# Government Defeat in Lords on Judicial Review and Courts Bill

## Thursday 31/03/2022

On 31/03/2022 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Judicial Review and Courts Bill: To remove provisions that would have allowed quashing orders to include conditions such that the order would have limited or no retrospective effects.

This was defeat number 104 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	128	0	128	129
Labour	0	77	77	91
Liberal Democrat	0	50	50	34
Crossbench	10	15	25	156
Bishops	0	0	0	26
Other	5	6	11	39
Total	143	148	291	475

#### **Conservative Votes with the Government**

**Baroness Noakes** 

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon Lord Altrincham Baroness Anelay of St Johns Lord Ashton of Hyde Farl Arran Farl Attlee Lord Balfe Baroness Barran Lord Bellingham Lord Benyon Baroness Berridge Baroness Bertin Lord Bethell Baroness Blackwood of North Oxford Lord Blencathra Baroness Bloomfield of Hinton Lord Borwick Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth Waldrist Lord Brabazon of Tara Baroness Brady Lord Bridges of Headley Lord Brownlow of Shurlock Row Baroness Buscombe Lord Caine Earl Caithness Lord Callanan Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen Lord Colgrain Lord Colwyn Lord Cormack Lord Crathorne Lord Cruddas Farl Courtown Lord Davies of Gower Lord Deben Baroness Cumberlege Lord Duncan of Springbank Farl Dundee Lord Dunlop Baroness Eaton Baroness Eccles of Moulton Baroness Evans of Bowes Park Baroness Fall **Baroness Fleet** Lord Flight Lord Framlingham Baroness Fraser of Craigmaddie Lord Frost Baroness Fullbrook Baroness Goldie Lord Goldsmith of Richmond Park Lord Goodlad Viscount Goschen Lord Grade of Yarmouth Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach Baroness Harding of Winscombe Lord Harlech Lord Harrington of Watford Lord Haselhurst Lord Hayward Lord Henley Baroness Hodgson of Abinger Lord Holmes of Richmond Baroness Hooper Lord Horam Earl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness Jenkin of Kennington Lord Johnson of Marylebone Lord Jopling Lord King of Bridgwater Lord Kamall Lord Kirkham Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate Earl Leicester Lord Leigh of Hurley Lord Lexden Lord Lilley Lord Lingfield Earl Liverpool Lord Livingston of Parkhead Lord Mancroft Baroness Manzoor Lord Marland **Baroness Mever** Baroness Morgan of Cotes Baroness Nicholson of Winterbourne

Lord Northbrook

Lord Offord of Garvel

Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay Baroness Penn Lord Pickles

Lord Polak Lord Popat Lord Porter of Spalding **Baroness Rawlings** Lord Reay Baroness Redfern

Lord Risby Lord Robathan Baroness Sanderson of Welton Lord Sandhurst Lord Sassoon Baroness Scott of Bybrook Baroness Seccombe Lord Sharpe of Epsom Lord Sherbourne of Didsbury Baroness Stedman-Scott Lord Stewart of Dirleton Baroness Stowell of Beeston

Lord Strathcarron Lord Strathclyde Baroness Sugg Lord Suri Lord Taylor of Holbeach Lord Trefgarne

Viscount Trenchard Lord Udny-Lister Baroness Vere of Norbiton Baroness Verma Lord Willetts

Lord Wasserman Baroness Williams of Trafford Lord Wolfson of Tredegar Baroness Wyld Lord Young of Cookham Viscount Younger of Leckie

#### Conservative Votes against the Government

#### Labour Votes with the Government

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Adonis Lord Anderson of Swansea Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top Lord Bach

Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Berkeley **Baroness Blower** Lord Boateng Lord Bradley

Lord Bragg Lord Brooke of Alverthorpe Lord Browne of Ladyton

Lord Cashman Baroness Chakrabarti Lord Coaker

Lord Collins of Highbury **Baroness Corston** Lord Davies of Brixton Baroness Drake

