Government Defeat in Lords on Illegal Migration Bill

Wednesday 12/07/2023

On 12/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Illegal Migration Bill: To insist on adding a new clause to give the National Crime Agency a legal responsibility for tackling organised crime across the Channel and to maintain a specific unit for this purpose.

This was defeat number 96 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	112	0	112	155
Labour	0	80	80	94
Liberal Democrat	0	48	48	36
Crossbench	1	17	18	157
Bishops	0	4	4	22
Other	1	8	9	42
Total	114	157	271	506

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative votes with the Government					
Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Baroness Anelay of St Johns	Lord Ashcombe			
Lord Ashton of Hyde	Baroness Barran Lord Bellamy				
Lord Bellingham	Lord Benyon Lord Bethell				
Lord Blencathra	Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist	Baroness Bray of Coln			
Viscount Bridgeman	Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine				
Lord Callanan	Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham				
Earl Courtown	Lord Crathorne Lord Davies of Gower				
Earl Effingham	Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Evans of Bowes P				
Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Baroness Finn Baroness Fleet				
Lord Flight	Baroness Foster of Oxton				
Lord Glendonbrook	Lord Godson	Baroness Goldie			
Lord Greenhalgh	Lord Grimstone of Boscobel	Lord Hannan of Kingsclere			
Lord Harlech	Lord Haselhurst	Lord Henley			
Baroness Hodgson of Abinger	Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts	Lord Holmes of Richmond			
Lord Horam	Lord Howard of Rising	Earl Howe			
Lord Hunt of Wirral	Lord Jackson of Peterborough	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington			
Baroness Lampard	Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton	Earl Leicester			
Lord Lexden	Lord Lilley	Earl Liverpool			
Lord Lucas	Lord Mancroft	Lord Markham			
Lord McInnes of Kilwinning	Lord McLoughlin	Lord Mendoza			
Baroness Meyer	Earl Minto	Duke of Montrose			
Baroness Morris of Bolton	Lord Mott	Lord Moylan			
Lord Moynihan	Baroness Moyo	Lord Murray of Blidworth			
Baroness Neville-Jones	Baroness Neville-Rolfe	Baroness Newlove			
Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne	Lord Norton of Louth	Lord Offord of Garvel			
Baroness O'Neill of Bexley	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	Baroness Penn			
Lord Pickles	Lord Popat	Lord Porter of Spalding			
Lord Reay	Lord Remnant	Lord Robathan			
Lord Roberts of Belgravia	Baroness Rock	Baroness Sanderson of Welton			
Lord Sandhurst	Baroness Scott of Bybrook	Lord Selkirk of Douglas			
Lord Sharpe of Epsom	Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury	Lord Shinkwin			
Lord Smith of Hindhead	Lord Soames of Fletching	Baroness Stedman-Scott			
Lord Stewart of Dirleton	Baroness Stowell of Beeston	Lord Strathclyde			
Baroness Swinburne	Lord Swire	Lord Taylor of Holbeach			
Viscount Trenchard	Lord True	Baroness Vere of Norbiton			
Baroness Verma	Lord Waldegrave of North Hill	Baroness Williams of Trafford			
Lord Wolfson of Tredegar	Lord Wrottesley	Lord Young of Cookham			
Viscount Younger of Leckie					

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Adonis Lord Berkeley Lord Blunkett Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Carter of Coles Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Dubs **Baroness Golding** Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healv of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leong Lord Livermore Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor **Baroness Rebuck** Lord Rooker Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Thornton Lord Watson of Invergowrie Lord Whitty Lord Woodley

- Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Baroness Bryan of Partick Lord Cashman Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Fatwell Lord Goldsmith Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Liddle **Baroness Mallalieu Baroness Merron** Baroness Nye Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Sahota Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone
- Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top **Baroness Blower** Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Baroness Donaghy Lord Falconer of Thoroton Lord Hacking Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Jones Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Lennie Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Mandelson Baroness Morgan of Huyton Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Baroness Quin Lord Robertson of Port Ellen **Baroness Sherlock** Lord Stevenson of Balmacara Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Baroness Twycross Baroness Whitaker Lord Wood of Anfield

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Baroness Brinton Lord Foster of Bath Lord German Baroness Harris of Richmond **Baroness Janke** Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Baroness Northover **Baroness Parminter Baroness Randerson** Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson Viscount Thurso

Lord Alderdice I ord Beith Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Fox

Baroness Grender **Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer** Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Oates Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Lord Sharkey Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Government Viscount Craigavon

Crossbench Votes against the Government Lord Alton of Liverpool

Lord Aberdare Baroness Bull Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Patel Viscount Waverley

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government Archbishop of Canterbury Bishop of London Bishop of Southwark

Other Votes with the Government Lord Faulks

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Inglewood Lord Stone of Blackheath

Lord Carlile of Berriew

Earl Kinnoull

Duke of Somerset

Baroness Wheatcroft

Lord Hannay of Chiswick

Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted

Lord Clement-Jones Baroness Garden of Frognal **Baroness Hamwee** Lord Hussain **Baroness Ludford** Lord Newby Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Storey **Baroness Suttie** Lord Thomas of Gresford **Baroness Walmsley**

Baroness Boycott Lord Desai Lord Hope of Craighead **Baroness Neuberger** Lord Walney

Bishop of Manchester

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Uddin

Lord Verdirame

Lord Wigley

Ref: 2757