Research Profile

Biography Sketch


Thanh Research Team

Research Vacancies

Lab Tour

Teaching Interests

Science in Society

Art vs Science

Departmental Service


Nanoparticles Meetings

Contact Details





Dr Nesbitt, UCL Healthcare Biomagnetic and Nanomaterials Laboratory Manager


Dr Stefanos Mourdikoudis, EPSRC Research Associate, 2016-2019

Dr ALec LaGrow, EPSRC Research Associate, 2016-2018

Dr Max Besenhard, EPSRC Research Associate, 2016-2019

Dr Katerina Loizou, EPSRC Research Associate, 2016-2019

Dr Jun Chen, Royal Society- National Nature Science Foundation International Exchange Fellow, 2016-2018

Dr Bengi Ozkahraman, RAE Newton Fellow, 2017-2018



Miss Lilin Wang, Self-funded, 2014-2018

Mr Francesco Rossi, UCL-ASTAR Singapore studentship, 2015-2018

Mr Simone Famiani, UCL-JAIST studentship, 2015-2018

Mr Andreas Sergides, ACM DTC UCL-Imperial studentship, 2015-2019

Mr Georgios Kasparis, UCL studentship, 2015-2019

Ms Diana Raie, Newton Mosharafa PhD studentship, 2017-2021

Mr Mateij Sebek, UCL-ASTAR Singapore studentship, 2017-2021

Ms Joyce Caoimhe, ACM DTC UCL-Imperial studentship, 2017-2021

Ms Elizabeth Storey,
UCL-ASTAR Singapore studentship, 2018-2022

Mr Thithawat Trakoolwilaiwon, Royal Thai Government studentship, 2018-2022

Ms Le Thi Hong Phong, exchange PhD student from IMS, VAST, 2018.

Mr  Pham Hong Nam, exchange PhD student from IMS, VAST, 2018.


2017-2018 Horatio Cox, MSc Physics student

2017-2018 Sarura Deeprasert, MSc Chemistry student

2018-2019 James Gray, MSci Physics student


2018 Ms Zuzana Hamasova, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2018 Ms Ashely Kirs,  IPLS Summer Studentship

2018 Ms Nur Hanisah Abu Talib, Summer Student

2018 Mr Christoforos Efstathiou, Summer Student


2018 Sayeed Ahmed

2018 Afia Shakir 





Prof Lanry Yung, Univeristy of Singapore, 2014-2015 


Dr Diane Ung, BBRSC Research Associate, 2007-2008

Dr Nasir Ahmad, Higher Education Commission Pakistan, 2007-2008

Dr Duy H. Nguyen, RAE Newton Fellow, 2015-2016

Dr Kuan Boone Tan, RS Newton Fellow, 2015-2017

Dr Pingyun Li, China Scholarship Council Fellow, 2016-2017



Dr Ian Robinson, 2005-2009. First Employer: Unilever Ltd, UK

Dr Le Trong Lu, 2006-2010. First Employer: Vietnam National Academy of Science and Technology

Dr Trinh Thang Thuy, 2009-2012. First Employer: Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology

Dr Luke Green, 2009-2013. First Employer: Malvern Instruments Ltd, UK

Dr Cristina Blanco-Andujar, 2009-2013. First Employer: Toyohashi University, Japan

Dr Blanco-Andujar won 2014 Marshall Stoneham Prize for the best PhD thesis in the 2014 UCL Condensed matter and Materials Physics (CMMP) group. 

Dr Marianne Monteforte. 2011-2015. First Employer: Strategic Business Insights, UK

Dr Roger Molto Pallares, 2012-2016. UCL-ASTAR Singapore studentship. First Employer: Northwestern University, USA.

Dr Pallares was awarded a Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences Postgraduate Research Dean's Commendations for 2016 for his outstanding performance in his PhD. He was also awarded Biophysics Prize for 2017. 

Dr Valentina Mameli, 2013-2016. Joint PhD studentship with Sardina University, Italy. First Employer: Sardina University, Italy.

Roxanne Hachani, 2012-2106 SLMS Grand Challenge Studentship. First Employer: H˘pital Saint-Louis, Paris. France

Dr Razwan Baber, 2011-2015, EPSRC studentship. First Employer: Tes Global, UK

Dr Ana Estandardte, 2011-2015, EPSRC studentship.

Dr Nick Hobson, 2012-2016, EPSRC studentship. First Employer: GW Pharmaceuticals plc, UK.

Dr Aziliz Hervault, 2013-2016, UCL-JAIST studentship. First Employer: Hutchinson Reserche & Innovation, France

Dr Xian Weng Jiang, UCL SLIM studentship, 2013-2016.
First Employer: Lonza Biologics, UK.


