UCL Department of Biochemical Engineering



Academic, teaching visiting staff in UCL Biochemical Engineering listed alphabetically with IRIS links and main departmental roles

 Name and link to IRIS profile with contact detailsMain role at UCL Biochemical Engineering

Frank Baganz

Associate Professor in Fermentation and Cell Culture

  • Chair, Doctoral Committee
  • Postgraduate Exams Liaison Officer

Sunny Bains

Principal Teaching Fellow

  • Technical Communication Lead
  • Strategic Thinking in Engineering and Technology Minor Co-ordinator
  • Editorial Director, Engineering Inspiration 
  • Chair, Athena SWAN Committee

Daniel Bracewell

Professor of Bioprocess Analysis

  • Admissions Tutor, Postgraduate Research
  • Director, Pall Centre of Excellence
  • Postgraduate Research Experience Survey (PRES) Lead

Paul Dalby

Professor of Biochemical Engineering and Biotechnology

  • Deputy Head (Research)
  • Director, EPSRC CDT in Emergent Macromolecular Therapies
  • Chair, Research Committee
  • Co-Director, EPSRC Future Targeted Healthcare Manufacturing Hub

Duygu Dikicioglu

Associate Professor in Biochemical Engineering and Digital Bioprocess Engineering


Suzanne Farid

Professor of Bioprocess Systems Engineering

  • Deputy Head (Education)
  • Director, AstraZeneca Centre of Excellence
  • Co-Director, EPSRC Future Targeted Healthcare Manufacturing Hub

Stefanie Frank

Lecturer in Synthetic Biology

  • Study Abroad and Affiliate Tutor
  • iGEM Co-ordinator
  • Programme Director, MEng Biochemical Engineering with Study Abroad

Naveraj Gill

Strategic Alliance Director

  • Deputy Head (Enterprise)
  • Director, MBI and VISION Programmes
  • Chair, Strategic Advisory Board
  • Postgraduate Admissions (Part-Time)

Stephen Goldrick

Lecturer in Biochemical Engineering 

  • Undergraduate Exams Liaison Officer

Kenth Gustafsson

Associate Professor in Cell and Gene Therapy

  • Chair, Extenuating Circumstances Panel
  • Genetic Modification Safety Officer
  • Programme Director, BSc Bioprocessing of New Medicines (Science and Engineering)

Mohammed Jaffar

Senior Teaching Fellow (Digital Technologies)

  • Online Learning Co-Ordinator

Michael Hoare

Professor of Biochemical Engineering

  • Academic Board Representative

Eli Keshavarz Moore

Professor of Bioprocess Science and Enterprise

  • Vice-Dean (International)
  • Chair, Undergraduate Exam Board
  • Programme Director, MEng Biochemical Engineering and Bioprocess Management
  • Programme Director, MEng with Year in Industry
  • Programme Director, BSc Bioprocessing of New Medicines (Business and Management)

Alexandros Kiparissides

Lecturer in Metabolic and Bioprocess Modelling

  • Programme Director, Biochemical Engineering MSc
  • Admissions Tutor, Biochemical Engineering MSc
  • PGT ASER and PTES Lead

Gary Lye

Professor of Biochemical Engineering

  • Head of Department
  • Director, EPSRC CDT in Bioprocessing Engineering Leadership
  • Co-Director EPSRC Future Biomanufacturing Research Hub
  • Chair, Finance Committee
  • Chair, Staff Committee

Rana Khalife

Teaching Fellow

  • Regenerative Medicine Minor Co-ordinator

Marco Marques

Lecturer in Biochemical Engineering

  • Chair, UG Staff-Student Consultative Committee

Chris Mason

Professor of Regenerative Medicine Bioprocessing


Martina Micheletti

Professor of Bioprocess Fluid Mechanics

  • Undergraduate Tutor
  • Director, EPSRC Future Vaccine Manufacturing Hub
  • Undergraduate Mental Health First Aid
  • National Student Survey (NSS) Lead

Darren N. Nesbeth

Associate Professor in Synthetic Biology

  • Programme Director, MRes Synthetic Biology
  • Admissions Tutor, MRes Synthetic Biology
  • Faculty Lead: Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Student Attainment
  • Radiation Safety Officer

Samir Nuseibeh

Senior Teaching Fellow

  • Medical Science and Engineering Programme Co-ordinator
  • E-Learning Champion

Mauryn Chika Nweke

Senior Teaching Fellow

  • Integrated Engineering Programme (IEP) Teaching Co-ordinator
  • Careers Liaison Officer

Brenda Parker

Lecturer in Biochemical Engineering

  • Admissions Tutor, Undergraduate
  • Programme Director, MSc BioIntegrated Design

Vasos Pavlika

Principal Teaching Fellow

  • Maths Minor Co-ordinator

Qasim Rafiq

Associate Professor in Bioprocessing of Regenerative, Cellular and Gene Therapy

  • Programme Director, Commercialisation and Manufacture of Cell and Gene Therapies MSc
  • Admissions Tutor, Commercialisation and Manufacture of Cell and Gene Therapies MSc
  • Chair, Safety Committee
  • Undergraduate Outreach Officer

Andrea Rayat

Lecturer in Bioseparations (Downstream Processing)

  • Chair, Departmental Teaching Committee
  • Programme Director, BEng and MEng Biochemical Engineering
  • Undergraduate Annual Student Experience Review (ASER) Lead

Nicolas Szita

Professor of Bioprocess Microfluidics

  • Postgraduate Tutor
  • Chair, Postgraduate Exam Board
  • Postgraduate Mental Health First Aid

Nigel Titchener-Hooker

Professor of Biochemical Engineering

  • Dean, Faculty of Engineering Sciences
  • Director, EPSRC Future Targeted Healthcare Manufacturing Hub

Michael Thomas

Lecturer in Bionanotechnology and Biochemical Engineering

  • Chair, PG Staff-Student Consultative Committee

Vaughan Thomas

RAEng Visiting Professor


Ajoy Velayudhan

Professor of Bioprocess Engineering and Bioprocess Modelling

  • Chair, Recruitment Committee

John Ward

Professor of Synthetic Biology for Bioprocessing

  • Chair, UCL Genetic Manipulation Committee

Yuhong Zhou

Principal Teaching Fellow

  • Teaching Fellow Manager
  • Timetabling Co-ordinator
  • Space Co-ordinator
  • Research Associate Training Manager

Visiting academics

NameMain role at UCL Biochemical Engineering

Barry Buckland

Visiting Professor

Mark Carver

Visiting Professor

Richard Francis

Honorary Lecturer

Julian Hanak

Honorary Lecturer

Oliver Hardick

Honorary Lecturer

Volker Hass

Visiting Professor

Thomas Heathman

Honorary Lecturer

Shahin Heshmatifar 

Honorary Lecturer

Nigel Jackson

Honorary Lecturer

Jasmin Kee

Honorary Lecturer

Julie Kerby

Honorary Lecturer

Sven Kili

Honorary Lecturer

Nicholas Medcalf

Visiting Professor

James Miskin

Honorary Lecturer

Angela Osborne

Honorary Lecturer