ASPIRE CREATe Centre for Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology

ASPIRE centre, Stanmore

ASPIRE National Training Center in Stanmore

Aspire Create, the Centre for Rehabilitation Engineering and Assistive Technology, is an exciting new joint research venture between the Aspire Charity, University College London and the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital, Stanmore. The centre was established at the beginning of 2014 to develop translational research to improve the quality of life of people with spinal cord injuries (SCIs). Currently, it houses four academics (Dr Rui Loureiro, Dr Tom Carlson, Dr Anne Vanhoestenberghe and Dr Steve Taylor), along with their researchers. This rapidly growing centre investigates techniques that are applicable and transferrable between different domains in related areas of interest, including, but not limited to stroke, muscular dystrophy, amputation, the ageing population and training of specialised skills (e.g. surgical). 

Latest News

   
10 Dec 2014 Congratulations to "The Eggsperts", Giulia Barbareschi, Chinemelu Ezeh and Rhys Williams, PhD students from Aspire Create and BIG@PAMELA, who scooped first place with their robot at the Institute of Making's Great Egg Race. Look at the photos.
10 Dec 2014 Dr Rui Loureiro gave an IBME seminar, entitled "Would you eat soup with a fork?". 
26 Nov 2014 Dr Anne Vanhoestenberghe gave a seminar to the IBME doctoral training programme students.
20 Nov 2014 Dr Tom Carlson gave a talk entitled "Brain-machine interfaces: science beyond fiction?" at a Café Scientifique, hosted by King Edward's School Witley, Surrey.
20 Nov 2014 We were honoured by a lab visit from the Dean of Medical Sciences, Prof David Lomas, where he interacted with our demos and chatted to our staff and students.
19 Nov 2014 Aspire Create delivered a Special Grand Round entitled "Technology for the advancement of rehabilitation of spinal cord injuries". It was a 1.5h lunchtime seminar, organised by the School of Life Sciences and Medicine, and open to the public and attracted over 100 attendees.
18 Sep 2014 We ran a very successful session during the Division of Surgery's Away Day, which introduced the Aspire Create and concluded with an interactive panel session.
16 Jul 2014 Dr Tom Carlson gave an IBME seminar, entitled "Sharing control between man and machine: from wheelchairs to brain-computer interfaces". It attracted a diverse audience and was followed by a lively question and answer session, drinks and nibbles.

Personnel

Academics

Dr Rui Loureiro Aspire Senior Lecturer r.loureiro@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Tom Carlson Aspire Lecturer t.carlson@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Anne Vanhoestenberghe Aspire Lecturer a.vanhoest@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Steve Taylor Lecturer stephen.taylor@ucl.ac.uk

Research Associates

Dr Michael Mentink Postdoc m.mentink@ucl.ac.uk

PhD Students

Mr Chinemelu Ezeh PhD Student chinemelu.ezeh.14@ucl.ac.uk
Mr Elliott Magee PhD Student e.magee@ucl.ac.uk

Research Assistants

Miss Tijana Jevtic PhD Student t.jevtic@ucl.ac.uk
Mr Ha Le PhD Student h.le@ucl.ac.uk
Mr Peter Snow PhD Student p.snow@ucl.ac.uk

Affiliated Researchers

Prof Nick Donaldson Professor n.donaldson@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Holloway Lecturer c.holloway@ucl.ac.uk
Dr Henry Lancashire Postdoc henry.lancashire.10@ucl.ac.uk
Miss Giulia Barbareschi PhD Student giulia.barbareschi.14@ucl.ac.uk
Mr George Saleh PhD Student  

Visiting Researchers

Mr Joris Van der Cruijsen Visiting student  

Research Themes

These are our research themes, which we will link to our ongoing projects shortly...

  • Advanced human machine interaction
  • Brain-computer interfaces (software and hardware)
  • Haptics
  • Biosignal processing
  • Rehabilitation robotics
  • Electrical stimulation (surface and implantable)
  • Design and manufacture of biocompatible electrodes
  • Active implantable electronic devices
  • Robotic exoskeletons 
  • Adaptive shared control systems that assist when needed
  • User intention prediction
  • Smart wheelchairs
  • Student projects

Research and Project Opportunities

If you can't find a suitable project, please check back again soon. This list gets updated regularly, as and when new opportunities become available.

Postdoc Research Associate Positions

[closed] Research Associate (Job reference: 1436661) 

PhD Positions

[closed] IBME Doctoral Training Programme

[closed] SLMS Grand Challenge Studentship 

Master Student Projects

[open] Tackling the mutual learning problem in a motor imagery based brain-computer interface [project info]

Bachelor Student Projects

None at present. 

Publications

These publications have been automatically extracted from the UCL Research Publication Database.

Research Publications


Retrieving data...

Contact Us

The best way to contact us is to email one of the academics in the Personnel tab above.

Our lab is physically located on the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital site in the Peripheral Nerve Injury unit (PNI), building number 37 on this map (note that UP is SOUTH).

For issues relating to the Aspire Create website, please contact t.carlson@ucl.ac.uk.


Aspire Logo
 
RNOH Logo

Logos Royal Free London - NHS Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital - NHS University College London Hospitals - NHS UCL Institute of Biomedical Engineering NPIMR