The Olympic Park
A quick history of the area
In 1868, the area was largely agricultural. Adjacent uses included a gasworks, a brick field, a spinning mill and nearby railways on the embankment. By 1893, a number of light industrial premises (Victoria Oil and Candle Works, Varnish Works, Oil and Chemical works and Hudson’s Bay Fur and Skin works) occupied a vacant area of land to the south including the UCL East site. From the end of the 20th century until the early 2000s the site was used as a scrap yard.
The wider site was subsequently developed for the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games. The Legacy Communities Scheme (LCS) planning application, which was approved in September 2012, is the overarching scheme developed to guide the long-term development of the Olympic Park and its neighbourhoods after the Games.quick
The Olympic legacy
Building on East London’s reputation as a trailblazer in design and creativity, and inspired by the vision for the legacy of the Great Exhibition that created Exhibition Road in Kensington, the Olympic Park now plans to make its name as a new centre for attracting and nurturing talent and industry. The Cultural and Education District will create a world-class destination, bringing together outstanding organisations to showcase exceptional art, dance, history, craft, science, technology and cutting edge design.
The Park is fully open to the public, and has attracted over four million visitors to its venues, parklands and waterways. World leading sporting events have also returned, including the Tour de France, Rugby World Cup and the IAAF World Athletics Championships.