Student Support and Wellbeing Staff

The following list provides a brief overview of the roles and responsibilities of each staff member within the department. Use the arrows to display further information on each role.

Director of Student Support and Wellbeing: Denise Long

  • Leads the SSW Team
  • Coordinates activities of teams across the section to provide a comprehensive support structure for all fully enrolled UCL students
  • Direct report to the Registrar

Email: denise.long@ucl.ac.uk



Student Advisory and Events Services

Student Support and Wellbeing Manager (International and Welfare): Lina Kamenova

  • Provides support to the Director
  • Direct line-manager for Study Abroad Coordinator and International Student Support staff
  • Responsible for overseeing and coordinating team activities
  • Responsible for the delivery of ISOP

Email: l.kamenova@ucl.ac.uk

Student Support and Wellbeing Caseworker: Sinéad Dennehy

  • Provides support to the SSW Manager and Director
  • Liaison with students returning from interruption due to health and wellbeing issues
  • Assist with management of SSW email account and Student of Concern referrals
  • Liaison with UCL Medical Advisers and support services with the local community

 Email: s.dennehy@ucl.ac.uk

Student Support and Wellbeing Officer: Vacant

  • Provides Administrative support to the SSW service, including support to the SSW Manager and Director
  • Assist with management of SSW email account and Student of Concern referrals
  • To maintain up to date all information and communications relevant to the work of the SSW service

Study Abroad Team

Student Mobility Manager: Lucy Gaunt

Responsible for the co-ordination of activity to increase, promote and support student mobility across UCL. Key responsibilities include:

  • Acting as operational lead for UCL’s participation in the Erasmus programme, including undertaking the role of Institutional Erasmus Co-ordinator; liasiing with UCL academic departments about existing Erasmus+ partnerships; monitoring balance of exchange agreements; ensuring institutional compliance with Erasmus+ Programme regulations.
  • Taking a strategic lead on student mobility, contributing to the development and delivery of other projects and partnerships across the institution which contribute to achieving the targets for student mobility as outlined in the Global Engagement Strategy.
  • Maintaining oversight of the Study Abroad Programme operated by the Study Abroad Team, facilitating the delivery of a high quality programme of opportunities for undergraduate students.

[Note: liaison with international partners and exchange over creation, renewal and termination of exchange contracts is handled by the Global Engagement Office (Erasmus+ and departmental agreements) and/or Student Recruitment Marketing (Faculty- or college-level agreements) – if you unsure who to speak to, please contact us and we will redirect your query.)]

Email: l.gaunt@ucl.ac.uk

Study Abroad Coordinator: Clare Herbert

Responsible for the delivery and coordination of student-facing elements of the UCL Study Abroad Programme (Outbound), including:

  • Organising the annual Study Abroad Fair and information events
  • Coordination of applications for UCL Exchange placements
  • Administration of outbound Erasmus student mobility, including paperwork requirements, payment of Erasmus grants and British Council reporting
  • Liaison with colleagues in academic departments and other SRS areas over administration of study abroad student data
  • Delivery of a comprehensive preparation programme and welfare support of all outbound UG students, including UCL travel insurance.

Email: clare.herbert@ucl.ac.uk

Study Abroad Adviser: Frankie Gall

  • Provides day-to-day support to the Study Abroad Coordinator for delivery and coordination of student-facing elements of the UCL Study Abroad Programme (Outbound)

Email: studyabroad@ucl.ac.uk

International Support and Study Abroad Officer: Laura Smith

  • Provides day-to-day support to the International Student Support and Study Abroad Team, particularly with International Student Enquiries and support during ISOP

Email: internationalsupport@ucl.ac.uk / studyabroad@ucl.ac.uk


International Student Support Team

International Student Welfare Coordinator: Charlotte Odell

  • Responsible for ISOP arrangements
  • Oversees social media and ISS web development
  • Provides support for international students on practical matters relating to their studies

Email: c.odell@ucl.ac.uk

International Support and Study Abroad Officer: Laura Smith

  • Provides day-to-day support to the Study Abroad Team and the International Student Support team, particularly with International Student Enquiries and management of the Erasmus Scheme

Email: laura.smith@ucl.ac.uk

International Student Adviser: Wes Durdle

  • Provides day-to-day support in the International Student Support Team, in particular dealing with enquries from international students, assisting with ISOP arrangements and managing the new students Newsfeed.

