The Bartlett School of Planning



The Bartlett School of Planning is one of the oldest and most respected Schools of planning in the world.

In 2014, we celebrated our centenary and as we pass this historic milestone, we’re larger, more diverse and more active and in a stronger position than ever before to address the planning challenges of the future.

During our history, many of the world’s most notable academics in planning have worked with us, including Sir Patrick Abercrombie, Ruth Glass, Lord William Holford, Nat Lichfield, Lord Richard Llewelyn-Davies, Mike Batty and Sir Peter Hall.

Today, our professors are some of the leading figures in their fields, including:

    •    Matthew Carmona (urban design)
    •    Nick Gallent (housing)
    •    Michael Hebbert (planning history and urban design)
    •    Harry Dimitriou (transport 'mega-projects')
    •    Nick Phelps (economic development)
    •    Mike Raco (urban regeneration)
    •    Yvonne Rydin (environmental sustainability)
    •    John Tomaney (local and regional economic development)
    •    Fulong Wu (China urbanisation)

Today, our international and interdisciplinary staff and student body are evidence of the distinctive reputation UCL and the Bartlett School of Planning have gained worldwide.