The Bartlett School of Architecture


Bartlett 175

Celebrating 175 years of architectural education at UCL

In 2016 we are 175 years old.

In 1841 Thomas Leverton Donaldson was appointed UCL’s first Chair in Architecture, one of the first in the UK, founding what later became The Bartlett School of Architecture. To celebrate this milestone,  2016 we will be a year of special events and activities:

We will stage the inaugural Donaldson Lecture, a major new annual lecture by a household name, which aims to draw links between the Built Environment sector and the wider world.

We’ll produce a special publication in conjunction with Architectural Review, celebrating the history of the School and the work of notable staff and alumni.

We’ll launch a new international peer-reviewed conference, ‘Drawing Futures’, examining the critical role of drawing in relation to technology, contemporary architectural practice and beyond.

We’ll host aae2016, the conference of the Association of Architectural Educators, a major international conference on the theme of ‘Research-Based Education’.

Our newly refurbished home, 22 Gordon Street, will reopen with a series of special exhibitions and events.

We’ll launch a series of anniversary bursaries funded by alumni and supporters, to support promising students who may not otherwise be able to study with us.

Alumni will be invited to attend one-off reunion events and dinners in grand and unexpected spaces in the UK and overseas, to hear from guest speakers, network and reunite with old friends.

In addition, our International Lecture Series and Summer and Autumn student shows will feature extra activities and stellar guest appearances.

Sponsorship opportunities

We are looking for support from friends, alumni, associates and followers as the grand occasion unfolds. For detailed supporter packages and an informal discussion, contact:

Laura Cherry, Communications Coordinator
+44 (0)20 3108 9630

Or browse our partnerships booklet on Issuu.

Bartlett 175 supporters

  • AHMM    
  • Foster + Partners    
  • Imagination Academy
  • Hawkins Brown    
  • Rogers Stirk
  • Harbour + Partners    
  • Saint-Gobain
  • Scott Brownrigg    
  • Pollard Thomas Edwards    
  • Derwent
  • Piercy & Co    
  • Duggan Morris    
  • Hopkins
  • Adrem