Government Defeat in Lords on Illegal Migration Bill

Monday 03/07/2023

On 03/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Illegal Migration Bill: To replace a clause in order to remove the time limit for serious harm suspensive claims and to remove examples of harms specified as not serious harms for the purposes of serious harm suspensive claims.

This was defeat number 74 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	131	0	131	136
Labour	0	92	92	80
Liberal Democrat	0	57	57	28
Crossbench	2	29	31	148
Bishops	0	2	2	24
Other	6	7	13	38
Total	139	187	326	454

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Balfe Lord Bellamy Lord Bellingham Lord Blencathra Lord Borwick Baroness Bray of Coln Viscount Bridgeman Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Baroness Browning Lord Caine Earl Caithness Lord Carrington of Fulham Viscount Camrose Earl Courtown Lord Cruddas Lord De Mauley Lord Dunlop Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Fookes Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Glenarthur Lord Frost Baroness Goldie Viscount Goschen Lord Hamilton of Epsom Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harris of Peckham Lord Haselhurst Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Henley Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Earl Howe Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Kirkham Baroness Lawlor Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lilley Lord Lingfield Earl Liverpool Lord Markham Lord Mancroft Lord McLoughlin Baroness Meyer Baroness Morgan of Cotes Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Moylan Lord Moynihan Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Norton of Louth Lord Offord of Garvel

Baroness Penn Lord Pickles Lord Popat Lord Price Lord Reay Baroness Redfern Lord Robathan Lord Roberts of Belgravia Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst Lord Selkirk of Douglas Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Swinburne Lord Swire

Lord Ashcombe Baroness Barran Lord Blackwell

Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone

Lord Bridges of Headley Baroness Buscombe Lord Callanan Lord Colgrain Lord Davies of Gower Earl Effingham

Lord Fairfax of Cameron Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Godson

Viscount Hailsham Lord Harlech Lord Hayward Lord Hill of Oareford Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Keen of Elie Baroness Lampard Earl Leicester Earl Lindsay Lord Lucas

Lord McInnes of Kilwinning

Earl Minto Lord Mott

Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Newlove Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay

Baroness Pidding Baroness Rawlings Lord Remnant Lord Roborough

Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sewell of Sanderstead

Lord Shinkwin

Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Taylor of Holbeach

Viscount Trenchard Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Young of Cookham

Lord True Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Baroness Williams of Trafford Viscount Younger of Leckie

Lord Udny-Lister Lord Wei Baroness Wyld

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government Baroness Adams of Craigielea Baroness Amos

Baroness Andrews Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Berkeley Baroness Blackstone Lord Boateng Lord Bradley Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles Baroness Chakrabarti Viscount Chandos Lord Clark of Windermere Lord Coaker Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Donaghy

Lord Dubs Lord Eatwell Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Glasman Baroness Golding Lord Hain Viscount Hanworth Lord Haworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy Baroness Henia Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Jones

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Kennedy of Southwark

Lord Layard Lord Leong Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Livermore

Lord McAvov Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Merron Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Nye Baroness Osamor Baroness Pitkeathley

Baroness Primarolo Lord Prentis of Leeds Lord Rooker Baroness Royall of Blaisdon

Baroness Sherlock Lord Sikka Lord Snape Viscount Stansgate Lord Touhig Baroness Thornton

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest **Baroness Twycross** Baroness Wheeler Lord Watts Lord Wood of Anfield Lord Whitty

Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Young of Norwood Green Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Lord Bach

Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe

Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Lord Collins of Highbury

Lord Donoughue

Lord Falconer of Thoroton

Baroness Gale Lord Hacking

Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Lord Jordan

Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Lord Maxton

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardley

Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Sahota

Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Tunnicliffe

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

Baroness Whitaker Lord Woodley

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Lord Paddick

Lord Purvis of Tweed

Mandeville

Baroness Barker Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Doocey Lord Dholakia

Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Grender Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Humphreys Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Kramer Lord Newby

Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall

Lord Scriven

Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Redesdale Lord Roberts of Llandudno Earl Russell Lord Shipley Lord Storey Lord Stoneham of Droxford Baroness Śuttie Lord Stunell Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Tope

Baroness Benjamin Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones

Lord Foster of Bath Lord German Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Lord McNally Baroness Northover **Baroness Parminter** Baroness Randerson Lord Rennard

Baroness Scott of Needham Market Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Strasburger

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Viscount Thurso **Baroness Walmsley**

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Chartres Lord Green of Deddington

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Alton of Liverpool Lord Aberdare Baroness Brown of Cambridge Baroness Butler-Sloss Lord Craig of Radley Lord Cromwell

Lord Etherton Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint Lord Best

Lord Carlile of Berriew Baroness D'Souza Lord Greenway

Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Hunt of Bethnal Green Earl Lytton

Baroness Neuberger Lord Russell of Liverpool

Baroness Watkins of Tavistock Baroness Wheatcroft

Lord Hylton Lord Macdonald of River Glaven Baroness O'Loan Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd

Baroness Hayman

Lord Hope of Craighead Lord Kilclooney Baroness Meacher Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve Lord Thurlow

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Bishop of Leeds Bishop of Durham

Other Votes with the Government

Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Lord Faulks

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Mann Lord Wigley

Lord Dodds of Duncairn **Baroness Hoey**

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

Baroness Uddin

Lord Empey

Lord Weir of Ballyholme

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Verdirame

Ref: 2734