# Government Defeat in Lords on Digital Markets, Competition and Consumers Bill

# Wednesday 13/03/2024

On 13/03/2024 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Digital Markets, Competition and Consumers Bill: To add a new clause imposing requirements on secondary tickets sites regarding proof of purchase, ticket number limits and the provision of information.

This was defeat number 21 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	145	1	146	130
Labour	0	96	96	73
Liberal Democrat	0	52	52	29
Crossbench	4	11	15	164
Bishops	0	0	0	27
Other	5	5	10	41
Total	154	165	319	464

# **Conservative Votes with the Government**

Conservative Votes with the Government				
Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon	Lord Altrincham	Lord Ashcombe		
Lord Ashton of Hyde	Earl Attlee	Lord Bailey of Paddington		
Baroness Barran	Lord Bellingham	Baroness Berridge		
Lord Black of Brentwood	Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford	Lord Blencathra		
Lord Booth	Lord Borwick	Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth		
Baroness Brady	Baroness Bray of Coln	Baroness Browning		
Baroness Buscombe	Lord Caine	Earl Caithness		
Lord Callanan	Lord Cameron of Lochiel	Lord Camoys		
Viscount Camrose	Lord Carrington of Fulham	Lord Chadlington		
Lord Colgrain	Earl Courtown	Lord Cruddas		
Lord Davies of Gower	Lord De Mauley	Lord Dobbs		
Lord Douglas-Miller	Earl Dundee	Lord Dunlop		
Baroness Eaton	Earl Effingham	Lord Evans of Rainow		
Baroness Evans of Bowes Park	Lord Fairfax of Cameron	Baroness Fookes		
Lord Forsyth of Drumlean	Baroness Foster of Oxton	Lord Frost		
Lord Fuller	Lord Garnier	Lord Gascoigne		
Lord Glenarthur	Lord Godson	Lord Gold		
Baroness Goldie	Viscount Goschen	Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach		
Lord Grimstone of Boscobel	Lord Hamilton of Epsom	Lord Hannan of Kingsclere		
Lord Harlech	Lord Haselhurst	Lord Herbert of South Downs		
Lord Hill of Oareford	Lord Holmes of Richmond	Baroness Hooper		
Lord Horam	Lord Howard of Rising	Lord Howard of Lympne		
Earl Howe	Lord Howell of Guildford	Lord Hunt of Wirral		
Lord Jackson of Peterborough	Baroness Jenkin of Kennington	Lord Johnson of Marylebone		
Lord Johnson of Lainston	Lord Kempsell	Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate		
Lord Lamont of Lerwick	Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton	Baroness Lawlor		
Baroness Lea of Lymm	Lord Leigh of Hurley	Lord Lucas		
Lord Magan of Castletown	Lord Mancroft	Baroness Manzoor		
Lord Markham	Lord Marks of Hale	Lord Maude of Horsham		
Lord McInnes of Kilwinning	Lord Mendoza	Baroness Meyer		
Earl Minto	Baroness Mobarik	Baroness Morgan of Cotes		
Lord Mott	Lord Moylan	Lord Moynihan of Chelsea		
Lord Murray of Blidworth	Lord Naseby	Baroness Neville-Jones		
Baroness Neville-Rolfe	Baroness Newlove	Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne		
Baroness Noakes	Lord Norton of Louth	Lord Offord of Garvel		
Baroness Owen of Alderley Edge	Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay	Lord Petitgas		
Lord Pickles	Baroness Pidding	Lord Popat		

Lord Porter of Spalding Baroness Redfern Lord Roborough Lord Sarfraz Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Smith of Hindhead Lord Strathcarron Lord Swire Lord Udny-Lister Lord Wei Baroness Williams of Trafford Viscount Younger of Leckie Lord Ranger of Northwood Lord Risby Baroness Sanderson of Welton Baroness Scott of Bybrook Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Sugg Lord True Baroness Vere of Norbiton Lord Whitby Lord Wrottesley Lord Reay Lord Robathan Lord Sandhurst Baroness Seccombe Lord Shinkwin Baroness Stowell of Beeston Baroness Swinburne Lord Tugendhat Baroness Verma Lord Willetts Lord Young of Cookham

