Access and Admissions Staff

The following list provides a brief overview of the roles and responsibilities of each staff member within the department. Use the arrows to display further information on each role.

Director of Access and Admissions: Bella Malins

  • Leadership of Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment, Undergraduate Admissions and Graduate Admissions
  • Leads on student number planning exercise
  • Responsible for student fee status appeals
  • Member of SRS Management Team

Email: b.malins@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer (Qualifications and Data): Katie Britton

  • Responsible for researching UK and international qualifications and equivalencies
  • Assisting the Director of Access and Admissions and the Admission Managers with the production of reports and analysis of admissions data

Email: katie.britton@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Manager (Projects and Systems): James Busson

  • Leads on the Admissions Structures and Selection Processes Project

Email: j.busson@ucl.ac.uk


Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment

Head of Access: Katy Redfern

  • Leads the Widening Participation and UK Undergraduate Recruitment Office
  • Responsible for developing and implementing UCL’s WP and undergraduate recruitment strategies
  • With the Director of Access and Admissions, reports on UCL’s performance against its Access Agreement targets

Email: k.redfern@ucl.ac.uk


Liaison and Recruitment

Access Manager (Liaison and Recruitment): Lisa Schappert

  • Leads the liaison and recruitment team
  • Responsible for developing short-term engagement activities with young people and potential students from primary level through to mature students

Email: l.schappert@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Access Officer: Caroline Fionda

  • Manages the Pre-16 Engagement Team
  • Leads on the UCL Year 11 Summer CShool
  • Leads on activities for parents

Email: c.fionda@ucl.ac.uk

Access Officer: Louise Sung

Coordinates projects at primary and secondary level

Coordinates the programme of visits to campus, University Challenge Days and the Inspire Programme

Email: louise.sung@ucl.ac.uk

Access Officer: Vij Cakli

Coordinates projects at primary and secondary level

Coordinates the schools mentoring scheme, Junior Masterclasses and UCL Advocates

Email: v.cakli@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Access Officer: Gianpaolo Manalastas

  • Manages the Post-16 Engagement Team
  • Leads on the UCL Open Day
  • Leads on activity for teachers

Email: g.manalastas@ucl.ac.uk

Access Officer:

  • Coordinates the Departmental Initiatives Scheme
  • Coordinates the Year 12 Summer Schools
  • Coordinates Masterclasses and conversion activities

This post is currently vacant please email Gianpaolo Manalastas

Access Officer: Lucy Salmon

  • Coordinates activity for mature students
  • Coordinates the UCL Student Ambassador scheme
  • Coordinates the Year 12 Gateway Conferences

Email: l.salmon@ucl.ac.uk

Academic Skills

Access Manager (Academic Skills): Lucie March

  • Leads the Academic Skills Team
  • Responsible for developing long-term engagement activities with young people and potential students
  • Responsible for the development of the Transition Programme

Email: l.march@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Access Officer: Alison Home

  • Manages the Horizons programme
  • Manages the Summer Challenge programme
  • Leads UCL’s EPQ and academic skills support for schools

Email: a.home@ucl.ac.uk

Access Officer: Anna Batcheler

  • Coordinates the Aspire and Unilink programmes
  • Coordinates EPQ support for schools and colleges

Email: a.batcheler@ucl.ac.uk

Access Officer: Aileen Toal

  • Coordinates the Horizons Saturday school for Year 10 and Year 11 students
  • Coordinates the Horizons Year 10 Summer School

Email: a.toal@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Access Officer: Alice Salmon

  • Manages the Transition Programmes
  • Manages the Languages and Study Skills Summer School
  • Leads on activities for looked after children

Email: alice.salmon@ucl.ac.uk

Access Officer: Amy Suddards

  • Coordinates the Transition Programme
  • Coordinates pre-transition support for UCL offer-holders

Email: a.suddards@ucl.ac.uk


Evaluation and Support

Senior Access Officer: Robin Barrs

  • Manages and implements the Evaluation Strategy for activity across the office
  • Compiles evidence of impact to support UCL’s Access Agreement reporting
  • Leads on the office’s sustained engagement agenda, keeping in touch with project participants

Email: r.barrs@ucl.ac.uk

Access Officer: Raoul Morley

  • Coordinates UCL’s higher education fair and school visit programme
  • Coordinates UCL’s Recruitment Panel
  • Maintains databases

Email: r.morley@ucl.ac.uk

Access Assistant: Helen Anderson

  • Provides administrative support for the office
  • Responsible for sending out ezines to project participants and potential UCL students

Email:h.anderson@ucl.ac.uk


Undergraduate Admissions

Undergraduate Admissions Manager: Sarah West

  • Leads the Undergraduate Admissions Office
  • Responsible for liaison with faculty offices
  • UCL’s UCAS Correspondent
  • Handles current undergraduate fee status reviews

Email: s.j.west@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: Lucy Ghost

  • Manages the Arts and Humanities undergraduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Undertakes processing and selection of applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email: l.ghost@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Caroline Pulford

  • Administration of applications for the Arts and Humanities undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: c.pulford@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Matthew Skidmore

  • Administration of applications for the Arts and Humanities undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: matthew.skidmore@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Natasha Clark

  • Administration of applications for the Arts and Humanities undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: n.clark@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Sam Hesketh-Ostmann

  • Administration of applications for the Arts and Humanities undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: s.hesketh@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: Sam Alston

  • Manages the Social and Historical Sciences undergraduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Undertakes processing and selection of applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email: s.alston@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Rob Sassoon

  • Administration of applications for the Social and Historical Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: r.sassoon@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Jennifer Whitney

  • Administration of applications for the Social and Historical Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: j.whitney@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Francesca Cameron

  • Administration of applications for the Social and Historical Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: francesca.cameron@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Assistant: Bryony Green

  • Assisting the undergraduate teams for Arts and Humanities and Social and Historical Sciences.

