XClose

UCL Division of Biosciences

Home
Menu

People

Head of Research Department: Professor Barbara Conradt
Executive Officer: Marilyn Bryan

Academic Staff

Academic Research Staff in CDB and associated departments and centres

Staff MemberEmailResearch Interests
Dr Marc Amoyel
Senior Research Fellow
marc.amoyel@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Tim R Arnett
Professor of Mineralised Tissue Biology
t.arnett@ucl.ac.uk'Fundamental' regulators of the function of osteoclasts (bone destroying cells) and osteoblasts (bone forming cells).
Dr Gerold Baier
Senior Research Associate
g.baier@ucl.ac.ukDynamics of Disease, especially pathological brain rhythms in humans.
Dr Chris Barnes
Reader in Systems and Synthetic Biology
christopher.barnes@ucl.ac.ukModelling mutational processes in the genome/
Reverse engineering of signalling systems/
Design of synthetic biological systems for therapeutic applications.
Dr Arantza Barrios
Lecturer
a.barrios@ucl.ac.ukMolecular and cellular mechanisms of decision-making circuits in C. elegans.
Dr Caswell Barry
Principal Research Associate
caswell.barry@ucl.ac.ukWhy do place cells respond where and when they do? What factors contribute to a notion of context? What can architecture of the hippocampus tell us about its function?
Dr Guillaume Charras
Professor in Cell and Tissue Biophysics
g.charras@ucl.ac.ukBiophysics of living cells both at the single cell and tissue level.
Dr Jonathan Chubb
Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow
j.chubb@ucl.ac.ukImaging transcriptional dynamics.
Professor Barbara Conradt
Head of Department
b.conradt@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Leslie Dale
Professor of Developmental Biology
l.dale@ucl.ac.ukHow the embryo of the frog Xenopus laevis develops from a fertilized egg into a swimming tadpole.
Professor Stephen W Davies
Professorial Teaching Fellow
s.w.davies@ucl.ac.ukUltrastructural and molecular organisation of the neuronal nucleus.
Professor M Christopher Dean
Professorial Research Associate
chris.dean@ucl.ac.ukEvolutionary anatomy of primate tooth tissues: Where, when and why modern humans evolved an extended ~20 year period of growth and development.
Professor Michael Duchen
Professor of Physiology
m.duchen@ucl.ac.ukMitochondrial biology in health and disease; mitochondrial pathways as therapeutic targets in neurodegenerative diseases and in ischaemic injury.
Professor Susan E Evans
Professor of Vertebrate Morphology and Palaeontology
s.e.evans@ucl.ac.ukEvolution of key morphological features in reptiles and amphibians.
Dr Ryan Felice
Lecturer in Human Anatomy
ryan.felice@ucl.ac.uk 
Dr Vil Fernandes
Sir Henry Dale Research Fellow
vilaiwan.fernandes@ucl.ac.uk 
Dr Anna Franz
Sir Henry Dale 
Research Fellow
a.franz@ucl.ac.ukFunctional genetics and model systems.
Dr Sandrine Geranton
Lecturer
sandrine.geranton@ucl.ac.ukEpigenetic regulation of chronic pain states.
Dr Alice Giustacchini
UCL Excellence Fellow
a.giustacchini@ucl.ac.ukStem cells heterogeneity in normal and malignant hematopoiesis
Professor Stephen P Hunt
Professor of Molecular Neurobiology
hunt@ucl.ac.ukMolecular Neuroscience of Pain, Addiction and Affective Disorders.
Dr Ricardo Henriques
Senior Lecturer: Advanced Imaging and Super- Resolution Microscopy
r.henriques@ucl.ac.ukExperimental technology to study biological processes that fall outside of the resolving power of conventional cell biology studies.
Professor David Ish-Horowicz
Professorial Research Associate
d.ish-horowicz@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Kristjan R Jessen
Professor of Developmental Neurobiology
k.jessen@ucl.ac.ukSchwann cell biology, in particular the role of Schwann cells in nerve disease, injury and regeneration.
