UCL Institute of Clinical Trials and Methodology


Athena SWAN at ICTM

Bronze Award

The Institute submitted its first Athena SWAN application in November 2015, and was awarded a Bronze Award in April 2016.

Our application included staff working for the Institute itself, as well as staff working for the Comprehensive Clinical Trials Unit at UCL (CCTU at UCL) and the MRC Clinical Trials Unit at UCL (MRC CTU at UCL). Our other two linked research departments, the PRIMENT Clinical Trials Unit and the Cancer Research UK and UCL Cancer Trials Centre, have already received Athena SWAN awards as part of other departments within UCL, and were therefore not included in the Institute’s application. 

As the Institute is made up of trials units we have a large number of staff working on clinical trials who are classed as professional services staff at UCL, but are themselves scientifically qualified and contribute significantly to the development of science within the clinical trials arena. This staff group makes up a large number of our staff and we felt strongly that they should be included in our application. We therefore asked the Equality Challenge Unit for special dispensation to include them in our application. We are the first institution at UCL to do so and we would be happy to support other research departments given the recent changes in Athena SWAN inclusion criteria.

Read the ICTM Athena SWAN Application

Self-Assessment Team

The ICTM Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team was formed in October 2014 under the leadership of Professor Kholoud Porter. SAT member selection was based on the need for diversity in gender, role function and experiences of previous equality issues. 

Current membership is as follows:

  • Norin Ahmed
  • James Blackstone
  • Carole Booth
  • Joanna Calvert
  • Leanne Hockey
  • Fleur Hudson
  • Gemma Jones
  • Tom Lazenby
  • Sharon Love
  • Beck Marong
  • Usha Menon
  • Aziza Mirza
  • Macey Murray
  • Freya Roberts
  • Almudena Sacristan Reviriego
  • Karen Scott
  • Katrina Stopinski
  • Nicholas Thomas
  • Anna Widdup

To get in touch with our Self-Assessment Team, please contact James Blackstone, EDI Team Chair.