Academic Services Staff

The following list provides a brief overview of the roles and responsibilities of each staff member within the department. Use the arrows to display further information on each role.

Director of Academic Services: Derfel Owen

  • Manages the Academic Services Department across the full range of its work
  • Secretary to Academic Board, Academic Committee and Audit Committee
  • UCL’s point of contact with the Quality Assurance Agency (QAA)
  • Member of the SRS Management Team

Email: d.owen@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58209


Academic Programmes Manager: Irenie Morley

  • Maintenance of the Academic Regulations
  • Approval of new degree programmes and constituent modules
  • Scrutiny of External Examiner’s reports
  • Secretary to the Programme and Module Approval Steering Group
  • Secretary to various working groups and Internal Quality Review (IQR) teams

Email: i.morley@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58218

Academic Standards and Quality Manager: Cat Edera

  • Academic Partnerships / Collaborative provision
  • Lead on co-ordinating preparations for the QAA's Higher Education Review (HER) of UCL in summer term 2016

Email: c.edera@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x57605 (Thurs and Fri only)

Assessment Regulations and Governance Manager: Lizzie Vinton

  • Review of UCL Academic Manual
  • Advising staff and students on the application of UCL’s academic policies
  • Secretary to Education Committee and Research Degrees Committee
  • Overseeing the approval, recording and reporting of suspensions of regulations

Email: l.vinton@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x57603

Quality Assurance Manager: Sandra Hinton

  • Internal academic quality management and enhancement policies and processes, including IQR, annual monitoring and programme review
  • External quality management and enhancement issues, including QAA-related initiatives and developments
  • Maintenance of the Academic Manual (UCL’s ‘quality handbook’)
  • Secretary Quality Management and Enhancement Committee, and the IQR Panel
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams

Email: s.hinton@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58210

Academic Support Officer and Governance and Quality Assurance Co-ordinator: Chandan Shah

  • Administrative support to the Director, Quality Assurance Manager and Governance Officer
  • Secretary to Student Recruitment and Admissions Committee
  • Updating of the Academic Manual
  • Secretary to Chair/Reader selection committees
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams

 Email: chandan.shah@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58212

Quality Assurance Co-ordinator: Rob Traynor

  • Supports the Quality Assurance Manager in all of the above areas
  • Co-ordination of the National Student Survey (NSS)
  • Secretary to the Joint Staff Student Committee
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams

Email: r.traynor@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58213

Quality Assurance Officer: Keir Bonnar

  • Supports the Academic Programmes Manager in all of the above areas
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams

Email: k.bonnar@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58219


Head of Student Data Services and Deputy Director of Academic Services: Gary Smith

  • Leads Student Data Services
  • Development of student data reporting
  • Analysis of external returns and derived data
  • Development and oversight of programme and academic entity data

Email: gary.smith@ucl.ac.uk

Student Data Manager: Natasha Walsh

  • Co-ordination of preparation of HESA ISR and HESES
  • Extraction, analysis and presentation of data to internal and external bodies
  • Overview of Data Quality as it relates to external reporting

Email: n.walsh@ucl.ac.uk

Senior Student Data Analyst: Martin Howells

  • Development of student data reporting
  • Co-ordination of HESES Returns
  • Extraction, analysis and presentation of data to internal and external bodies
  • Overview of Data Quality as it relates to external reporting

Email: m.howells@ioe.ac.uk

Student Data Analyst: Lee Hook

  • Production of statutory returns and statistical reports
  • Extraction, analysis and presentation of data to internal and external bodies
  • Ad-hoc enquiries

Email: l.hook@ucl.ac.uk

Student Data Analyst: Camelia Njemanze

  • Production of statutory returns and statistical reports
  • Extraction, analysis and presentation of data to internal and external bodies
  • Ad-hoc enquiries

Email: c.njemanze@ucl.ac.uk

Student Data Support Officer: Angela Jackson

  • Assists with production of statutory returns and statistical reports
  • Assists with extraction, analysis and presentation of data to internal and external bodies
  • Ad-hoc enquiries

Email: angela.jackson@ucl.ac.uk

Data Quality Officer: Bienvenu Piacka

  • Maintainance of Data Quality for external reporting
  • Maintainance of programme and academic entity data as relates to IoE systems
  • Ad-hoc enquiries

Email: b.piacka@ioe.ac.uk


Assistant Director (Governance and Secretariat): Nick McGhee

  • Advising faculties and departments on the regulations and procedures relating to the appointment of Chairs and Readerships
  • As Assistant Secretary to Council, supporting the work of Council
  • Secretary to Ethical Investment Review Committee and Nominations Committee
  • Secretary to Chair/Reader selection committees
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams

Email: n.mcghee@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58217

Governance Officer (and Research Ethics Co-ordinator): Helen Dougal

Internal extension: x58216

Governance Officer: Gary Hawes

  • Operation of UCL’s system of formal committees
  • Secretary to Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee and International Strategy Board
  • Ramsay Memorial Trust
  • Research misconduct panels
  • Secretary to Chair/Reader selection committees
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams

Email: g.hawes@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58215

Governance Officer: Dr Marguerite Nolan

  • Secretary to Estates Management Commitee, Finance Committee, Human Resources Policy Committee and Remuneration and Strategy Committee

Email: m.nolan@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x28595

Governance Officer (and Research Governance Co-ordinator): Rachel Port

  • Supports implementation of research governance framework
  • Research misconduct panels
  • Secretary to Equalities and Diversity Committee, Ethics Committee and Research Governance Committee
  • Maintenance of the Academic Services web pages
  • Secretary to Chair/Reader selection committees
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams

Email: r.port@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58211

Governance Support Officer: Nafisa Wagley

  • Supports the Assistant Director in all of the above areas
  • Secretary to various working groups and IQR teams
  • Secretary to Chadwick Trust
  • Secretary to Library Committee
  • Administrative support to Chair/Reader selection committees

Email: n.wagley@ucl.ac.uk Internal extension: x58214



Page editors: Rachel Port (r.port@ucl.ac.uk