Brain Sciences


Faculty staff receive UCL Arena Fellowships

18 February 2021

Twelve faculty staff were recognised by the UCL Arena Centre for Research-Based Education, receiving Arena Fellowship awards for their outstanding teaching and learning contribution they have made to our community.

UCL Portico

The awards celebrate the achievements of experienced staff through the opportunity to gain both a UCL Arena Fellowship and the corresponding HEA Fellowship in one of four categories: Associate Fellowship, Fellowship, Senior Fellowship, and Principal Fellowship.

From the UCL Arena Fellowship panels in January 2021 the following Brain Sciences Faculty staff were successful:

Associate Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (AFHEA)

  • Sonia Codreanu (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)
  • Sannah Gulamani (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)
  • Sandra Halim (Institute of Ophthalmology)
  • Tori Kok (The Ear Institute)
  • Temitayo Olugbade (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)
  • Sophie Renaudineau (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)
  • Rachel Royston (Division of Psychiatry)

Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA)

  • Florian Breit (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)
  • Ciaran O’Driscoll (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)
  • Katherine Sherratt (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)

Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (SFHEA)

  • Rashmi Mathew (Institute of Ophthalmology)

Principal Fellowship of the Higher Education Academy (PFHEA)

  • David Shanks (Division of Psychology & Language Sciences)

UCL Arena runs four award panels throughout the academic year and has a large number of applicants from across UCL at all levels of fellowship.

Professor David Shanks, Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Brain Sciences, said: “I’m delighted that so many Faculty staff have been recognised in the latest round of Higher Education Academy awards and offer my warmest congratulations to all new Fellows. Their commitment is an inspiration to others and exemplifies the importance the Faculty places on providing an outstanding education to our students.”