Email: b.green@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: Rebecca Surin

  • Manages the Mathematical & Physical Sciences undergraduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Undertakes processing and selection of applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email : r.surin@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Megan Walsh

  • Administration of applications for the Mathematical & Physical Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email:megan.walsh@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Christopher Davison

  • Administration of applications for the Mathematical & Physical Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: c.davison@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Suzanne Hewings

  • Administration of applications for the Mathematical & Physical Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: s.hewings@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: Caroline Aspinwall

  • Manages the Medical Sciences undergraduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Undertakes processing and selection of applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email: caroline.aspinwall@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Amy Davis

  • Administration of applications for the Medical Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: amy.davis@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: Alex White

  • Manages the Life Sciences undergraduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Undertakes processing and selection of applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email: alex.white@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Woody Whyte

  • Administration of applications for the Life Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: w.whyte@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Vernon Kavanagh

  • Administration of applications for the Life Sciences undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: v.kavanagh@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: Michelle Fell

  • Manages the Engineering undergraduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Undertakes processing and selection of applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email: m.fell@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Heather Cheshire

  • Administration of applications for the Engineering undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: h.cheshire@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Ellie Collinge

  • Administration of applications for the Engineering undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: e.collinge@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Thomas Mulvey

  • Administration of applications for the Engineering undergraduate team, including processing and selection

Email: t.mulvey@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: David Morris

  • Manages the Brain Sciences and Population Health undergraduate teams
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Undertakes processing and selection of applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email: david.morris@ucl.ac.uk


Graduate Admissions

Graduate Admissions Manager: Caroline Hayward

  • Leads the Graduate Admissions Office
  • Responsible for development of graduate admissions processes

Email: c.hayward@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Admissions Officer: Chris Gregory

  • Manages the Laws, SSEES, Arts and Humanities and Social and Historical Sciences (SLASH) graduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Responsible for DOSA referrals
  • Administration of graduate applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews
  • Secretary to the Admissions Requirement Panel

Email: christopher.gregory@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Sophia Hussain

  • Administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team
  • Handles queries for Social and Historical Sciences applications

Email: sophia.hussain@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Terry Allitt

  • Administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team
  • Handles queries for Social and Historical Sciences applications

Email: t.allitt@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Daren Fry

  • Administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team
  • Handles queries for Laws and SSEES applications
  • Assists administration of affiliate applications for the SLASH team
  • Handles queries relating to CAS issuing for SLASH

Email: d.fry@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Oliver Tomlinson

  • Administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team
  • Handles queries for Laws and SSEES applications
  • Administration of affiliate applications for SLASH

Email: o.tomlinson@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Isha Reid

  • Administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team
  • Handles queries for Arts and Humanities applications

Email: i.reid@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Kieron Woolley

  • Administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team
  • Handles queries for Arts and Humanities applications

Email: k.woolley@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Assistant: Vacancy

  • Assists with administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team

Email: 

Admissions Assistant: Vacancy

  • Assists with administration of applications for the SLASH graduate team

Email: 

Senior Admissions Officer: Yuk Wong

  • Manages the Bartlett, Engineering Sciences and Mathematical and Physical Sciences (BEAMS) graduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Administration of graduate applications
  • Responsible for DOSA referrals
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email : yuk.wong@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Matt Darragh

  • Administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team
  • Handles queries for Bartlett and Mathematical and Physical Sciences applications
  • Handles queries relating to CAS issuing for BEAMS

Email: m.darragh@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Emily Izatt

  • Administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team
  • Handles queries for Bartlett and Mathematical and Physical Sciences applications

Email: e.izatt@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Ruth Doughty

  • Administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team
  • Handles queries for Engineering and Mathematics and Physical Sciences applications

Email: r.doughty@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Katharine Manley

  • Administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team
  • Handles queries for Engineering and Mathematics and Physical Sciences applications 

Email: k.manley@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Madeleine Bennett

  • Administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team

Email: m.c.bennett@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Michael Pierson

  • Administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team

Email: m.pierson@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Assistant: Gemma Cheng

  • Assists with the administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team
  • Handles non-offer related queries for the BEAMS graduate team

Email: gemma.cheng@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Assistant: Vacancy

  • Assists with the administration of applications for the BEAMS graduate team
  • Handles non-offer related queries for the BEAMS graduate team

Email: 

Senior Admissions Officer: Sarah Crook

  • Manages the Brain Sciences, Life Sciences, Medical Sciences and Population Health Sciences (SLMS) graduate team
  • Responsible for liaison with admissions tutors
  • Administration of graduate applications
  • Undertakes fee status reviews

Email: sarah.crook@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Alex Addo

  • Administration of applications for the SLMS graduate team

Email: a.addo@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Fynn Cullen

  • Administration of applications for the SLMS graduate team

Email: edward.cullen@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Tom Haskell

  • Administration of applications for the SLMS graduate team

Email: t.haskell@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Officer: Naomi Gordon

  • Administration of applications for the SLMS graduate team

Email: naomi.gordon@ucl.ac.uk

Admissions Assistant: Amy Keen

  • Assists with the administration of applications for the SLMS graduate team

Email: a.keen@ucl.ac.uk


Page editors: Belinda Fullelove (b.fullelove@ucl.ac.uk); Lisa Schappert (l.schappert@ucl.ac.uk); Katie Britton (katie.britton@ucl.ac.uk)