Government Defeat in Lords on Energy Bill [HL] Tuesday 28/03/2023

On 28/03/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Energy Bill [HL]: To remove the power of the Secretary of State to impose a hydrogen levy on gas and electricity suppliers.

This was defeat number 27 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	150	0	150	114
Labour	0	99	99	73
Liberal Democrat	0	55	55	29
Crossbench	6	11	17	161
Bishops	0	2	2	26
Other	4	3	7	47
Total	160	170	330	450

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Earl Attlee I ord Bellamy **Baroness Berridge** Lord Borwick Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Caine Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Cruddas Lord De Mauley Lord Duncan of Springbank **Baroness Eaton** Earl Effingham Baroness Fall Lord Flight Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Godson Viscount Goschen Lord Harlech Lord Henley Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Kirkham Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Earl Leicester Lord Lilley Earl Liverpool Lord Mancroft Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning Earl Minto Baroness Morris of Bolton Baroness Neville-Jones Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Pickles Lord Porter of Spalding Baroness Redfern Lord Roberts of Belgravia Lord Sandhurst

Lord Altrincham Lord Balfe Lord Bellingham Lord Blencathra Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone Lord Bridges of Headley Earl Caithness Lord Colgrain Baroness Cumberlege Lord Deben Earl Dundee Baroness Eccles of Moulton Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Finkelstein **Baroness Fookes** Lord Frost I ord Gold Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Lord Haselhurst Lord Hintze **Baroness Hooper** Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Jopling Lord Lamont of Lerwick **Baroness Lawlor** Lord Leigh of Hurley Farl Lindsav Lord Livingston of Parkhead Baroness Manzoor Lord McColl of Dulwich Lord McLoughlin Baroness Mobarik Lord Movlan Baroness Neville-Rolfe **Baroness Noakes** Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay I ord Polak Lord Ranger Lord Remnant Lord Roborough **Baroness Sater**

Lord Ashton of Hyde Baroness Barran Lord Benvon Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Waldrist Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Baroness Browning Lord Callanan Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord Dobbs Lord Dunlop Viscount Eccles Lord Fairfax of Cameron Baroness Fleet Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Glendonbrook Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Hayward Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Lord Horam Lord Howell of Guildford Lord James of Blackheath Lord Kamall **Baroness Lampard** Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Lexden Lord Lingfield Lord Lucas Lord Markham Baroness McGregor-Smith **Baroness Meyer** Baroness Morgan of Cotes Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Newlove Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Penn Lord Popat **Baroness Rawlings** Lord Risby Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Baroness Seccombe Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Sterling of Plaistow Lord Swire Lord Vaizey of Didcot Baroness Warsi Lord Whitby Lord Wrottesley

Lord Selkirk of Douglas Lord Shinkwin Lord Stewart of Dirleton Lord Taylor of Holbeach Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wasserman Baroness Williams of Trafford Baroness Wyld

Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead **Baroness Stowell of Beeston** Lord True Baroness Verma Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea **Baroness Andrews** Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Boateng Lord Carter of Coles Lord Clark of Windermere **Baroness Crawley Baroness Drake** Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Giddens Lord Griffiths of Burry Port Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Khan of Burnley Lord Leong Baroness Lister of Burtersett Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Morgan Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Baroness Sherlock Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Thornton Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Wheeler** Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Eatwell Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Baroness Golding Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Baroness Henia Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke **Baroness Mallalieu** Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardley **Baroness Osamor** Lord Prentis of Leeds **Baroness Rebuck** Lord Rooker Lord Sahota Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Wyre Forest Baroness Whitaker Lord Winston

Lord Bach **Baroness Blackstone** Lord Blunkett Lord Campbell-Savours Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Lord Falconer of Thoroton **Baroness Gale** Lord Grantchester Lord Hacking Lord Haworth Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Lennie Lord Liddle Lord McAvoy Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathlev Baroness Primarolo Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Rowlands Lord Sawyer Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Triesman Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watts Lord Whitty Lord Young of Norwood Green

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Baroness Barker Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Dholakia Lord Fox **Baroness Grender** Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord Oates **Baroness Pinnock** Lord Rennard Lord Shipley Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell Lord Taylor of Goss Moor Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope Baroness Walmsley

Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Brinton Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Doocey Lord German **Baroness Hamwee** Baroness Hussein-Ece Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Storey Baroness Suttie Lord Teverson Baroness Thornhill Baroness Tyler of Enfield

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Lord Beith Baroness Benjamin Lord Bruce of Bennachie Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond **Baroness Jolly** Lord Newby Baroness Parminter Baroness Randerson **Baroness Sheehan** Lord Stephen Lord Strasburger Lord Taverne Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso Lord Wallace of Saltaire

Crossbench Votes with the Governm Lord Aberdare Lord Kerr of Kinlochard	nent Lord Bew Lord Londesborough	Viscount Craigavon Duke of Somerset			
Crossbench Votes against the Gove Lord Alton of Liverpool Baroness Falkner of Margravine Baroness O'Loan Lord Vaux of Harrowden	rrnment Lord Birt Baroness Finlay of Llandaff Lord Ravensdale Baroness Worthington	Baroness Boycott Lord Freyberg Baroness Stuart of Edgbaston			
Bishop Votes with the Government					
Bishop Votes against the Governme Bishop of Derby	ment Bishop of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich				
Other Votes with the Government Lord Faulks Lord Tyrie	Lord Rogan	Lord Taylor of Warwick			

Other Votes against the Government Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb

Lord Mann

Ref: 2678