Government Defeat in Lords on Illegal Migration Bill Monday 03/07/2023

On 03/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Illegal Migration Bill: To remove a clause that would have prohibited courts or tribunals from granting interim remedies that prevent or delay the removal of persons from the United Kingdom.

This was defeat number 22 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	122	0	122	145
Labour	0	83	83	89
Liberal Democrat	0	53	53	32
Crossbench	2	12	14	165
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	4	5	9	42
Total	128	153	281	499

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Bellamy Lord Blackwell **Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone** Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Earl Caithness Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Davies of Gower Baroness Evans of Bowes Park **Baroness Fleet** Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Godson Viscount Hailsham Lord Harlech Lord Henley Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Baroness Hooper Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Kirkham Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Lilley Lord Mancroft Lord McLoughlin Duke of Montrose Lord Moylan Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Pickles Lord Reay Lord Robathan Baroness Sanderson of Welton **Baroness Seccombe** Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Swire Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm

Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Balfe Lord Bellingham I ord Blencathra Baroness Bray of Coln Baroness Buscombe Lord Callanan Lord Colgrain Lord De Mauley Lord Evans of Rainow I ord Flight Lord Frost Baroness Goldie Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Harris of Peckham Lord Herbert of South Downs Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Horam Lord Howell of Guildford Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Baroness Lampard Earl Leicester Earl Lindsay Lord Markham Baroness Meyer Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Moynihan **Baroness Newlove** Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Pidding Baroness Redfern Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Sandhurst Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Shinkwin Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Udny-Lister Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Baroness Williams of Trafford

Lord Ashcombe **Baroness Barran** Lord Benyon I ord Borwick Viscount Bridgeman Lord Caine Viscount Camrose Earl Courtown Earl Effingham Lord Fairfax of Cameron Baroness Fookes Lord Glenarthur Viscount Goschen Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Hayward Lord Hill of Oareford Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Keen of Elie **Baroness Lawlor** Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lingfield Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Earl Minto Lord Mott Lord Murray of Blidworth Lord Norton of Louth **Baroness Penn** Lord Popat Lord Remnant Lord Roborough Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sharpe of Epsom **Baroness Stedman-Scott** Baroness Swinburne Viscount Trenchard Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Wei Baroness Wyld

Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Boateng Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Dubs Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Hacking Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Leong Lord Livermore Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Monks Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Sahota Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Whitaker** Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness Amos Lord Bach Lord Bradley Lord Carter of Coles Viscount Chandos Lord Coaker Baroness Donaghy Lord Eatwell Baroness Gale Lord Hain Lord Haworth Lord Hendy Lord Jones Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Lord Maxton Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardley **Baroness Osamor** Lord Prentis of Leeds Lord Rooker Baroness Sherlock Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton Baroness Twycross Lord Watts Lord Whitty Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Beith **Baroness Brinton** Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord German Baroness Harris of Richmond **Baroness Hussein-Ece** Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Earl Russell Lord Shipley Lord Storey Baroness Suttie Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Benjamin Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Dholakia Lord Fox Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys **Baroness Kramer** Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard Baroness Scott of Needham Market Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso **Baroness Walmsley**

Crossbench Votes with the Government

orossbenen votes with the oovernin	ont
Lord Green of Deddington	Lord Thurlow
Crossbench Votes against the Gover	nment

Lord Aberdare
Lord Carlile of Berriew
Lord Hylton
Baroness O'Loan

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Etherton Baroness Meacher Lord Russell of Liverpool

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Dodds of Duncairn

Lord Empey

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Cashman Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Donoughue Lord Falconer of Thoroton **Baroness Golding** Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Layard Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord McAvoy Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Primarolo Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Lord Touhig Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Wheeler Lord Woodley

Baroness Barker Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Lord McNally Baroness Northover **Baroness Parminter** Baroness Randerson Lord Roberts of Llandudno Lord Scriven Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope

Baroness Butler-Sloss Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Neuberger Baroness Wheatcroft

Lord Faulks

Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Mann

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Uddin

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Ref: 2735