**Baroness Donaghy** Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Foulkes of Cumnock Lord Elder

Baroness Golding Lord Grocott Lord Hain

Baroness Hayman of Ullock Viscount Hanworth Lord Haskel Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill

Lord Hendy Baroness Henig Lord Howarth of Newport Baroness Jay of Paddington Lord Jones

Baroness Jones of Whitchurch Lord Kennedy of Southwark Baroness Lawrence of Clarendon

Lord Dubs

Lord Liddle Baroness Lister of Burtersett Lord Maxton

Lord McAvoy Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall Lord McNicol of West Kilbride

**Baroness Merron** Lord Monks Lord Morgan Lord Murphy of Torfaen **Baroness Osamor** Lord Pendry

**Baroness Pitkeathley** Lord Ponsonby of Shulbrede Baroness Ramsay of Cartvale Baroness Rebuck Lord Reid of Cardowan Lord Robertson of Port Ellen

Lord Rooker Lord Rosser Baroness Sherlock Lord Sikka Baroness Smith of Basildon Lord Snape

Viscount Stansgate Baroness Symons of Vernham Dean Lord Triesman Lord Tunnicliffe Lord Turnberg

Lord Watson of Invergowrie Lord West of Spithead Baroness Wheeler Lord Whitty

Lord Wood of Anfield Baroness Wilcox of Newport Lord Winston

Baroness Young of Old Scone Lord Young of Norwood Green

### **Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government**

#### Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Allan of Hallam Lord Addington Lord Alderdice Baroness Bakewell of Hardington Baroness Barker Baroness Brinton

Mandeville

Lord Bruce of Bennachie Baroness Burt of Solihull Lord Campbell of Pittenweem Lord Clement-Jones Lord Dholakia Baroness Featherstone Lord Foster of Bath Lord Fox Baroness Garden of Frognal Lord Goddard of Stockport Baroness Hamwee Baroness Harris of Richmond Baroness Humphreys Lord Hussain Baroness Hussein-Ece

Lord Jones of Cheltenham Baroness Kramer Lord Marks of Henley-on-Thames

Lord Newby **Baroness Northover Lord Oates** Lord Paddick Lord Palmer of Childs Hill **Baroness Parminter** Baroness Pinnock Lord Redesdale Lord Rennard

Baroness Scott of Needham Market Lord Scriven

Lord Shipley Baroness Smith of Newnham Lord Stoneham of Droxford

Baroness Sheehan

Lord Storey Lord Strasburger Lord Stunell

Baroness Suttie Baroness Thomas of Winchester Lord Thomas of Gresford Viscount Thurso Lord Tope Baroness Tyler of Enfield

Lord Wallace of Saltaire Baroness Walmsley

**Crossbench Votes with the Government** 

Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood Viscount Colville of Culross Lord Dannatt Baroness Deech Lord Judge Earl Kinnoull

Lord Macpherson of Earl's Court Lord Sentamu Baroness Watkins of Tavistock

Lord Woolf

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Lord AberdareLord Alton of LiverpoolBaroness BoycottEarl ClancartyBaroness D'SouzaLord Hannay of ChiswickBaroness Hunt of Bethnal GreenLord Kerr of KinlochardLord Low of DalstonBaroness Masham of IltonBaroness O'LoanLord RamsbothamLord Russell of LiverpoolLord St John of BletsoBaroness Wheatcroft

**Bishop Votes with the Government** 

Other Votes with the Government

Bishop Votes against the Government

Lord Dodds of Duncairn Lord Faulks Lord Gadhia

Lord Rogan Lord Tyrie

Other Votes against the Government

Baroness Bennett of Manor Castle Baroness Blackstone Lord Desai

Baroness Jones of Moulsecoomb Baroness Kennedy of Cradley Lord Smith of Finsbury

Ref: 2581