Government Defeat in Lords on Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Bill

Tuesday 20/06/2023

On 20/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Bill: To add a new clause to require that the register of overseas entities be updated within 14 days of an entity becoming aware of any changes.

This was defeat number 52 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	146	1	147	118
Labour	0	88	88	85
Liberal Democrat	0	58	58	26
Crossbench	4	16	20	159
Bishops	0	0	0	27
Other	3	9	12	39
Total	153	172	325	454

Conservative Votes with the Government

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom Baroness Barran Baroness Berridge Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Lord Bridges of Headley Earl Caithness Lord Carrington of Fulham Lord Choudrey Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord Dobbs Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Lord Farmer Baroness Fookes Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie Baroness Goldie Lord Grimstone of Boscobel Lord Harlech Lord Hayward Lord Herbert of South Downs Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Horam Earl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Kirkham Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lucas Lord Markham Lord McInnes of Kilwinning

Duke of Montrose

Baroness Neville-Jones

Lord Porter of Spalding

Baroness O'Neill of Bexley

Lord Moynihan

Lord Pickles

Baroness Altmann Lord Ashcombe Lord Bellamy Lord Black of Brentwood **Baroness Brady** Baroness Browning Lord Callanan Earl Cathcart Lord Clarke of Nottingham Lord Crathorne Lord De Mauley Baroness Eaton Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Fink Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Glendonbrook Lord Goodlad Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Harrington of Watford Baroness Helic Lord Hill of Oareford Lord Holmes of Richmond Lord Howard of Lympne Lord Howell of Guildford Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Baroness Lawlor Lord Lexden Lord Mancroft Lord Marlesford Baroness Meyer Baroness Morris of Bolton Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Pidding Lord Price

Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Caine Viscount Camrose Lord Chadlington Lord Cormack Lord Cruddas Lord Deben Earl Effingham Lord Fairfax of Cameron **Baroness Fleet** Baroness Foster of Oxton Lord Godson Viscount Goschen Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Haselhurst Lord Henley Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts Baroness Hooper Lord Howard of Rising Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Lamont of Lerwick Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Lingfield Baroness Manzoor Lord Maude of Horsham Earl Minto Lord Moylan Lord Naseby Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Penn Lord Popat Lord Reay

Baroness Anelay of St Johns

Lord Ashton of Hyde

Lord Bellingham

Lord Blackwell

Baroness Redfern Lord Roberts of Belgravia Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Stewart of Dirleton **Baroness Stroud**

Lord True Baroness Warsi

Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Young of Cookham

Lord Remnant Lord Roborough Lord Sandhurst Baroness Seccombe Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Soames of Fletching Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Baroness Sugg Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Wei

Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Viscount Younger of Leckie

Conservative Votes against the Government

Lord Agnew of Oulton

Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blower Lord Browne of Ladyton Lord Cashman

Baroness Chapman of Darlington

Baroness Crawley Baroness Drake

Lord Faulkner of Worcester

Lord Glasman Lord Hacking

Baroness Hayman of Ullock

Lord Hendy

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Leong Lord Maxton

Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Lord Reid of Cardowan

Lord Sahota

Baroness Smith of Basildon

Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Thornton **Baroness Twycross** Lord Watts

Lord Whitty

Lord Adonis Baroness Andrews Baroness Blackstone

Lord Blunkett

Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chakrabarti Baroness Cohen of Pimlico Lord Davies of Brixton

Lord Dubs Baroness Gale Baroness Golding Viscount Hanworth

Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town

Baroness Heniq

Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lister of Burtersett

Lord McAvoy Baroness Merron Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Osamor Lord Prentis of Leeds

Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Baroness Sherlock

Lord Snape

Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Touhig

Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Wheeler Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Baroness Young of Old Scone

Lord Robathan Baroness Rock Lord Sarfraz

Baroness Shackleton of Belgravia

Lord Shinkwin

Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Strathclyde Lord Taylor of Holbeach Baroness Verma Lord Wharton of Yarm Lord Wrottesley

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent

Lord Bach

Baroness Blake of Leeds

Lord Bradley Lord Carter of Coles Viscount Chandos Lord Collins of Highbury Baroness Donaghy Lord Falconer of Thoroton

Lord Giddens Lord Grocott

Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Lennie

Lord Livermore

Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Morgan of Huyton

Baroness Nye Baroness Pitkeathley Baroness Primarolo Lord Rooker Lord Sikka

Viscount Stansgate

Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Wyre Forest

Baroness Whitaker Lord Woodley

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Allan of Hallam

Baroness Barker

Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Baroness Doocev Lord German Baroness Hamwee

Baroness Hussein-Ece Baroness Ludford Lord Newby Lord Paddick Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall

Lord Scriven Lord Shipley

Lord Strasburger Lord Taylor of Goss Moor

Baroness Thornhill Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Wrigglesworth

Baroness Brinton Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath

Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond

Baroness Jolly

Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Baroness Northover Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Lord Sharkey

Baroness Smith of Newnham

Lord Stunell

Baroness Thomas of Winchester

Viscount Thurso **Baroness Walmsley** Baroness Bakewell of Hardington

Mandeville

Lord Beith Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury

Baroness Burt of Solihull

Lord Dholakia Lord Fox Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Kramer Lord McNally Lord Oates **Baroness Parminter**

Baroness Randerson

Baroness Scott of Needham Market

Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Baroness Suttie

Lord Thomas of Gresford

Lord Tope

Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Lord Greenway Lord Mawson Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Viscount Waverley

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord Aberdare Lord Best Lord Birt

Baroness D'Souza Baroness Falkner of Margravine Viscount Craigavon

Lord Freyberg
Lord Londesborough Lord Hannay of Chiswick Baroness Neuberger Lord Kilclooney Baroness O'Loan Lord Stevens of Birmingham Lord Vaux of Harrowden Lord Thurlow

Baroness Wheatcroft

Bishop Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Baroness Foster of Aghadrumsee Lord Taylor of Warwick Lord Weir of Ballyholme

Other Votes against the Government

Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Faulks Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Patel of Bradford Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Mann Lord Verdirame

Lord Wigley Ref: 2710