Email: w.durdle@ucl.ac.uk


Student Support and Events Team

Student Support and Wellbeing Manager (Student Centre and Events): Kate Jones - On Maternity Leave

  • Provides support to the Director of Student Support and Wellbeing
  • Direct line-manager for Student Centre Coordinator and Student Support and Events staff
  • Planning and delivering major UCL student events, notably Student Support and Wellbeing student and staff events, UCL Graduation Ceremonies and Opening of Session (Start of Term) activities (and related events)
  • Primary responsibility for logistics and staff management

Email: k.s.jones@ucl.ac.uk

Student Advisory and Events Services Manager (Event Logistics and Management): Giovanna Amorosi

  • Provides support to the Director of Student Support and Wellbeing
  • Planning and delivering major UCL student events, notably Student Support and Wellbeing student and staff events, UCL Graduation Ceremonies and Opening of Session (Start of Term) activities (and related events)
  • Primary responsibility for logistics

Email: g.amorosi@ucl.ac.uk

Student Support and Events Officer: Fiona Rose-Clarke

  • Provides support for the planning and delivery of team activities
  • Responsible for team financial support and management of UCL Graduation Ceremonies student data administration

Email: f.rose-clarke@ucl.ac.uk

Student Support and Events Assistant: Sai Yoghananthan

  • Provides support for the planning and delivery of team activities including:

    • UCL's Graduation Ceremonies
    • Student Support Events
    • UCL's new student enrolment activities (Opening of Session)
  • Provides support in the UCL Student Centre, responding to student enquiries on a walk-in basis

Telephone: 0203 108 735

Email: s.yoghananthan@ucl.ac.uk

Student Support and Events Assistant: Kate Thomas

  • Provides support for the planning and delivery of team activities including:

    • UCL's Graduation Ceremonies
    • Student Support Events
    • UCL's new student enrolment activities (Opening of Session)
  • Provides support in the UCL Student Centre, responding to student enquiries on a walk-in basis

Telephone: 0203 108 7682

Email: k.m.thomas@ucl.ac.uk


Student Centre

Student Centre Coordinator: Tracey Smith

  • Responsible for coordination of UCL Student Centre activities including in-person and email services
  • Manages staff resource for the Student Centre

Email: tracey.p.smith@ucl.ac.uk

Student Centre Officer: Charlotte Richards

  • Staffs the UCL student centre, responding to student enquiries on a walk-in basis
  • Provides email support for Student Centre enquiries
  • Supports the Student Centre Coordinator

Email: charlotte.richards@ucl.ac.uk

Student Centre Officer: Stuart Andrews

  • Staffs the UCL student centre, responding to student enquiries on a walk-in basis
  • Provides email support for Student Centre enquiries
  • Supports the Student Centre Coordinator

Email: stuart.andrews@ucl.ac.uk



Student Disability Services

Head of Student Disability Services: David Walmsley

  • Responsible for the coordination of all aspects of student disability support at UCL

Email: d.walmsley@ucl.ac.uk

Student Disability Services Manager – Specific Learning Difficulties: Caroline Holden

Student Disability Services Manager – Specific Learning Difficulties: Caroline Holden

Email: c.b.holden@ucl.ac.uk

Student Disability Services Manager – Senior Disability Advisor: Venitia Stoby

Student Disability Services Manager – Senior Disability Advisor: Venitia Stoby

  • Works with students with a disability in order to provide the most appropriate support

Email: v.stoby@ucl.ac.uk

Mental Health Coordinator: Naomi Jackson

Disability Advisors: Angus Lamb, Sharon Rankin, Angel Perez

  • Work with students with a disability in order to provide the most appropriate support

Email: a.lamb@ucl.ac.uk & angel-samuel.perez@ucl.ac.uk & s.rankin@ucl.ac.uk

Student Disability Services Administrators: Alison Angel & Joanna Bean

  • Provides administrative support for Student Disability Services

Email: a.angel@ucl.ac.uk & j.bean@ucl.ac.uk



Student Psychological Services

Head of UCL Student Psychological Services: Catherine McAteer

  • Head of Service; coordinates and manages staff to provide a comprehensive and high quality level of service to students
  • Psycho-Dynamic Counsellor & Psycho-Analytic Psychotherapist

Email: c.mcateer@ucl.ac.uk

Deputy Head of UCL Student Psychological Services: Barry Keane

  • Provides support to the Head of Service for coordination and running of services
  • Psycho-Analytic Psychotherapist & Cognitive Behavioural Psychotherapist

Email: b.keane@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Executive Officer: Gopiha Nandagopal

Evening Executive Officer: Julius Tylecote

Executive Officer: Valentina Arnold

  • Responsibe for delivering the programme of workshops offered by Student Psychological Services.

Email: v.arnold@ucl.ac.uk

Tel: x55024


Therapists


Chaplaincy


Page editors: Belinda Fullelove (b.fullelove@ucl.ac.uk)