UCL Cancer Institute


Professor Jonathan Ledermann elected to Academy of Medical Sciences Fellowship

9 May 2019

As one of 50 new Fellows, Professor Ledermann, joins a group of the UK’s leading figures within biomedical and health sciences who have been selected for their outstanding contributions to advancing medical science.

Professor Jonathan Ledermann

Professor Jonathan Ledermann, Professor of Medical Oncology, Director of the Cancer Research UK & UCL Cancer Trials Centre (UCL CTC) and Clinical Director of the UCL Cancer Institute, specialises in the treatment of gynaecological cancers. His research is directed at improving the treatment of ovarian, endometrial and cervical cancers. He has developed and led several practice-changing national and international clinical trials in gynaecological cancers, and has had a major international role in the development of PARP inhibitors to treat ovarian cancer

Six UCL academics join Professor Ledermann as new AMS Fellows: 

  • Professor Judith Breuer (UCL Infection & Immunity), Professor of Virology and Co-director of the UCL Division of Infection and Immunity. 
  • Professor Robert Brownstone (UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology), Brain Research Trust Chair of Neurosurgery at UCL. 
  • Professor Michael Hanna (UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology), Professor of Clinical Neurology and Director of the UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology. 
  • Professor Harry Hemingway, (UCL Institute of Health Informatics), Professor of Clinical Epidemiology. 
  • Professor Chris Mason (UCL Biochemical Engineering), Professor of Cell and Gene Therapy. 
  • Dr James Briscoe (UCL Cell & Developmental Biology), also Group Leader at the Francis Crick Institute. 

“I feel honoured that my work has been recognised by this prestigious Academy and that I have been elected as a Fellow,” said Professor Ledermann.

Professor David Lomas, UCL Vice Provost (Health), said: “I am delighted that so many principal investigators from UCL have been elected as Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences. It is a great achievement and well deserved recognition for many years of high-quality research.”

Professor Sir Robert Lechler, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences, said: “The Academy’s Fellowship is a unique assembly of the finest minds in biomedical and health research, from across the UK and beyond.

“Our Fellows are at the centre of all that we do, from supporting early career researchers via our hugely popular mentorship programme to incorporating public and patient views into health research. Their collective wisdom is a national asset to guide research and policy aimed at tackling pressing health challenges.

“It brings me great pleasure to congratulate the new Fellows, each of whom has pushed the boundaries of their individual research field. I am always delighted to see the Fellowship expand, adding fresh talent to our invaluable pool of high quality guidance, advice and expertise.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 26 June 2019.

Further information