A A A

Term dates: 2017-2018

 Term Date
First Term Monday 25 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
Second Term Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Third Term Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 8 June 2018

College Reading Weeks: Monday 6 November 2017, Monday 12 February 2017.


UCL Examination Periods

Main Exam Period Wednesday 25th April – Friday 8th June 2018
Late Summer Exam Period Monday 20th August – Friday 7th September 2018

These examination dates are for centrally managed exams only.  Please refer to your Student Handbook for specific departmental tests.


Term dates exceptions

Students on full-time Taught Masters programmes study for a full calendar year.

Therefore, students are expected to study beyond the end of the third term to prepare their dissertation in time for submission in September.

Students on full-time two year Taught Masters programmes should consult with their Departments on exactly when they are expected to study outside the normal stated term dates.

Research students are required to be in continuous attendance, apart from periods of leave to be taken in line with UCL staff holiday entitlements.

For students who are Tier 4 visa holders, this means that you will continue to be restricted to term-time levels of permissible hours of work, paid or unpaid. 

More information on working during studies can be found on the Immigration and Visas website:


The Medical School

MBBS 5 year course

MBBS 6 year course (including IBSc)

Year 1
1st Term
Monday 25 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
2nd Term

Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018

3rd Term
Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 8 June 2018

Year 2
1st Term
Monday 25 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
2nd Term

Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018

3rd Term Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 8 June 2018
Year 3 Intercalated BSc
1st Term Monday 25 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
2nd Term Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
3rd Term Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 8 June 2018
Year 4
1st Term Tuesday 29 August 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
2nd Term Tuesday 2 January 2018 – Wednesday 28 March 2018
3rd Term Thursday 5 April 2018 – Friday 3 August 2018
  52 weeks inclusive of 6 weeks' annual leave
Year 5
1st Term Thursday 31 August 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
2nd Term Tuesday 2 January 2018 – Wednesday 28 March 2018
3rd Term

Thursday 5 April 2018 – Friday 3 August 2018

  52 weeks inclusive of 6.5 weeks' annual leave
Year 6
1st Term Tuesday 29 August 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
2nd Term Tuesday 2 January 2018 – Thursday 29 March 2018
3rd Term Tuesday 3 April 2018 – Friday 22 June 2018
  43 weeks inclusive of 2 weeks' annual leave


The above dates may be subject to review.


UCL School of Pharmacy

MSc Clinical Pharmacy, International Practice and Policy

Term Date
First Term Monday 25 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
Second Term Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Third Term Monday 16 April 2018 - Friday 21 September 2018

Institute of Education


PGCE Primary
Autumn Term Monday 4 September 2017 – Thursday 14 December 2017
Spring Term Wednesday 3 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Summer Term Monday 16 April 2018 – Friday 6 July 2018
PGCE Secondary
Autumn Term Monday 4 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
Spring Term Tuesday 2 January 2018 – TBC
Summer Term TBC
PGCE Postcompulsory
Autumn Term Monday 18 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
Spring Term Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Summer Term Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 8 June 2018
Early Years Initial Teacher Training
Autumn Term Monday 4 September 2017 – Thursday 14 December 2017
Spring Term Wednesday 3 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Summer Term Monday 16 April 2018 – Friday 29 June 2018
School Centred Initial Teacher Training
Autumn Term Tuesday 29 August 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
Spring Term Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Summer Term Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 29 June 2018
School Direct Salaried
Autumn Term Monday 4 September 2017 – Friday 22 December 2017
Spring Term Thursday 4 January 2018 – TBC
Summer Term TBC
Teach First

19 June 2017 – 31 July 2018


IOE Undergraduate Programmes

Autumn Term Monday 25 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
Spring Term Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Summer Term Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 8 June 2018

IOE Postgraduate Taught Programmes

Autumn Term Monday 25 September 2017 – Friday 15 December 2017
Spring Term Monday 8 January 2018 – Friday 23 March 2018
Summer Term Monday 23 April 2018 – Friday 6 July 2018

Closures and Bank Holidays

College Closures

Christmas
Close 5.30pm
Friday 22 December 2017
Open 9.00am
Tuesday 2 January 2018

Easter
Close 5.30pm
Wednesday 28 March 2018
Open 9.00am
Thursday 5 April 2018

Bank Holidays

Closed - Monday 07 May 2018
Closed - Monday 28 May 2018
Closed - Monday 27 August 2018

Page last modified on 02 mar 17 08:28


Note

All Bank Holidays, and the College closure dates based on them, are the standard "traditional" dates and may be subject to change by government.