Ms Kristin Vassileva, BBSRC rotation PhD student, 2017

Ms Giota Chondrou, MRC-Biophysics studentship, 2017

Ms Giyun (Laura) Yoo, BBSRC UCL-King's rotation PhD student, 2018


2007-2008 Nicola Julie Kay, MChem

2007-2008 Patrick John Moran, MChem

2008-2009 Daniel Dawson, MChem

2008-2009 Alex McLennan, MChem

2009-2010 Yimeng Ma, MSc in Nanotechnology

2009-2010 Joshua W Owen, MChem

2010-2011 Tania Fritz, MSc in Biomedicine

2010-2011 Maria Brooks-Barlett, MSci in Chemistry

2010-2011 Fang Gao, MSc in Nanotechnology

2010-2011 Jeffrey Tan, MSc in Nanotechnology

2010-2012 Reshma Unadkat, MSci in Chemistry

2011- 2012 Shravan Suresh, MSc in Nanotech & Regenerative Medicine

2011-2013 Niall Maclean, MRes

2012-2013 Nathan Johnson MSc in Physics

2012-2013 John-Mark Sisman, MSci in Physics

2012-2013 Kingsley Hannah, MSci in Physics

2012-2013 Charalambos Klitis, MSc in Nanotechnology

2013-2014 Kadyrov Ilyas, MSc in Nanotechnology

2013-2014 Sara Mahiddine, MSc in Nanotechnology

2015 Paul Bonijol, MSc

2014-2015 Sungmyung Kang, MSc in Nanotechnology

2014-2015 Ben Bishop, MSc in Nanotechnology

2014-2015 Anwaar Khabou, MSci in Nanotechnology

2015-2016 Amanda Smyth, MSci in Physics

2015-2016 James Dunworth-Crompton, MSc in Physics

2015-2016 Frederick Brezina, MSc in Physics

2016-2017 Max Zamblera, MSci in Physics

2016-2017 Aritz Stern Erdocio, MSci in Physics

2016-2017 Ervin Haihaj, MSci in Chemistry

2017-2018 Gabriel Cheung, MSci in Physics

2017-2018 Danitza Sithirangathan, MSci in Physics



2005-2006 Avinash Nanayakkara

2006-2007 Richarch Pole

2006-2007 Robert Harries

2007-2008 Chao Liu

2007-2008 Elizabeth Dowson

2008-2009 Katherine Woodward

2008-2009 Mohini Chauhan



2006 Matthew Forster, 1st class MChem, Wellcome Trust VIP summer project

2006 Jacqueline Wrench, MRC summer project student

2006 Derek Cocker, MRC summer project

2006 Christopher Bentley, IDBA summer project student

2006 Marina Prewitz, IDBA summer project student

2007 Isaac Bruce, Placement student

2008 Daniel Dawson, Wellcome Trust Vacation Studentship

2008 Elaine Wang, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2009 Peter Edmunds, Wellcome Trust Vacation Studentship

2009 Shaun Wood, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2009 Paul Gorman, Nuffield Undergraduate Summer Studentship

2010 Josh Owen, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2010 Neel Makwana, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2010 Ana Katrina C. Estandarte, University of Philippines Malina

2011 Anthony Perera, Infonaut funded summer studentship

2012 Jingyi Wang, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2013 Victoria Gomez Murcia, Exchanged Summer Student from Spain

2014 Stanislav Sokolov, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2014 Benjamin Spanos, Condensed Matter & Materials Phys. studentship

2015 Mohammed Fatah, Condensed Matter & Materials Phys. studentship

2016 Hollie Packman, EPSRC Vacation Studentship

2016 Josh Tuffnell, IPLS Vacation Studentship

2017 Markus Grueter, EPSRC Vacation Studentship



2007 Christopher Bingham

2007 Jonathan Benwell

2007 Charlotte Lynch

2008 Luke McRedmond

2008 Michael Ng

2008 Charlotte Green

2009 Connor Watts

2009 Gabrielle Deehan

2010 Shazeaa Ishamael

2014 Jack McDermott

2014 Mandy Elrayah

2014 Fahim Islam

2015 Mirusaire Ramarajaha

2015 Omar Almubarak

2016 Ms Tobe Morkah

2016 Ms Georgina McCabe

2017 Ms Madelaine Donoher-Lamden

2017 Mr Abdulrahman Omar



2011 Dr Alaa Mohamed Ali

2011 Dr Aliaa Nassar, Bachelor of Medicine; Bachelor of Surgery (MB BCh)

2011 Dr Ziad Mansour

2013-2014 Mr Alex Dunn, University of New South Wales, Australia, Winston Churchill Memorial Trust

2013-2014  Mr Douglas Dunn, University of New South Wales, Australia, Winston Churchill Memorial Trust

2016, Ms Maria Theodossiou, National Centre of Scientific research Demokritos, Institute of Nanoscience and Nanomaterials, Sol-Gel lab, Greece.

2018 Mr Francis Beton,  Institut de Physique et Chimie des Materiaux de Strasbourg | IPCMS,  Chemistry of Inorganic Materials, Univeristy of Strasbourg, France