UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health


Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health


Molecular and Cellular Immunology

The section of Molecular and Cellular Immunology at ICH researches into the molecular basis of primary immunodeficiency disorders, and other related haematopoietic disorders and is developing improved forms of treatment.  One such form of treatment is somatic gene therapy, which has become a reality with the initiation of clinical trials for three life-threatening primary immunodeficiency disorders.

Professor Persis Amrolia is Head and Dr Claire Booth is the Associate Head of the Section of Molecular and Cellular Immunology. Professor Adrian Thrasher is Head of the Programme of Infection, Immunity and Inflammation Medicine. The section comprises over 70 basic and clinical scientists, ranging from laboratory research assistants and graduate students to Consultant Immunologists and Professors.  All scientists work as part of a team and on one or more problem related to the theme of our research.

Adrian Thrasher's Research Group


  • Mr Marti Cabanes Creus
  • Dr Caroline Ferreira
  • Miss Natalie Izotova
  • Dr Jesmeen Maimaris
  • Dr Christine Rivat (GOSH)
  • Dr Lizzy Rivers
  • Dr Ana Catarina Santos
  • Miss Juilanne Schott
  • Dr Fang Zhang
Bobby Gaspar's Research Group


Professor Gaspar talks about the gene therapy programme at the UCL Great Ormond Street Institute of Child Health:


  • Miss Agnes Chan
  • Dr Giuseppa Piras
  • Mr Slawomir Wantuch
Persis Amrolia's Research Group


  • Dr Sarah Albon
  • Mr Joan Casanovas
  • Miss Angela Collura
  • Dr Aleks Guvenel
  • Dr Rachel Richardson
  • Ms Meera Subramaniyam
  • Dr Jenny Yeung
Waseem Qasim's Research Group


  • Mr Abraham Christi
  • Dr Reem Elfeky
  • Miss Aniekan (Annie) Etuk
  • Dr Christos Georgiadis
  • Dr Ralph Harper
  • Dr Nourredine Himoudi
  • Dr David Ho
  • Mr Gaetano Naso
  • Miss Lauren Nickolay
  • Dr Anastasia Petrova
  • Mr Roland Preece
  • Dr Jane Rasaiyaah
  • Dr Sameer Syed
  • Dr Hong Zhan
Claire Booth's Research Group


  • Dr Amairelys Barroeta Seijas
  • Dr Benjamin Houghton
  • Miss Neelam Panchal
  • Mr Diego Leon Rico
Giorgia Santilli's Research Group
  • Miss Andrea Schejtman
  • Dr Winston Vetharoy
  • Mrs Marta Zinicola
Sara Benedetti's Research Group
  • Dr Giuliana Giardino
Alessia Cavazza's Research Group
  • Dr Marianna Romito
  • Dr Rajeev Rai