Government Defeat in Lords on Licensing Act 2003 (Second Appointed Day) Order 2005 (Motion for Approval)

Monday 14/11/2005

On 14/11/2005 the government had a defeat in the House of Lords on an amendment to the Licensing Act 2003 (Second Appointed Day) Order 2005 (Motion for Approval): To ask the government to remove the order so that it may be considered instead on 30 June 2006 allowing more time to address the public's concerns about its effects (extended drinking hours).

This was defeat number 5 in the parliamentary session.

Breakdown of Votes	For Govt	Against Govt	Total	No vote
Conservative	0	83	83	124
Labour	97	1	98	112
Liberal Democrat	0	36	36	38
Crossbench	0	9	9	181
Bishops	0	0	0	25
Other	0	1	1	11
Total	97	130	227	491

Conservative Votes with the Government

Conservative Votes against the Government

Baroness Anelay of St Johns Viscount Astor Lord Blaker Viscount Bridgeman Lord Brougham and Vaux Baroness Buscombe Lord Campbell of Alloway Baroness Carnegy of Lour Lord Cope of Berkeley Lord Colwyn Lord De Mauley Lord Denham Earl Dundee Viscount Eccles **Baroness Elles Baroness Fookes** Baroness Gardner of Parkes Lord Freeman Lord Glentoran Lord Goodlad Lord Harris of Peckham Lord Hayhoe Baroness Hogg Farl Home Lord Howard of Rising Farl Howe Lord Hunt of Wirral Baroness James of Holland Park Lord Kingsland Lord Laing of Dunphail Earl Liverpool Lord Lucas Lord Lyell of Markyate Lord Lyell Lord Mayhew of Twysden Lord Mancroft Lord Montagu of Beaulieu Duke of Montrose

Lord Brooke of Sutton Mandeville Baroness Byford Lord Chadlington Earl Courtown Lord Dixon-Smith Lord Eden of Winton Lord Fowler Lord Garel-Jones Lord Hamilton of Epsom Lord Henley Baroness Hooper

Earl Attlee

Lord Lamont of Lerwick Lord Luke Lord MacLaurin of Knebworth Lord McColl of Dulwich Baroness Morris of Bolton

Lord Howell of Guildford

Lord Kimball

Lord Newton of Braintree Lord Norton of Louth Baroness Park of Monmouth

Lord Renton

Lord Sanderson of Bowden Lord Shaw of Northstead Lord Strathclyde Viscount Ullswater **Baroness Wilcox**

Baroness Noakes Earl Onslow Baroness Rawlings Lord Rotherwick Baroness Seccombe Lord Skelmersdale Viscount Trenchard Lord Waddington Lord Windlesham

Baroness Oppenheim-Barnes Lord Reay Lord Saatchi **Baroness Sharples**

Lord Stewartby Baroness Trumpington Lord Wakeham

Earl Northesk

Labour Votes with the Government

Baroness Adams of Craigielea

Baroness Andrews Lord Bassam of Brighton Lord Brookman

Lord Carter

Baroness Cohen of Pimlico **Baroness Crawley** Lord Desai

Lord Flder Baroness Farrington of Ribbleton Lord Foster of Bishop Auckland

Baroness Gale **Baroness Golding**

Baroness Gould of Potternewton Lord Harrison

Baroness Hayman Lord Hogg of Cumbernauld

Lord Hughes of Woodside Lord Janner of Braunstone

Baroness Kennedy of The Shaws

Lord MacKenzie of Culkein

Lord Maxton

Lord McKenzie of Luton

Lord Morgan Baroness Pitkeathley Lord Richard

Baroness Royall of Blaisdon Baroness Scotland of Asthal

Lord Soley Baroness Thornton Lord Truscott Lord Warner

Lord Woolmer of Leeds

Lord Adonis

Lord Archer of Sandwell

Lord Berkeley Lord Burlison Viscount Chandos

Lord Corbett of Castle Vale

Baroness David Lord Drayson

Lord Evans of Parkside Lord Faulkner of Worcester Lord Foulkes of Cumnock

Baroness Gibson of Market Rasen

Lord Goldsmith Lord Grocott Lord Hart of Chilton Baroness Henig Lord Howarth of Newport Lord Hunt of Kings Heath

Lord Jones Lord Kirkhill

Lord Mackenzie of Framwellgate

Baroness McDonagh Lord Merlyn-Rees

Baroness Morgan of Drefelin Baroness Prosser

Lord Robertson of Port Ellen Lord Sainsbury of Turville

Viscount Simon Lord Stratford Lord Tomlinson Lord Tunnicliffe

Baroness Warwick of Undercliffe

Baroness Amos

Baroness Ashton of Upholland

Lord Bilston

Lord Campbell-Savours Baroness Clark of Calton **Baroness Corston** Lord Davies of Oldham

Lord Dubs

Lord Evans of Temple Guiting

Lord Filkin

Lord Fyfe of Fairfield

Lord Giddens

Lord Gordon of Strathblane Lord Harris of Haringey

Lord Haworth

Baroness Hilton of Eggardon

Lord Hoyle Lord Irvine of Lairg Lord Jordan Lord Lea of Crondall

Baroness Massey of Darwen Baroness McIntosh of Hudnall

Lord Mitchell

Lord O'Neill of Clackmannan Baroness Rendell of Babergh

Lord Rosser Lord Sawyer Lord Snape

Baroness Taylor of Bolton

Lord Triesman Lord Turnberg Baroness Whitaker

Labour Votes against the Government

Lord Pendry

Liberal Democrat Votes with the Government

Liberal Democrat Votes against the Government

Lord Addington Lord Bradshaw

Baroness Falkner of Margravine

Lord Greaves

Lord Mackie of Benshie Lord McNally

Lord Avebury Lord Dholakia Lord Fearn Baroness Hamwee

Baroness Maddock Baroness Miller of Chilthorne Domer

Baroness Barker Viscount Falkland Lord Goodhart

Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope Earl Mar and Kellie

Lord Newby

Baroness Northover Lord Redesdale Lord Rodgers of Quarry Bank Lord Shutt of Greetland Baroness Thomas of Walliswood Lord Wallace of Saltaire Lord Oakeshott of Seagrove Bay Lord Rennard Baroness Scott of Needham Market Lord Smith of Clifton Lord Thomas of Gresford Baroness Walmsley Lord Phillips of Sudbury Lord Roberts of Llandudno Baroness Sharp of Guildford Lord Taverne Lord Tordoff Baroness Williams of Crosby

Crossbench Votes with the Government

Crossbench Votes against the Government

Viscount Craigavon
Baroness Howarth of Breckland
Baroness Masham of Ilton
Baroness D'Souza
Lord Laird
Lord Monson

Lord Greenway Earl Listowel Lord Walpole

Bishop Votes with the Government Bishop Votes against the Government

Other Votes with the Government

Other Votes against the Government Lord Pearson of Rannoch

Ref: 899