Academic Manual


Section 2: The Qualifications of UCL

Published for 2023-24

2.1 Further Education Qualifications2.4 Taught Postgraduate Qualifications
2.2 Undergraduate Qualifications2.5 Postgraduate Research Qualifications
2.3 Graduate Qualifications 

 The following Qualifications are accredited by University College London, granted under the ordinances and statutes of the University of London (see University of London Statutes, Ordinances and Regulationsand governed by this Qualifications and Credit Framework:

2.1 Further Education Qualifications


Level 3

  • University Preparatory Certificate (UPC)

2.2 Undergraduate Qualifications


Level 4

  • Certificate of Higher Education (Cert HE)

Level 5

  • Diploma of Higher Education (Dip HE)
  • Foundation Degree (FD)

Level 6 Bachelors Degrees

  • Bachelor of Arts (BA)
  • Bachelor of Arts and Sciences (BASc) (see Annex 7.10.1: BASc Qualification Descriptor)
  • Bachelor of Education (BEd)
  • Bachelor of Engineering (BEng)
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA)
  • Bachelor of Laws (LLB)
  • Bachelor of Science (BSc)
  • Integrated Bachelor of Science (iBSc)
  • Intercalated Bachelor of Science (iBSc)
  • Bachelor of Science (Economics) (BSc (Econ))
  • Ordinary Degree (Bachelors without Honours)

Level 7 Bachelors Degrees

  • Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS)*

*The Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS) was amended from Level 6 to Level 7 in 2021/22 to align with the FHEQ’s classification of primary medical qualifications at level 7 in 2014. This change was backdated to 2016/17, and therefore all awards made from 2021/22 onwards will be at Level 7.

Level 7 Integrated Masters Degrees

  • Master of Engineering (MEng)
  • Master in Science (MSci)
  • Master of Pharmacy (MPharm)

2.3 Graduate Qualifications


Level 6 Graduate Certificates

  • Graduate Certificate (Grad Cert)
  • Professional Certificate in Teaching and Learning in Higher and Professional Education (PCTL)

Level 6 Graduate Diplomas

  • Graduate Diploma (Grad Dip)

Pre-Masters Programmes

  • International Pre-Masters

2.4 Taught Postgraduate Qualifications


Level 7 Postgraduate Certificates

  • Postgraduate Certificate (PG Cert)
  • Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE)

Level 7 Postgraduate Diplomas

  • Postgraduate Diploma (PG Dip)
  • Postgraduate Diploma in Education (PGDE)

Level 7 Taught Masters Degrees

  • Master of Architecture (MArch)
  • Master of Arts (MA)
  • International Master of Arts (MA (International))
  • Master of Arts and Sciences (MASc) (see Annex 7.10.2: MASc Qualification Descriptor)
  • Master of Business Administration (MBA) (see Annex 7.10.3: MBA Qualification Descriptor)
  • Master of Clinical Dentistry (MClinDent)
  • Master of Education (MEd)
  • Master of Fine Art (MFA)
  • Master of Landscape Architecture (MLA)
  • Master of Laws (LLM)
  • Master of Planning (MPlan)
  • Master of Public Administration (MPA)
  • Master of Public Health (MPH)
  • Master of Science (MSc)
  • Master of Surgery (MS)
  • Master of Teaching (MTeach)

Postgraduate Research Qualifications


Level 7 Research Masters Degrees

  • Master of Research (MRes)
  • Master of Philosophy (MPhil)
  • Master in Philosophical Studies (MPhilStud)

Level 8 Doctorates

  • Doctor of Philosophy (MPhil/ PhD)
  • Doctor in Engineering (EngD)
  • Doctor of Medicine (Research) (MD(Res))
  • Doctor of Public Administration (DPA)

Level 8 Professional Doctorates

  • Doctor in Clinical Psychology (DClinPsy)
  • Doctor in Dentistry (DDent)
  • Doctor in Education (EdD)
  • Doctor in Educational Psychology (DEdPsy)
  • Doctor in Educational and Child Psychology (DECPsy)
  • Doctor in Orthopaedics (Doc.Orth)
  • Doctor in Psychotherapy (DPsychotherapy)

Level 8 Integrated Doctorates

  • Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery/ Doctor of Philosophy (MB PhD)
  • Master of Research/ Doctor in Engineering (MRes/ EngD)
  • Master of Research/ Doctor of Philosophy (MRes/ MPhil/PhD)