XClose

UCL Energy Institute

Home
Menu

Staff

Staff details for the Energy MPhil/PhD.

Supervisors

Principal Supervisor

The relationship between an academic Supervisor and a research student is a unique one, which evolves over several years to achieve a number of objectives, including:

  • providing you with a thorough grounding in all aspects of research within the context of an academic discipline;
  • creating a learning experience that is intellectually challenging and personally fulfilling within a stimulating and supportive environment;
  • providing academic and pastoral support;
  • ensuring you are able to complete your PhD in a timely manner;
  • preparing you for a range of careers.

Subsidiary Supervisor

Your second supervisor is an additional source of support and advice. They will enhance the effective supervision of your work by contributing a second opinion or additional areas of expertise.

Staff

Below is a list of UCL Energy Institute (UCL-Energy) supervisors of MPhil/PhD and MRes projects sorted by Research Theme.

Buildings

Tadj Oreszczyn 
View Tadj's profile
Email: t.oreszczyn@ucl.ac.uk

Andrew Smith (subsidiary supervisor only)
View Andrew's profile 
Email: andrew.smith@ucl.ac.uk 

Catalina Spataru 
View Catalina's profile
Email: c.spataru@ucl.ac.uk

Energy Systems

Gabrial Ananandarajah 
View Gabrial's profile 
Email: g.anandarajah@ucl.ac.uk

Hannah Daly (subsidiary supervisor only)
Email: hannah.daly@ucl.ac.uk

Paul Dodds 
View Paul's profile 
Email: p.dodds@ucl.ac.uk

Ilkka Keppo 
View Ikka's profile 
Email: i.keppo@ucl.ac.uk

Xavier Lemaire 
View Xavier's profile
Send Xavier an email

Neil Strachan 
View Neil's Profile
Email: n.strachan@ucl.ac.uk

People & Energy

Lai Fong Chiu
View Lai Fong's profile
Email: lai.chiu@ucl.ac.uk

David Shipworth
View David's profile 
Email: d.shipworth@ucl.ac.uk

Michelle Shipworth 
View Michelle's profile 
Email: m.shipworth@ucl.ac.uk

Gesche Huebner (subsidiary supervisor only)
View Gesche's profile
Email: g.huebner@ucl.ac.uk

Policy & Law

TBC

Transport

Mark Barrett 
View Mark's profile 
Email: mark.barrett@ucl.ac.uk

Andreas Schafer 
View Andreas' profile
Email: a.schafer@ucl.ac.uk

Andrew Smith (subsidiary supervisor only)
View Andrew's profile
Email: andrew.smith@ucl.ac.uk

Tristan Smith
View Tristan's profile 
Email: t.smith@ucl.ac.uk

Neil Strachan  
View Neil's Profile 
Email: n.strachan@ucl.ac.uk

Smart Energy Systems

Mark Barrett
View Mark's profile 
Email: mark.barrett@ucl.ac.uk

Cliff Elwell
View Cliff's profile 
Email: clifford.elwell@ucl.ac.uk

Bob Lowe
View Bob's profile 
Email: robert.lowe@ucl.ac.uk

Tadj Oreszczyn 
View Tadj's profile
Email: t.oreszczyn@ucl.ac.uk

David Shipworth
View David's profile 
Email: d.shipworth@ucl.ac.uk

Michelle Shipworth 
View Michelle's profile 
Email: m.shipworth@ucl.ac.uk

Catalina Spataru
View Catalina's profile
Email: c.spataru@ucl.ac.uk 

Affiliate

UCL-Energy is partner institutes with UCL Institute for Sustainable Resources. Potential supervisors include: 

Paul Ekins  
Email: p.ekins@ucl.ac.uk

Paolo Agnolucci (subsidiary supervisor only)
Email: p.agnolucci@ucl.ac.uk

Teresa Domenech (subsidiary supervisor only) 
Email: t.domenech@ucl.ac.uk

Matthew Winning (subsidiary supervisor only)
Email: m.winning@ucl.ac.uk

Below is a list of other UCL Departments who have staff currently part of the supervision team for UCL-Energy core or affiliate students. Please note this list is not exhaustive and our engagement with UCL Departments extends beyond this list. 

UCL Development Planning Unit
UCL Bartlett School of Construction & Project Management 
UCL Department of Chemistry 
UCL Department of Chemical Engineering
UCL Department of Mechanical Engineering 
UCL Department of Civil, Environment & Geomatic Engineering
UCL Department of Physics & Astronomy 
UCL Department Economics UCL Applied Mathematics 
UCL Department of Geography 
UCL Department of Law