XClose

Institute of Healthy Ageing

Home
Menu

Partridge Lab

The aim of our research is to discover genes and mechanisms that determine the rate of ageing. We collaborate with other laboratories to determine if these processes show evolutionary conservation. Most of our work is conducted with the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster.

Our work focuses particularly on the insulin/IGF-like signalling pathway, dietary restriction and resistance to stress. We are interested also in the physiological mechanisms that force organisms to make trade-offs, such as that between high nutrient intake and high reproductive rate, on one hand and slow ageing on the other.

Linda Partridge

Linda Partridge

Professor Dame Linda Partridge works on the biology of ageing. Her research is directed to understanding both how the rate of ageing evolves in nature and the mechanisms by which healthy lifespan can be extended in laboratory model organisms. Her work has focussed in particular on the role of nutrient-sensing pathways, such as the insulin/insulin-like growth factor signalling pathway, and on dietary restriction.

She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Royal Society’s Croonian Prize Lecture, and was honoured with a DBE for Services to Science in 2009. She is a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Academy of Medical Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. She is Director of the Institute of Healthy Ageing at University College London and the founding director of the Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing in Cologne, Germany.

For general enquiries please contact Michael Wright (IHA Executive Officer) or call 020 7679 4380.
For lab enquiries please contact Giovanna Vinti (IHA Lab Manager)

Name

Job title

Email address

Mumtaz Ahmad Media Preparation technician
mumtaz.ahmad@ucl.ac.uk
Magda Atilano
Post-doctoral researcher
m.atilano@ucl.ac.uk
James Catterson
Post-doctoral researcher j.catterson@ucl.ac.uk
Miranda Dyson
Research technician m.dyson@ucl.ac.uk
Helen Fraser
Clinical PhD student helen.fraser.14@ucl.ac.uk
Matias Fuentealba
PhD student matias.valenzuela.16@ucl.ac.uk
Lucy Minkley
Research technician lucy.minkley.16@ucl.ac.uk
Thomas Moens
PhD student t.moens.12@ucl.ac.uk
Arj Rajasingam
Research technician a.rajasingam@ucl.ac.uk
Teresa Niccoli
Post-doctoral researcher t.niccoli@ucl.ac.uk
Enric Ureña
Post-doctoral researcher e.sala@ucl.ac.uk
Giovanna Vinti
Laboratory Manager g.vinti@ucl.ac.uk
Nathan Woodling
Post-doctoral researcher n.woodling@ucl.ac.uk
Michael Wright
Executive Officer michael.wright@ucl.ac.uk
Linda Partridge Lab