Centre for Behaviour Change


About The Centre

The Centre for Behaviour Change is a unique initiative, harnessing the breadth and depth of academic expertise in behaviour change at UCL to address key challenges facing society. We aim to become a leading and world-renowned centre for expertise in behaviour change.

Behaviour change is increasingly recognised as central to human well-being, social cohesion and sustainability. Changing behaviour is a challenging and complex process, requiring theories, methods and evidence from many academic disciplines.

To develop expertise and bring that to the widest possible audience, across the public, commercial and charity sectors, we:

  • Host cross-disciplinary events addressing topical social and methodological issues
  • Provide evidence based consultancy
  • Deliver effective training and teaching
  • Build communities to facilitate the engagement of policy-makers, practitioners and researchers with expertise at UCL
  • Engage in cutting-edge cross-disciplinary research

Professor Susan Michie is the Director of the UCL Centre for Behaviour Change, and Dr Paul Chadwick is the Deputy Director of the Centre. Our core team is supported by a cross-disciplinary Executive Committee and an Advisory Board that covers key areas of engagement within and external to UCL. To view the members of both the Executive Committee and Advisory Board, please click on the accordian below.

CBC Advisory Board

Provide high-level strategic advice and input into the development of the CBC

Faculty of Brain Science

Professor Alan Thompson: Dean and Professor of Clinical Neurology and Neurorehabilitation

Professor Peter Fonagy: Head of the Division of Psychology and Language Sciences
Head of Department, Clinical, Edu & Hlth Psychology

Faculty of Engineering Sciences

Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker: Dean of Faculty of Engineering Sciences

Professor Anthony Finkelstein: Professor of Software Systems Engineering

Professor Yvonne Rogers: Chair of Interaction Design Director of UCL Interaction Centre, Deputy Head of Department of Computer Science

Professor Nick Tyler: Head of Dept. of Civil and Environmental Engineering

Professor Jeremy Watson: Vice-Dean (Mission) and Professor of Engineering Systems

Faculty of Laws

Professor Richard Moorhead: Vide-Dean (Research), Professor of Law and Professional Ethics

Faculty of Maths & Physical Sciences

Professor Chris Rapley: Professor of Climate Science

Faculty of Medical Sciences

Professor Mark Emberton: Dean, Professor of Interventional Oncology,

Faculty of Population Health Sciences

Professor Graham Hart: Dean of the Faculty of Population Health Sciences and Professor of Sexual Health and HIV Research

Dr Fiona Adshead: Honorary Professor in the Institute of Epidemiology and Health

Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences

Professor Sasha Roseneil: Dean of the Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences

Professor Andrew Chesher: Professor of Economics

Office of the UCL Vice-Provost for Research

Professor David Price (chair): Vice Provost for Research and Professor of Mineral Physics

Dr Ian Scott: Director of Grand Challenges & Cross-Disciplinary Development


Professor Marie Johnston: Professor Emeritus of Health Psychology at the University of Aberdeen.

Professor Mike Kelly: Senior Visiting Fellow at the Department of Public Health and Primary Care, University of Cambridge.


CBC Executive Committee

Responsible for operational guidance and thematic leadership of the CBC

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Dr Jakob Stougaard-Nielsen: Senior Lecturer in Scandinavian Literature        
Dr James Wilson: Senior Lecturer, Department of Philosophy, Vice-Dean (Interdisciplinarity) for the Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Faculty of Brain Sciences

Professor Helene Joffe: Professor of Psychology
Dr. Caroline Selai: Senior Lecturer, Institute of Neurology
Professor David Tuckett: Professor and Director of the Centre for the Study of Decision-Making Uncertainty       

Faculty of Engineering Science

Professor Ann Blandford: Professor of Human Computer Interaction, Dept of Computer Science        

Faculty of the Built Environment

Dr. Michelle Shipworth: Lecturer in Bartlett School Env, Energy & Resources
Dr. Marcella Ucci: Senior Lecturer, Bartlett School Env, Energy & Resources

Faculty of Life Sciences

Professor Rob Horne: Professor of Behavioural Medicine, Director of the Centre for Behavioural Medicine      

Faculty of Population Health Sciences

Dr Henry Potts: Centre for Health Informatics and Multi-professional Education (CHIME), Institute of Health Informatics       

Faculty of Social and Historical Sciences

Professor Muki Haklay: Professor of Geographical Information Science;

Institute of Education

Professor James Thomas: Professor of Social Research and Policy       

Office of the Vice Provost

Dr Sarah Chaytor (for Dr Olivia Stevenson): Director of Research Strategy & Policy, and Joint Chief of Staff
Michael Reade: Strategic Coordinator, Collaborative Social Science Domain

Ex Officio Members

Office of the Vice Provost

Helen Hopkins: ODA Strategic Research Facilitator        
Dr Sinead Kennedy: Director of Research Coordination and Planning

Research Facilitators

School of Life and Medical Sciences

Dr Gemma Bilsborough: Strategic Research Facilitator       

Office of the Vice Provost

Henriette Bruun: Director of Research Facilitation, Coordination & Planning, SLASH & IOE        
Jacob Leveridge: Deputy Director of Research Facilitation, SLASH & IOE
Dr. Jacob Sweiry: Principal School Research Facilitator, SLMS

For more information on the UCL Centre for Behaviour change - including the team, contact details and ethical principles - please click on the links below.

Privacy and GDPR

The Centre for Behaviour Change acts in accordance with UCL's policies regarding privacy and data security. For more information please refer to UCL's privacy policy.