# Government Defeat in Lords on Financial Services and Markets Bill

### Thursday 08/06/2023

On 08/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Financial Services and Markets Bill: To add financial inclusion as a consumer protection objective for the Financial Conduct Authority.

This was defeat number 43 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	<b>Against Govt</b>	Total	No vote
Conservative	147	0	147	118
Labour	0	108	108	65
Liberal Democrat	0	54	54	30
Crossbench	2	22	24	155
Bishops	0	0	0	27
Other	5	7	12	39
Total	154	191	345	434

#### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Sassoon Baroness Seccombe

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Baroness Stedman-Scott

Lord Altrincham Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Lord Ashcombe Lord Ashton of Hvde Lord Baker of Dorking Lord Balfe Lord Bellamy Lord Benvon Baroness Barran Baroness Berridge Baroness Bertin Lord Bethell Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Baroness Buscombe Lord Caine Lord Callanan Viscount Camrose Lord Carrington of Fulham Earl Cathcart Lord Colgrain Lord Cormack Earl Courtown Lord Crathorne Lord Cruddas Lord Davies of Gower Lord De Mauley Lord Deighton Earl Dundee Baroness Eaton Viscount Eccles Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Earl Effingham Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Fairfax of Cameron Lord Farmer Baroness Finn Baroness Fookes Lord Forsyth of Drumlean **Baroness Fleet** Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Frost Lord Gilbert of Panteg Lord Godson Baroness Goldie Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Lord Goodlad Lord Greenhaldh Lord Grimstone of Boscobel Viscount Hailsham Lord Hamilton of Epsom Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Hayward Baroness Helic Lord Haselhurst Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Henley Lord Hintze Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Lord Howell of Guildford Lord Howard of Lympne Earl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Jackson of Peterborough Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Kamall Lord Keen of Elie Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Baroness Lampard Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Baroness Lea of Lymm Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lingfield Lord Livingston of Parkhead Lord Lucas Lord Markham Lord Marlesford Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McColl of Dulwich Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Lord Mendoza Baroness Meyer Baroness Mobarik Duke of Montrose Lord Moylan Lord Movnihan Baroness Moyo Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Neville-Rolfe Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Northbrook Lord Norton of Louth Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Porter of Spalding Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Reay Baroness Redfern Lord Risby Lord Robathan Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst Lord Sarfraz

Baroness Sater

Lord Shinkwin

Lord Sterling of Plaistow

Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia

Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Lord Sharpe of Epsom

Lord Smith of Hindhead

Lord Stewart of Dirleton

Baroness Stowell of Beeston **Baroness Sugg** Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Tugendhat

Baroness Verma Baroness Williams of Trafford

Baroness Wyld

Lord Strathcarron Lord Suri Viscount Trenchard

Lord Udny-Lister Lord Wei Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Lord Young of Cookham

**Baroness Stroud** Lord Swire Lord True

Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrottesley

Viscount Younger of Leckie

## Conservative Votes against the Government

#### **Labour Votes with the Government Labour Votes against the Government**

Lord Anderson of Swansea

Lord Bach Baroness Blake of Leeds

Lord Boateng

Lord Browne of Ladyton

Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker

Lord Davidson of Glen Clova

Lord Donoughue Lord Eatwell

Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding

Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Baroness Henig Baroness Jay of Paddington

Lord Jordan

Lord Knight of Weymouth

Lord Lennie Lord Liddle Lord Livermore Lord McAvov

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

Lord Monks Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor Lord Prentis of Leeds Baroness Rebuck Lord Rooker

Baroness Smith of Basildon **Baroness Thornton** 

Lord Tunnicliffe

Lord Watson of Invergowrie

**Baroness Wheeler** Lord Winston

Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Lord Bradley

Baroness Bryan of Partick Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Drake

Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale

Lord Grantchester Lord Hacking Lord Haskel

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport

Lord Jones

Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Leong Lord Lipsey Baroness Mallalieu

Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale

Baroness Merron Baroness Morgan of Huyton Baroness Nye

Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Prosser Lord Reid of Cardowan Baroness Sherlock

Viscount Stansgate Lord Touhig

Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Whitaker

Lord Woodley

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top

Baroness Blackstone

Lord Blunkett

Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Campbell-Savours

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

**Baroness Crawley** Baroness Donaghy Lord Dubs

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Glasman

Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth

Lord Haworth

Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Baroness Jones of Whitchurch

Lord Khan of Burnley

Lord Layard

Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord Maxton

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Mitchell

**Baroness Morris of Yardley** Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway

Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Lord Sikka

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage

Lord Triesman

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Lord Watts

Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

#### **Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government**

#### Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Baroness Benjamin Lord Bradshaw

Baroness Burt of Solihull **Baroness Doocey** Lord German Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain

Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall

Lord Scriven Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger

Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope

Lord Alderdice Baroness Barker

Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Janke Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

**Baroness Northover** Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Baroness Sheehan Lord Stephen Lord Stunell

Lord Thomas of Gresford Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Lord Allan of Hallam

Lord Beith

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Lord Bruce of Bennachie

Lord Dholakia Lord Fox

Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer Lord McNally Lord Palmer of Childs Hill

Baroness Randerson Lord Rennard Lord Shipley

Lord Stoneham of Droxford Baroness Suttie

Baroness Thornhill Baroness Walmsley

#### **Crossbench Votes with the Government**

Lord Curry of Kirkharle Lord Fowler

#### **Crossbench Votes against the Government**

Lord Anderson of Ipswich
Earl Clancarty Baroness Boycott Baroness Bull Viscount Colville of Culross **Baroness Coussins** 

Viscount Craigavon Baroness D'Souza Lord Dykes

Lord Freyberg
Lord Hogan-Howe Earl Erroll Baroness Falkner of Margravine Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Hayman Lord Kerr of Kinlochard Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd **Duke of Somerset** 

Lord Turnbull Lord Walney **Baroness Wheatcroft** 

Baroness Willis of Summertown

#### **Bishop Votes with the Government**

#### **Bishop Votes against the Government**

#### Other Votes with the Government

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Faulks Baroness Hoey

Lord Tyrie Lord Verdirame

Other Votes against the Government Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Kennedy of Cradley

Lord Mann Lord Truscott Baroness Uddin

Lord Wigley Ref: 2698