# Government Defeat in Lords on Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Bill

# Tuesday 27/06/2023

On 27/06/2023 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Economic Crime and Corporate Transparency Bill: To add a new clause to extend the cost cap for civil recovery cases beyond Unexplained Wealth Orders.

This was defeat number 60 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	142	4	146	121
Labour	0	87	87	85
Liberal Democrat	0	52	52	33
Crossbench	5	12	17	162
Bishops	0	3	3	23
Other	3	6	9	42
Total	150	164	314	466

### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Ashcombe **Baroness Barran** Lord Benyon Lord Borwick Viscount Bridgeman Lord Caine Lord Colgrain Lord Cruddas Lord Dobbs Viscount Eccles Baroness Evans of Bowes Park I ord Fink Baroness Foster of Oxton **Baroness Goldie** Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Harris of Peckham **Baroness Helic** Lord Hill of Oareford Baroness Hooper Lord Howell of Guildford Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Baroness Lea of Lymm Lord Lilley Baroness Manzoor Lord Maude of Horsham Lord McLoughlin Duke of Montrose Lord Moylan Lord Naseby **Baroness Newlove** Lord Offord of Garvel Lord Patten of Barnes Lord Polak **Baroness Rawlings** Lord Risby Lord Roborough Lord Sarfraz

Lord Altrincham Lord Ashton of Hyde Lord Bellamy **Baroness Berridge** Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth **Baroness Browning** Earl Caithness Earl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord Duncan of Springbank Earl Effingham Lord Fairfax of Cameron Baroness Finn Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Lord Hannan of Kingsclere Lord Haselhurst Lord Henley Lord Hodgson of Astley Abbotts I ord Horam Lord Hunt of Wirral Lord Johnson of Lainston Lord Lamont of Lerwick Earl Leicester Earl Lindsay Lord Markham Baroness McGregor-Smith **Baroness Meyer** Baroness Morris of Bolton Baroness Moyo **Baroness Neville-Jones** Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne Baroness O'Neill of Bexley **Baroness Penn** Lord Popat Lord Reay Lord Robathan Baroness Rock Baroness Sater

Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Balfe Lord Bellingham Baroness Bertin Baroness Bray of Coln Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Viscount Camrose Lord Crathorne Lord De Mauley Lord Dunlop Lord Evans of Rainow Lord Farmer Lord Forsyth of Drumlean Lord Godson Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Lord Harlech Lord Hayward Lord Herbert of South Downs Lord Holmes of Richmond Farl Howe Lord Jackson of Peterborough Lord Kamall **Baroness Lawlor** Lord Lexden Lord Lingfield Lord Marlesford Lord McInnes of Kilwinning **Baroness Mobarik** Lord Mott Lord Murray of Blidworth Baroness Neville-Rolfe Lord Norton of Louth Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Pidding Lord Randall of Uxbridge Lord Remnant Lord Roberts of Belgravia Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Scott of Bybrook

Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Baroness Stowell of Beeston Lord Swire Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Viscount Younger of Leckie

## **Conservative Votes against the Government**

**Baroness Altmann** 

Lord Selkirk of Douglas

Lord Strathclyde

Lord Udny-Lister

Lord Wrottesley

Viscount Trenchard

Lord Wharton of Yarm

Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury

Lord Soames of Fletching

Lord Agnew of Oulton Lord Leigh of Hurley

#### Labour Votes with the Government

#### Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Anderson of Swansea Lord Bach **Baroness Blower** Lord Campbell-Savours Viscount Chandos Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Evans of Watford Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Grantchester Viscount Hanworth Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws Lord Leong Lord Liddle **Baroness Mallalieu** Lord McAvov Baroness Merron Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Baroness Primarolo Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker **Baroness Sherlock** Lord Snape Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Turnberg Lord Watson of Wyre Forest **Baroness Wheeler** Baroness Wilcox of Newport

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Bradley Lord Cashman Baroness Cohen of Pimlico Baroness Donaghy Lord Falconer of Thoroton Baroness Gale Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Levy Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Mandelson Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord Morgan Baroness Osamor Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Lord Rowlands Lord Sikka Viscount Stansgate Baroness Thornton Baroness Twycross Lord Watson of Invergowrie Baroness Whitaker Baroness Young of Old Scone

Lord Sewell of Sanderstead Lord Shinkwin Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Swinburne I ord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Williams of Trafford Baroness Wyld

Lord Garnier

**Baroness Andrews** Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Dubs Lord Faulkner of Worcester Baroness Golding Lord Hacking Lord Haworth Lord Hendy Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke Lord Livermore Lord Maxton Lord McNicol of West Kilbride Baroness Nye Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Rebuck Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Sahota Baroness Smith of Basildon Baroness Taylor of Stevenage I ord Tunnicliffe Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe Lord Watts Lord Whitty Lord Young of Norwood Green

#### Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

#### Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government Lord Addington

Lord Beith Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Lord Clement-Jones Lord Foster of Bath Lord German **Baroness Hamwee** Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord Oates **Baroness Pinnock** Lord Razzall Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Strasburger Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Tope Lord Wrigglesworth

Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville Baroness Benjamin Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Baroness Brinton I ord Dholakia Lord Fox Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond **Baroness Hussein-Ece** Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Lord Paddick Lord Purvis of Tweed Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Stoneham of Droxford Lord Stunell **Baroness Thornhill** Lord Wallace of Tankerness

#### **Crossbench Votes with the Government**

Viscount Brookeborough Lord Greenway

Lord Carrington Viscount Waverley Baroness Barker

Lord Bruce of Bennachie **Baroness Doocey** Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys **Baroness Janke** Lord McNally Lord Palmer of Childs Hill Baroness Randerson Lord Scriven Lord Shipley Lord Storey **Baroness Suttie** Viscount Thurso Lord Willis of Knaresborough

Viscount Craigavon

Crossbench Votes against the Gove Lord Alton of Liverpool Baroness D'Souza Lord Londesborough Lord Vaux of Harrowden	Ernment Lord Carlile of Berriew Baroness Falkner of Margravine Baroness Neuberger Lord Walney	Lord Cromwell Lord Hannay of Chiswick Lord Stevens of Birmingham Baroness Wheatcroft			
Bishop Votes with the Government					
Bishop Votes against the Governme Bishop of London	ent Bishop of Manchester	Bishop of Sheffield			
Other Votes with the Government Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen	Lord Gadhia	Baroness Hoey			
Other Votes against the Governmen Lord Austin of Dudley Baroness Kennedy of Cradley	It Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Mann	Lord Faulks Lord Wigley			

Ref: 2720