Professor Roberto Mayor
Professor of Developmental & Cellular Neurobiology
r.mayor@ucl.ac.ukThe mechanism that underlies the development of the Neural Crest.
Professor Rhona Mirsky
Principle Research Associate
r.mirsky@ucl.ac.ukSchwann cell biology, in particular the role of Schwann cells in nerve disease, injury and regeneration.
Professor John M O'Keefe
Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience
j.okeefe@ucl.ac.ukSpace and memory.
Professor John G Parnavelas
Professorial Research Associate
Emeritus Professor of Neuroanatomy
j.parnavelas@ucl.ac.ukCortical Interneuron Migration.
Professor Sandip Patel
Professor in Cell Signalling
patel.s@ucl.ac.ukCa2+ signalling through acidic organelles.
Dr Richard Poole
Principal Research Associate
r.poole@ucl.ac.ukRegulatory logic of early neural specification and left-right asymmetric neurogenesis in C. elegans.
Dr Laura Porro
Lecturer in Topographical Anatomy
l.porro@ucl.ac.ukAnatomy and biomechanics of living and fossil animals.
Professor Stephen R Price
Professor of Developmental Neurobiology
stephen.price@ucl.ac.ukHow specificity is imparted to the formation of neuronal assemblies in the developing central nervous system.
Dr Sabine Reichert
Sir Henry Wellcome Post Doctoral Fellow
sabine.reichert.09@ucl.ac.ukSleep homeostasis.
Dr Jason Rihel
Reader in Behavioral Genetics
Rihel lab website
j.rihel@ucl.ac.ukGenes and neuronal circuits that regulate sleep in zebrafish.
Professor Patricia C Salinas
Professor of Cellular Neurobiology
p.salinas@ucl.ac.ukMolecular mechanisms that regulate synapse formation, maintenance and function in the vertebrate nervous system.
Professor Claudio D Stern
J Z Young Chair of Anatomy
c.stern@ucl.ac.ukCell diversity and pattern in the early embryo.
Professor Gyorgy Szabadkai
Professor of Physiology
g.szabadkai@ucl.ac.ukMitochondria in cellular stress responses in major pathologies such as neurodegenerative disease and cancer.
Dr Masa Tada
Reader in Developmental and Cellular Biology
m.tada@ucl.ac.ukCellular and molecular mechanisms underlying co-ordinated and directed cell movements.
Dr Francesco Saverio Tedesco
Principal Research Associate
f.s.tedesco@ucl.ac.ukStem cells and tissue repair.
Professor Geraint Thomas
Professor of Biochemistry
g.thomas@ucl.ac.ukBiochemical and molecular biological approaches to cell biology /cancer diagnostics through Raman microscopic/spectrscopic chemical imaging of tissues and subsequent computational analysis.
Professor David Whitmore
Professor of Chronobiology
d.whitmore@ucl.ac.ukCircadian clocks.
Dr Thomas Wills
Lecturer in the Development of Learning and Memory Processes
t.wills@ucl.ac.ukHippocampus and Spatial Maps.
Professor Stephen W Wilson
Professor of Developmental Biology
s.wilson@ucl.ac.ukZebrafish: the mechanisms that underlie patterning of the vertebrate forebrain.
Dr Hasan Yardimici
Principal Research Associate
h.yardimici@ucl.ac.uk 
Dr Yoshiyuki Yamamoto
Senior Lecturer
yoshiyuki.yamamoto@ucl.ac.ukMolecular mechanisms underlying the generation of morphological novelties during evolution.
Professor Semir Zeki
Professor of Neuroaesthetics
s.zeki@ucl.ac.ukHow the visual brain is organised.
Teaching Fellows
Staff MemberEmailResearch Interests
Dr Greg Campbell
Principal Teaching Fellow
g.campbell@ucl.ac.uk 
Dr Jeremy E Cook
Principal Teaching Fellow
j.cook@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Stephen W Davies
Principal Teaching Fellow
s.w.davies@ucl.ac.ukUltrastructural and molecular organisation of the neuronal nucleus.
Dr Philip Lewis
Teaching Fellow
philip.lewis@ucl.ac.uke-Learning and its application in teaching interdisciplinary skills to biology researchers.

