XClose

UCL Institute for Environmental Design and Engineering

Home
Menu

Policy and Implementation for Climate & Health Equity (PAICE)

Our research addresses the complex interlinkages between cities, urban climate, climate change, health and sustainability.

City sunset with a fountain

This theme researches the potential impacts of climate change on health, considering the UN’s sustainable development goals and various climate change mitigation and adaptation pathways. The impacts of climate change pose a threat to human health in cities. This is a key concern as urban populations continue to rise, particularly in developing countries. Limiting global temperature rise to 2 °C is seen as critical in terms of limiting the damaging consequences of climate change with extreme weather events such as flooding, droughts and heatwaves expected to become more frequent. We aim to quantify urban environment risks and investigate adaptation measures which reduce health risks and inequalities. Transdisciplinary research involving various stakeholders is required to maximise the societal benefits of tackling climate change.  

Jump to: Project areas | PAICE team

Project areas


Envisioning and developing shared priorities

Image of sunlight coming through buildings in New York City
Co-produce a programme theory, with representatives from CCC and GLA, to address the shared objectives and goals of climate change mitigation and health policies.

Policy inventory, co-design and systems analysis

Climate change, health and wellbeing
Develop a detailed inventory, including descriptions and interactions, of current and planned policies/policy objectives for Net Zero which have substantial health effects (for housing, energy, food and transport sectors). Undertake participatory review and co-design of key policy actions using system dynamics and behavioural analysis to identify enablers of and barriers to implementation.

Modelling

Urban climate modelling
Build models of the UK’s population to assess the cross-sector impact of policies on population health, health inequalities and GHG reductions across the energy, housing, transport and food sectors.

Monitoring and refinement

Image of sunlight coming through buildings in New York City
Work with CCC to enhance their new monitoring framework to integrate the impact of cross-sectoral policies on GHG emissions and health and to track progress. Iteratively propose needed adjustments and additions to policies to deliver objectives to agreed trajectories of change.

 


Evaluation

Image of sunlight coming through buildings in New York City
Evaluate the value of the PAICE programme in delivering transdisciplinary systems research and guiding policy formulation and implementation. Share the findings and lessons learned among G7 partners.

 

 


Researchers

Oscar Brousse
Research Fellow 
o.brousse@ucl.ac.uk

Giorgos Petrou
Research Fellow 
giorgos.petrou@ucl.ac.uk

Prof Michael Davies
Professor 
michael.davies@ucl.ac.uk

Irene Pluchinotta
Senior Research Fellow 
i.pluchinotta@ucl.ac.uk

Duncan Grassie
PhD Student 
duncan.grassie.16@ucl.ac.uk

Rokia Raslan
Associate Professor 
r.raslan@ucl.ac.uk

Clare Heaviside
NERC Research Fellow 
c.heaviside@ucl.ac.uk

Charles Simpson
Research Fellow 
charles.simpson@ucl.ac.uk

Aurore Julien
Lecturer (Teaching) 
aurore.julien@ucl.ac.uk

Phil Symonds
Lecturer 
p.symonds@ucl.ac.uk

Anna Mavrogianni
Professor
a.mavrogianni@ucl.ac.uk

Rui Tang
Lecturer 
rui.tang@ucl.ac.uk

Nahid Mohejeri
Senior Research Fellow 
gemma.moore@ucl.ac.uk

Ioanna Tsoulou
Research Fellow 
i.tsoulou@ucl.ac.uk

Gemma Moore
Senior Research Fellow 
gemma.moore@ucl.ac.uk

Marcella Ucci
Associate Professor 
m.ucci@ucl.ac.uk

Tin Oberman
Research Fellow 
t.oberman@ucl.ac.uk

 

Nici Zimmerman
Associate Professor 
n.zimmerman@ucl.ac.uk