Government Defeat in Lords on Illegal Migration Bill

Wednesday 12/07/2023

On 12/07/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Illegal Migration Bill: To insist on adding a new clause requiring the Secretary of State to make regulations specifying additional safe and legal routes within two months of the required report on existing and proposed safe and legal routes.

This was defeat number 95 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	119	3	122	145
Labour	0	84	84	90
Liberal Democrat	0	52	52	32
Crossbench	1	23	24	151
Bishops	0	4	4	22
Other	2	8	10	41
Total	122	174	296	481

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Mancroft

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashcombe Lord Bellamy Lord Ashton of Hyde Baroness Barran Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Lord Bethell

Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Baroness Bray of ColnViscount Bridgeman Lord Blencathra

Lord

Brownlow of Shurlock Row Lord Caine Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose

Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Davies of Gower Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Effingham Viscount Eccles

Lord Evans of Rainow Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Fairfax of Cameron Baroness Finn **Baroness Fleet** Lord Flight

Lord Glendonbrook Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Frost Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Greenhalgh

Lord Grimstone of Boscobel Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Harlech Lord Haselhurst Lord Hill of Oareford Lord Henley

Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Lord Howard of Rising Earl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Baroness Lampard Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton

Lord Lansley Baroness Lawlor Earl Leicester Lord Lucas Lord Lilley Earl Liverpool

Baroness Meyer Lord McLoughlin Lord Mendoza Earl Minto Duke of Montrose Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Mott Lord Moylan Lord Moynihan

Lord Markham

Baroness Movo Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness Newlove

Lord Norton of Louth Lord Offord of Garvel Baroness O'Neill of Bexley

Lord McInnes of Kilwinning

Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Lord Pickles Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Reav

Lord Robathan Lord Remnant Lord Risby Lord Roberts of Belgravia Baroness Rock Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Sandhurst

Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Soames of Fletching Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Strathclyde Baroness Swinburne Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Swire Viscount Trenchard

Lord True Lord Vaizey of Didcot Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Verma Lord Waldegrave of North Hill Lord Wei

Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Wrottesley Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Baroness Stroud Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Lord Shinkwin

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Adonis Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Lord Berkeley Baroness Blake of Leeds Baroness Blower Lord Bradley Lord Boateng Lord Blunkett

Lord Campbell-Savours Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Bryan of Partick

Lord Carter of Coles Lord Cashman Baroness Chakrabarti Viscount Chandos Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Coaker

Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs Lord Eatwell Lord Falconer of Thoroton Lord Glasman Baroness Golding Lord Goldsmith

Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hacking Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Jones

Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Knight of Weymouth Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Khan of Burnley Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Lord Lennie Lord Leong

Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Livermore Lord Liddle Baroness Mallalieu Lord Mandelson Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Baroness Morgan of Huyton Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Merron Baroness Nye Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Baroness Osamor

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Rebuck Baroness Quin Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Rooker

Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Sahota Baroness Sherlock Lord Snape Viscount Stansgate Lord Stevenson of Balmacara

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Taylor of Bolton Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Baroness Thornton

Baroness Twycross Lord Touhig Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Whitaker Lord Whitty Lord Wood of Anfield Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Woodley

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Lord Allan of Hallam Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Lord Beith Baroness Benjamin

Mandeville Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Brinton Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord German Baroness Grender Baroness Hamwee

Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Humphreys Lord Hussain Baroness Janke Baroness Kramer Baroness Ludford Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer Lord Newby Lord Paddick **Baroness Northover** Lord Oates **Baroness Parminter** Baroness Pinnock Lord Purvis of Tweed

Baroness Randerson Lord Redesdale Earl Russell Lord Scriven Lord Sharkey Baroness Sheehan Lord Storey Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Shipley Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell Baroness Suttie

Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Teverson

Baroness Thornhill Viscount Thurso Lord Wallace of Saltaire **Baroness Walmsley**

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Viscount Craigavon

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Aberdare Lord Alton of Liverpool **Baroness Boycott** Baroness Butler-Sloss Lord Carlile of Berriew Baroness Bull Lord Desai Baroness D'Souza Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Hope of Craighead Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Earl Kinnoull Baroness Neuberger Baroness Prashar Lord Patel Duke of Somerset

Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd Lord Walney Baroness Watkins of Tavistock Viscount Waverley Baroness Wheatcroft

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the GovernmentArchbishop of Canterbury B
Bishop of Southwark

Bishop of London

Bishop of Manchester

Other Votes with the Government

Lord Faulks Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Uddin

Baroness Fox of Buckley Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Wigley

Lord Inglewood

Lord Stone of Blackheath

2756