The Bartlett School of Architecture


Three Bartlett tutors make AJ Emerging Woman Architect of the Year shortlist

22 January 2014

ay architects montpelier

Hannah Corlett, Daisy Froud and Yeoryia Manolopoulou, all teaching at The Bartlett School of Architecture, are among eight women shortlisted for AJ's Emerging Woman Architect of the Year award.

Hannah Corlett teaches on the MArch Urban Design programme at The Bartlett School of Architecture and is Director of Assemblage. Before founding the practice she worked on the Stirling Prize-winning Peckham Library with Will Alsop. During the past year Assemblage has won a string of major design competitions, including the international contest for the new $1 billion Iraqi parliament building.

Daisy Froud teaches Architectural History & Theory at The Bartlett School of Architecture and is Founder of AOC. During 2013 the practice completed a new build extension to St Saviour’s & St Olave’s Secondary School in Southwark and gained planning for housing and a community centre in Nunhead, as well as a cultural centre in Willesden Green. Froud sits on two London borough design review panels and is a built environment expert for CABE.

Yeoryia Manolopoulou is Director of Architectural Research and teaches on MArch  Unit 17 at The Bartlett School of Architecture. She is co-founder and partner of AY Architects. In 2013, the practice’s building for Montpelier Community Nursery won the 2013 Stephen Lawrence Prize. Treasured by the local community, the building has been shortlisted for the Camden Design Award and the People’s Choice Award. This year AY Architects also completed a small library for Torriano Infants School, also in Camden, and won a commission for the RIBA Regent Street Windows Project.

Read more and the individual interviews on the AJ website

The winner will be announced at the AJ Women in Architecture luncheon at the Langham Hotel on 7 February. This year’s jury includes the winner of last year’s Jane Drew Prize, Eva Jiricna, alongside an 11-strong jury including Doreen Lawrence, Laura Lee, Martha Thorne and Peter Rees.

Image: Montpelier Community Nursery by AY Architects