Dr Sandra Martelli
Senior Teaching Fellow

s.martelli@ucl.ac.ukThe postnatal ontogeny of evolutionary focused areas of human and hominoid anatomy (vertebral column and thorax and pharynx complex and the cranial base) – comparative and evolutionary approaches.
Affiliate Staff
Staff MemberEmailResearch Interests
Dr Joerg Albert
Affiliated Reader in Sensory Neuroscience
joerg.albert@ucl.ac.ukAntennal ears of the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster.
Dr Siew-Lan Ang
Honorary Reader
sang@nimr.mrc.ac.uk 
Dr Benjamin (Buzz) Baum
Reader in Developmental & Cancer Cell Biology
b.baum@ucl.ac.ukBiophysics of cell division and cancer cell division.
Dr James Briscoe
Honorary Professor
james.briscoe@nimr.mrc.ac.uk 
Dr Paul Burgoyne
Honorary Reader
pburgoy@nimr.mrc.ac.uk 
Dr Kara Cerveny
Honorary Lecturer
  
Dr Jonathan Gale
Reader in Auditory Cell Biology    
j.e.gale@ucl.ac.ukRepair and regeneration of the inner ear.
Dr Alexander Gould
Honorary Professor of UCL
agould@nimr.mrc.ac.ukPhysiology and Metabolism.
Dr Anjali Goswami
Lecturer in Palaeobiology
a.goswami@ucl.ac.ukVertebrate Palaeobiology, Evolution and Development.
Dr Francois Guillemot
Honorary Reader
fguille@nimr.mrc.ac.uk 
Professor Maria Fitzgerald
Professor of Developmental Neurobiology
m.fitzgerald@ucl.ac.ukPain mechanisms in neonates.
Dr Monica Folgueira
Honorary Lecturer
m.folgueria@ucl.ac.uk 
Dr Nicoletta Kessaris
Group Leader, MRC New Investigator
n.tekki-kessaris@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Alison Lloyd
Professor of Cell Biology
alison.lloyd@ucl.ac.uk 
Dr Robin Lovell-Badge
Honorary Professor
rlovell@nimr.mrc.ac.uk 
Professor Mark Marsh
Director LMCB
m.marsh@ucl.ac.uk 
Dr Timothy Mohun
Honorary Professor
tmohun@nimr.mrc.ac.uk 
Dr Paola Oliveri
Senior Lecturer
p.oliveri@ucl.ac.ukAnimal Evolutionary biology.
Dr Isabel Orriss
Career Development Fellow
i.orriss@ucl.ac.ukBone growth and turnover result from the co-ordinated activities of osteoblasts (bone forming cells) and osteoclasts (bone destroying cells).
Emeritus Staff
Staff MemberEmailResearch Interests
Professor Patrick N Anderson
Emeritus Professor
Principal Teaching Fellow
p.anderson@ucl.ac.ukRegeneration in the injured mammalian brain and spinal cord.
Professor Ruth Bellairs
Emeritus Professor of Embryology
r.bellairs@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Geoff Burnstock
Emeritus Professor of Anatomy
g.burnstock.ucl.ac.ukPurinergic signalling.
Professor Giorgio Gabella
Emeritus Professor of Histology and Cytology
g.gabella@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor A Robert Lieberman
Emeritus Professor
a.lieberman@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Martin Raff
Emeritus Professor of Biology
m.raff@ucl.ac.ukNeurodevelopment and autism spectrum disorders.
Dr John Scholes
Honorary Lecturer
j.scholes@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Gerta Vrbová
Emeritus Professor of Developmental Neuroscience
g.vrbova@ucl.ac.uk 
Professor Lewis Wolpert
Emeritus Professor of Biology as Applied to Medicine
l.wolpert@ucl.ac.uk 
Technical Staff
Staff MemberLocationEmail
Dr Bill AndrewsAnatomy/Rockefellerw.andrews@ucl.ac.uk 
Doreen Bailey doreen.bailey@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Anukampa Barth a.barth@ucl.ac.uk
Paul BarwoodAnatomyp.barwood@ucl.ac.uk
Wendy BirchRockefellerw.birch@ucl.ac.uk
Heather CallawayAnatomyh.callaway@ucl.ac.uk
Daniel CiantarRockefellerd.ciantar@ucl.ac.uk
Laurence ClarkeRockefellerlaurence.clarke@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Nidia De Oliveira n.oliveira@ucl.ac.uk
Karen DunfordAnatomyk.dunford@ucl.ac.uk
David Elliott d.elliot@ucl.ac.uk
Sumi Lim sumi.lim@ucl.ac.uk
Stuart MartinHuxleystuart.martin@ucl.ac.uk
Oakley Morgan oakley.morgan.12@ucl.ac.uk
Klaire Neale k.neale@ucl.ac.uk
Jane PendjikyRockefellera.pendjiky@ucl.ac.uk
Marina PodpolnyLMCBm.teter@ucl.ac.uk
Saman RanasingheMedical Sciencessam.ranasinghe@ucl.ac.uk
Tim RobsonRockefellert.robson@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Christopher ThrasivoulouRockefellerc.thrasivoulou@ucl.ac.uk
Lisa TuckerWolfson Houselisa.tucker@ucl.ac.uk
Mark TurmaineAnatomym.turmaine@ucl.ac.uk
Matthew WicksAnatomym.wicks@ucl.ac.uk
Carole WilsonAnatomycarole.wilson@ucl.ac.uk