Sessional Changes

It has been necessary to modify some of the tables and diagrams over the years to meet the needs of our audience. The changes that have occurred in a particular session are listed below. Please bear these changes in mind when making time-series comparisons.


The restructuring of the School of Life and Medical Sciences resulted in a change from two facuties to the following four faculties:

  • Brain Sciences
  • Medical Sciences
  • Population Health Sciences
  • Life Sciences

Table O, Students Domiciled Outside the UK by Method of Study, now splits graduate students into graduate taught and graduate research.

The new School of Energy & Resources (Australia) and UCL Energy Institute are included as departments.

Please note the reorganisation of the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences and the Faculty of Life Sciences has led to significant changes to the departments within these faculties.

Due to changes made by statutory bodies there have been minor adjustments to the categories used in the student ethnicity and disability tables.

Please note the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering and the Department of Geomatic Engineering have merged to form the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geomatic Engineering. The Institute of Urology and Nephrology has been disestablished and incorporated within the Department of Surgery. The Management Science and Innovation Centre replaces the Management Studies Centre and the Centre for Enterprise and the Management of Innovation. 

Please note that the Department of Paediatrics and Child Health has merged with the Institute of Child Health and the Bartlett School has been separated into four distinct schools, namely the Bartlett School of Architecture, the Bartlett School of Construction and Project Management, the Bartlett School of Graduate Studies and the Bartlett School of Planning. In addition, the Faculty of Clinical Sciences has been included under its new name of the Faculty of Biomedical Sciences. This faculty now includes all the Graduate Institutes as well as the Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research which was formerly part of the Faculty of Life Sciences.

Please note that the School of Public Policy and the Institute of Laryngology and Otology are included under their new names of Political Science and the Ear Institute respectively. In addition, several Graduate and Higher Diploma programmes have been reclassified from postgraduate to undergraduate level. These changes were made in accordance with the Quality Assurance Agency's Framework for Higher Education Qualifications.

Please note that the Departments of Education and Professional Development and Histopathology are included under their new names of Centre for the Advancement of Learning and Teaching [CALT] and Pathology respectively. The Department of Gynaecological Oncology is included for the first time this year. In addition, the Department of Sexually Transmitted Diseases merged with the Department of Primary Care and Population Sciences. Reorganisation within the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioural Sciences has resulted in several programmes being reassigned to the Department of Medicine and the formation of the new Department of Mental Health Sciences.

Table T UK Domiciled Student Numbers by Ethnic Group and Table U Student Numbers by Disability Group are included for the first time this year. 

The Departments of Medical Microbiology and Virology merged to form the new Department of Infection. The Centre for European Studies and the Department of Human Sciences are included for the first time and the Department of Modern European Studies is included under its new name of European Social and Political Studies. Students in the Language Centre on non-degree programmes are included in the undergraduate figures for the first time. 

The Department of Geological Sciences and the Higher Education Research and Development Unit [HERDU] are included under their new names of Earth Sciences and Education and Professional Development respectively. The Department of Physical Sciences is included for the first time this year. The Departments of Computer Sciences and Medical Physics have transferred from the Faculty of Mathematical and Physical Sciences to the Faculty of Engineering Sciences. 

Tables L, O and P have been modified this year as follows:

  • The new Table L1 is equivalent to the old Table L. An extra Table L2 has been added which provides Graduate Taught/Research Analysis by Fee Status.
  • Table O has been modified to provide information on Students Domiciled outside the UK rather than Students of Overseas Nationality. This means that the sum of Tables N and O is now equivalent to the total number of students at UCL.
  • Similarly, Table P now contains information on Students Domiciled outside the UK rather than Students of Overseas Nationality.

The Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine [RFHSM] and the School of Slavonic and East European Studies [SSEES] became fully integrated with UCL's faculty structure. Therefore, RFHSM medical students are included with Life Sciences (pre-clinical medicine) and Clinical Sciences (clinical medicine) and SSEES students are included with Arts and Humanities (language-based subjects) and Social and Historical Sciences (non-language based subjects). In addition, nearly all RFHSM departments merged with UCL departments this year. As a result the tables include the department of Clinical Neurosciences for the first time as well as the newly formed departments of Immunology and Molecular Pathology, Medical Microbiology and Paediatrics and Child Health. Graduate students on both sites are included in the single entry for the relevant department.

1999-00 The Centre for Maths and Physics in the the Life Sciences and Experimental Biology [CoMPLEX], the Eastman Dental Insitute and the School of Slavonic and East European Studies [SSEES] are included for the first time.

The Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine, the Gatsby Computational Neuroscience Unit and the School of Public Policy are included for the first time. Also, Biochemical Engineering and Chemical Engineering became two distinct departments in 1998 and their figures are listed separately in the tables. In addition, the method for calculating students' ages at the date of registration for Diagram 2 has been modified to be consistent with the methods used by external statistical agencies.

1997-98 The Institute of Neurology is included for the first time. Also, the Department of Photogrammetry and Surveying is listed under its new name of Geomatic Engineering. In a change from previous years, full-time research students on study leave have been counted as full-time and not part-time.

1996-97 The Institute of Child Health is included for the first time. Also, in a change from previous years, the Centre for Advanced Instrumentaion Systems is listed separately from Physics and Astronomy. The other main change is the inclusion of Tables R and S which provide information on Full-Time Undergraduate Average 'A'-Level Points on Entry and First Degree Awards respectively.