# Government Defeat in Lords on Illegal Migration Bill

# Wednesday 05/07/2023

On 05/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Illegal Migration Bill: To add a new clause to give the National Crime Agency a legal responsibility for tackling organised crime across the Channel and to maintain a specific unit for this purpose.

This was defeat number 80 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	<b>Against Govt</b>	Total	No vote
Conservative	148	0	148	119
Labour	0	97	97	76
Liberal Democrat	0	58	58	27
Crossbench	3	21	24	153
Bishops	0	4	4	22
Other	7	8	15	36
Total	158	188	346	433

#### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Sarfraz

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Altrincham Baroness Anelay of St Johns Earl Arran Lord Ashton of Hyde Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Lord Bethell Lord Blencathra Lord Borwick Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Bridges of Headley Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Earl Caithness Lord Caine Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Colgrain Lord Cruddas Lord Davies of Gower Earl Courtown Lord De Mauley Lord Dunlop Viscount Eccles Lord Evans of Rainow Earl Effingham Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Fairfax of Cameron Baroness Fookes Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Framlingham Lord Frost Lord Glenarthur Lord Godson Lord Garnier Baroness Goldie Lord Goodlad Viscount Goschen Lord Greenhalgh Viscount Hailsham Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Harlech Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Henley Lord Hill of Oareford Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Hintze Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Lord Howard of Rising Earl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord James of Blackheath Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord King of Bridgwater Lord Kirkham Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Baroness Lampard Baroness Lawlor Baroness Lea of Lymm Earl Leicester Lord Lexden Lord Lingfield Lord Lilley Earl Lindsay Earl Liverpool Lord Lucas Lord Mancroft Lord Markham Lord Marland Lord Marlesford Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord McLoughlin Baroness Meyer Earl Minto Duke of Montrose Baroness Morgan of Cotes Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Mott Baroness Moyo Lord Moylan Lord Movnihan Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Naseby **Baroness Newlove** Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Norton of Louth Baroness O'Neill of Bexley Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Lord Pickles Baroness Pidding Lord Polak Baroness Redfern Lord Popat Lord Reay Lord Remnant Lord Robathan Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Roborough Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst

Lord Sassoon

Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Baroness Seccombe Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Swinburne

Viscount Trenchard Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Baroness Williams of Trafford

Lord Wrottesley

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Shinkwin

Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Lord Swire Lord True

Baroness Vere of Norbiton

Lord Wei Lord Wolfson of Aspley Guise

Baroness Wyld

Viscount Chandos

Lord Davies of Brixton

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Lord Howarth of Newport

Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Baroness Morris of Yardley

Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

Baroness Smith of Basildon

Lord Stevenson of Balmacara

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Coaker

Lord Glasman

Lord Leong

Lord Livermore

Baroness Merron

**Baroness Osamor** 

Lord Prentis of Leeds

Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord McAvoy

Lord Touhig

Lord Watts

Lord Whitty

Lord Woodley

Baroness Twycross

Lord Grantchester Lord Haworth

Lord Dubs

Lord Sharpe of Epsom Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Strathcarron Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Udny-Lister Baroness Verma Lord Willetts

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

# Conservative Votes against the Government

# **Labour Votes with the Government**

### Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Alli Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bach Lord Bradley Lord Boateng Lord Carter of Coles Lord Campbell-Savours

Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davidson of Glen Clova

Lord Donoughue

Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Goldsmith Lord Harris of Haringey

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Baroness Henig Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Lennie

**Baroness Lister of Burtersett** Lord Maxton

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Morgan

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede

Baroness Quin Lord Rooker Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Whitaker

Lord Wood of Anfield

Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Lord Berkeley

Lord Browne of Ladyton

Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Lord Falconer of Thoroton

Baroness Gale Baroness Golding

Lord Hain

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Lord Layard Lord Liddle Lord Mandelson

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Monks

Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Primarolo

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Sahota Lord Snape

Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Tunnicliffe

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Wheeler

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

# **Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government**

# Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Lord Bruce of Bennachie **Baroness Doocey** Baroness Garden of Frognal

Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Humphreys Baroness Janke Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall Earl Russell

Lord Sharkey Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Lord Stunell

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Lord Tope

Lord Alderdice Baroness Barker

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Foster of Bath Lord German Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard

Baroness Scott of Needham Market Baroness Sheehan

Lord Storey Baroness Suttie

Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Lord Allan of Hallam

Lord Beith

Baroness Brinton Lord Dholakia Lord Fox Earl Glasgow

Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Hussein-Ece Lord McNally Baroness Northover Baroness Parminter

Lord Roberts of Llandudno Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill

Baroness Randerson

**Baroness Walmsley** 

# Lord Willis of Knaresborough

**Crossbench Votes with the Government** 

Viscount Craigavon Lord Green of Deddington Lord Hogan-Howe

**Crossbench Votes against the Government** 

Lord AberdareLord Alton of LiverpoolLord BestLord BirtBaroness Butler-SlossLord DesaiBaroness D'SouzaEarl ErrollLord HamptonLord Hannay of ChiswickLord Hope of CraigheadLord Hylton

Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Londesborough Lord Macpherson of Earl's Court

Baroness Meacher Baroness O'Loan Baroness Prashar
Lord Russell of Liverpool Baroness Watkins of Tavistock Baroness Wheatcroft

**Bishop Votes with the Government** 

**Bishop Votes against the Government** 

Archbishop of Canterbury Bishop of Durham Bishop of Ely

Bishop of Sheffield

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Browne of Belmont Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee Lord Grade of Yarmouth Baroness Hoey Lord McCrea Magherafelt and

Cookstown

Lord Taylor of Warwick

Other Votes against the Government

Lord Austin of Dudley Lord Dodds of Duncairn Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Mann Lord Smith of Finsbury Baroness Uddin

Lord Verdirame Lord Wigley Ref: 2741