government Lord Bew Lord Fowler

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Aberdare Lord Berkeley of Knighton Baroness Boycott Lord Carlile of Berriew Viscount Colville of Culross Lord Cromwell Lord Etherton Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Hogan-Howe Lord Hylton Lord Hylton Lord Loomba Lord Mawson Baroness O'Loan Baroness Prashar Earl Sandwich Lord Walney Duke of Wellington nment Lord Adebowale Lord Best Baroness Brown of Cambridge Lord Chartres Baroness Coussins Lord Desai Baroness Falkner of Margravine Lord Harries of Pentregarth Baroness Hollins Baroness Kidron Earl Lytton Baroness Kidron Earl Lytton Baroness Meacher Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve Lord Ravensdale Lord Thurlow Lord Warner Baroness Wheatcroft Lord Green of Deddington

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Bowness

Baroness Butler-Sloss

Earl Clancarty Lord Crisp Baroness D'Souza

Baroness Gohir

Lord Laming

Baroness Hayman Lord Hope of Craighead

Baroness Neuberger Lord Peach

Lord Russell of Liverpool

Lord Vaux of Harrowden

Lord Macdonald of River Glaven

Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Baroness Young of Hornsey

Bishop Votes with the Government

2727