Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology


Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology


NPP facilities

The Research Department of Neuroscience, Physiology and Pharmacology forms part of the Division of Biosciences, within the Faculty of Life Sciences.

The Department is located at UCL’s Bloomsbury Campus on Gower Street and its remit is to pursue world-class research in the neurosciences and to deliver the highest quality teaching to both undergraduates and postgraduates studying basic and clinical sciences.

Our research in Neuroscience is organized mainly into two major research groups: Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience, and Systems Neuroscience and Behaviour.

NPP facilities

In Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience, we have a long outstanding history of research into neurotransmitter receptors, ion channels and synaptic transmission based on the seminal contributions from Katz, Miledi, Fatt, Huxley, Clark, Gaddum, Schild and Black, and many others, who have been part of our Department.
In our current research programmes, the Department is a world leader in studies of ligand-gated and voltage-gated ion channels, and G-protein-coupled receptors and associated signaling pathways. We place a major emphasis on studying the properties of receptors and channels from structural and functional perspectives, including their role in synaptic transmission during healthy and diseased states.

NPP facilities

In Systems Neuroscience and Behaviour, we utilize a panoply of techniques (eg, opto- and chemical genetics, physiology and genetics), to explore the properties of neural networks and how these influence behavioural phenotypes.
As an integral part of our research, the Department coordinates the Wellcome Trust Pain Consortium (with KCL, Imperial and Oxford) that involves several groups studying pain in both basic and clinical research settings. We have strong links to the Sainsbury-Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour, and we form a key part of UCL’s Neuroscience Research Domain that covers all basic and clinical neuroscience research.
See individual Staff pages for specific details of our research programmes.