Government Defeat in Lords on Illegal Migration Bill

Wednesday 28/06/2023

On 28/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Illegal Migration Bill: To make asylum and human rights claims admissible from unaccompanied children, who are exempted from the duty to remove.

This was defeat number 64 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	127	0	127	140
Labour	0	90	90	82
Liberal Democrat	0	61	61	24
Crossbench	3	26	29	150
Bishops	0	3	3	23
Other	3	5	8	43
Total	133	185	318	462

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Bellingham Lord Caine Viscount Camrose Lord Crathorne Lord Davies of Gower Lord Dunlop Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Farmer Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Frost Viscount Goschen Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Henley Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Howard of Rising Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Johnson of Lainston Baroness Lawlor Lord Lexden Earl Liverpool Lord Maude of Horsham **Baroness Meyer** Lord Moylan Lord Naseby Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness O'Neill of Bexley **Baroness Pidding** Baroness Rawlings Lord Risby Lord Roborough Lord Sarfraz Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stowell of Beeston **Baroness Swinburne** Viscount Trenchard Lord Vaizey of Didcot Lord Whitby Lord Wolfson of Tredegar

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Earl Arran Baroness Barran Lord Benyon Earl Caithness Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Cruddas Lord De Mauley Viscount Eccles Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Fink Baroness Foster of Oxton Baroness Goldie Lord Grimstone of Boscobel Lord Haselhurst Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Holmes of Richmond Earl Howe Lord James of Blackheath Lord King of Bridgwater Earl Leicester Lord Lilley Lord Mancroft Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Duke of Montrose Lord Moynihan Baroness Neville-Jones Lord Norton of Louth Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Lord Popat Lord Reay Lord Robathan Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Sterling of Plaistow Lord Strathcarron Lord Swire I ord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Willetts Lord Wrottesley

Lord Altrincham Lord Ashcombe I ord Bellamy Lord Borwick Lord Callanan Earl Courtown **Baroness Cumberlege** Earl Dundee Earl Effingham Lord Fairfax of Cameron **Baroness Fleet** Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Hayward Baroness Hodgson of Abinger I ord Horam Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Kirkham Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lingfield Lord Markham Lord McLoughlin Lord Mott Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Rolfe I ord Offord of Garvel **Baroness Penn** Lord Porter of Spalding Baroness Redfern Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Sandhurst **Baroness Seccombe** Lord Shinkwin Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Strathclyde Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Udny-Lister Lord Wharton of Yarm Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Young of Cookham

Viscount Younger of Leckie **Conservative Votes against the Government**

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Eatwell **Baroness Gale** Lord Goldsmith Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Henig Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Layard Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Maxton Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor Baroness Primarolo Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe **Baroness Wheeler** Lord Winston

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Lord Bradlev Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington Baroness Donaghy Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Glasman Lord Grantchester Lord Hacking Lord Haworth Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leong Lord Livermore Lord McAvoy Baroness Merron Lord Morgan Baroness Nye Baroness Pitkeathlev Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker Lord Sikka Viscount Stansgate Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Whitaker Baroness Young of Old Scone

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Barker Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Baroness Burt of Solihull Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal **Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Jolly** Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames **Baroness Northover** Lord Palmer of Childs Hill **Baroness Randerson** Earl Russell Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Storey Baroness Suttie Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Tope Lord Wrigglesworth

Lord Beith **Baroness Brinton** Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Foster of Bath Lord German Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord McNally Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall Baroness Scott of Needham Market Baroness Sheehan Lord Stephen Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Tankerness

Crossbench Votes with the Government Lord Green of Deddington

Viscount Craigavon

Crossbench Votes against the Government Lord Adebowale Baroness Brown of Cambridge Earl Clancarty Baroness D'Souza Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Hylton

Lord Alton of Liverpool Baroness Butler-Sloss **Baroness Coussins** Lord Etherton Baroness Hayman Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Bach **Baroness Blackstone** Lord Blunkett Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Cashman Lord Coaker Lord Dubs Lord Foulkes of Cumnock **Baroness Golding** Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Liddle Baroness Mallalieu Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Mitchell Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Thornton **Baroness Twycross** Lord Watts Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Young of Norwood Green

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Baroness Benjamin Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Dholakia Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond **Baroness Janke** Lord Lee of Trafford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Rennard Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell Baroness Thomas of Winchester Viscount Thurso Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Earl Peel

Lord Anderson of Ipswich Lord Carlile of Berriew Lord Desai Lord Hampton Baroness Hollins Baroness Kidron

Baroness Meacher Lord Patel Baroness Wheatcroft	Baroness Morgan of Drefelin Lord Ravensdale Baroness Young of Hornsey	Baroness Neuberger Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd				
Bishop Votes with the Government						
Bishop Votes against the Governme Bishop of Chelmsford	nt Bishop of Manchester	Bishop of Southwark				
Other Votes with the Government Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen	Lord Rogan	Lord Taylor of Warwick				
Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Mann	: Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Wigley	Baroness Kennedy of Cradley				
		Ref: 2724				