The Bartlett School of Architecture


Cosmowomen: All-female Exhibition Featuring Bartlett Alumni Opens in Rome 

21 June 2021

The exhibition launches at the Galleria Nazionale d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea in Rome on Monday 21 June.

Image: Izaskun Chinchilla Moreno

Curated by Izaskun Chinchilla Morena, Professor of Architectural Practice at The Bartlett, the exhibition incorporates 71 projects from a diverse group of 65 female architects who have graduated from the school’s Architecture MArch programme in the past ten years.

Originally planned for June 2020, but delayed due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the exhibition is sited in the gallery’s Salone Centrale, with a focal point of three complex and monumental structures made of sustainable materials. The structures are inspired by three armillary spheres, reduced models of the cosmos seen from the terrestrial perspective, used as astronomical instruments in antiquity and the Middle Ages to determine the position of celestial bodies.

The three monumental spheres – the Gynaeceum, the Onsen and the Parliament – represent three places of coexistence that have played an important role in the construction of the common culture of women, while also representing places of exclusion or segregation. Through those spheres, the exhibition reflects on the relationship that gendered bodies create with, respectively, the intimate, natural and public space.

Based on these symbolic places and by developing multiple sub-spheres, the new generations of female architects present alternative models of designing as well as relating to space, other human beings and the planet, offering reflections on forms of living, co-living and collaboration.

The fundamental hypothesis of the exhibition is that the full integration of women in the professional and academic field of architecture would generate new places of reflection or consolidate and expand the existing ones, by ultimately intensifying the relationships between those places and by creating a sort of a constellation.

The complete list of participating exhibitors is below.

Participants by graduating unit


Amy Yao
Bijou Harding
Charlotte Cole
Faustyna Smolilo
Heba Mohsen
Katherine Ramchand
Lauren McNicoll
Lola Haines
Masha Gerzon
Phyllis Yu
Venessa Yau


Anna Andronova


Ellie Sampson
Emma Colthurst
Felicity Barbur
Johanna Just
Ness Lafoy


Catrina Stewart
Christia ANgelidou
Christina Bjerke
Elin Soderberg
Helena Howard
Ifigeneia Liangi
Nikki-Marie Jansson


Alice Hardy
Doville Ciapaite
Emily Martin
Gintare Kapucuite
Hoy Lei Ngan
Maite Seimetz
Marjut Lisco
Naomi de Barr
Nicola Chan
Sara Martinez
Shi Yin Ling


Alex Mok
Charlotte Page
Emilly Doll
Julia Schuetz
Justine Bell
Malina Dabrowska
Mika Zacarias
Minghui Ke
Sarah Earney
Sarah Izod


Angeline Wee
Emma Carter
Feng Yang
Kat Scott
Naomi Gibson
Paddi Benson


Ana Alonso
Faye Greenwood
Freya Cobin
Janis Ho
Jiao Peng
Kate Woodcock
Kirsty Williams
Le lulu li
Lorraine Yan Ting Li
Sarah Firth
Yinghao Wang


Gergana Popova
Paula Strunden
Rose Shaw
Stefania Tsigkouni
Sylwia Poltorak
Brook Ting Jui

More information

Lead: Izaskun Chinchilla Architects
1-2: Izaskun Chinchilla Architects
3-5: Galleria Nazionale d'Arte Moderna