Advanced Propulsion Lab


Management Committee


Management Committee

Image of Prof.Dan Brett

Prof. Dan Brett

E: d.brett@ucl.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)207 679 3310

" Dan is a Professor in Electrochemical Engineering in the Department of Chemical Engineering. He specialises in electrochemical engineering, including the modelling, testing, design, device fabrication, materials development and technoeconomic analysis of energy conversion and storage technologies, including fuel cells, electrolysers and batteries. He has published >200 peer reviewed papers in leading international journals, 7 book chapters, 2 books and holds five patents based on which he is commercialising two new fuel cell technologies. Dan was awarded the De Nora Prize in 2009 for Applied Electrochemistry from International Society of Electrochemistry for his excellent record of research accomplishments in the field of batteries and fuel cells and the 2011 Baker Medal from the Institution of Civil Engineers for published research. Dan is the UCL Director of the National Centre for Grid Scale Energy Storage and the UCL Director of the Centre for Doctoral Training in Fuel Cells and their Fuels.
Image of Dr. Paul Shearing

Dr. Paul Shearing

E: p.shearing@ucl.ac.uk
T: +44 (0)207 679 3783

" Prof Paul Shearing (PRS) UCL is Royal Academy of Engineering Chair in Emerging Technologies at University College London and from 2012-16 was a holder of a Royal Academy of Engineering Research Fellowship. His research interests cover a broad range of electrochemical engineering themes with a particular interest in the relationship between performance and microstructure for energy materials: an area in which he has published more than 130 papers in the past 5 years (>3000 citations, h=31). He is a pioneer of '4-D Tomography' to study microstructure in electrochemical materials, and has used most of the world's major synchrotron light sources. He is a founding investigator of the newly formed Faraday Institution, and leads the STFC Global Challenge Network in Batteries and Electrochemical Energy Devices. In 2014 he was named 'Young Chemical Engineer of the Year in Academia' by the Institute of Chemical Engineers and in 2016 the RAEng Engineers Trust Young Engineer of the Year.