#### Conservative Votes against the Government Lord Moynihan

## Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government Baroness Adams of Craigielea **Baroness Andrews** Lord Bach **Baroness Blackstone** Lord Bradley Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Chapman of Darlington Lord Collins of Highbury Lord Davies of Brixton Lord Drayson Lord Faulkner of Worcester **Baroness Goudie** Lord Hain Baroness Hayter of Kentish Town Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kinnock Lord Layard Lord Livermore Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Baroness Morris of Yardley Baroness Osamor Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Sahota Baroness Smith of Basildon Viscount Stansgate Baroness Taylor of Stevenage Lord Touhig Baroness Twycross **Baroness Wheeler** Lord Winston

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bassam of Brighton Baroness Blake of Leeds Lord Browne of Ladyton Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Clark of Windermere Baroness Crawley **Baroness Donaghy** Lord Dubs Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Grocott Lord Harris of Haringey Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill Lord Hunt of Kings Heath Lord Kennedy of Southwark Lord Knight of Weymouth Lord Leong Lord Maxton **Baroness Merron** Lord Murphy of Torfaen Baroness Pitkeathley Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Rooker **Baroness Sherlock** Baroness Smith of Gilmorehill Lord Stevenson of Balmacara Baroness Taylor of Bolton Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Watson of Invergowrie **Baroness Whitaker** Lord Young of Norwood Green

Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Ashton of Upholland Lord Berkeley Baroness Blower Baroness Bryan of Partick Viscount Chandos Lord Coaker Lord Davidson of Glen Clova **Baroness Drake** Lord Falconer of Thoroton **Baroness Gale** Lord Hacking Baroness Hayman of Ullock Lord Hendy Lord Jones Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord McConnell of Glenscorrodale Lord Mitchell Baroness O'Grady of Upper Holloway Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Lord Sikka Lord Snape Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Baroness Thornton Lord Turnberg Lord Watts Baroness Wilcox of Newport Baroness Young of Old Scone

### Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Lord Allan of Hallam					
Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Mandeville	Baroness Barker	Baroness Benjamin			
Baroness Bonham-Carter of Yarnbury Lord Clement-Jones Baroness Featherstone Lord German Baroness Hamwee Lord Hussain Baroness Kramer Lord Oates Lord Purvis of Tweed Lord Redesdale Lord Sharkey Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Storey Lord Taylor of Goss Moor Baroness Thornhill	Baroness Bowles of Berkhamsted Lord Dholakia Lord Foster of Bath Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Hussein-Ece Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames Baroness Parminter Baroness Randerson Earl Russell Baroness Sheehan Lord Stephen Lord Strasburger Lord Teverson Baroness Tyler of Enfield	Baroness Brinton Baroness Doocey Baroness Garden of Frognal Baroness Grender Baroness Humphreys Baroness Jolly Baroness Northover Baroness Pinnock Lord Razzall Lord Scriven Lord Scriven Lord Stoneham of Droxford Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Wallace of Saltaire			
Lord Willis of Knaresborough					

Crossbench Votes with the Governn Lord Bew Lord Patel	n <b>ent</b> Lord Greenway	Lord Kerr of Kinlochard						
Crossbench Votes against the GovernmentLord AberdareLord BestEarl ClancartyViscount CraigavonLord HamptonLord KrebsBaroness Stuart of EdgbastonLord Thomas of Cwmgiedd		Baroness Butler-Sloss Baroness Falkner of Margravine Baroness O'Loan						
Bishop Votes with the Government								
Bishop Votes against the Government								
Other Votes with the Government								
Lord Browne of Belmont Lord Morrow	Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Taylor of Warwick	Lord Inglewood						
Other Votes against the Governmen Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Lord Paddick	t Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Lord Wigley	Lord Mann						
		Pof 28						

Ref: 2842