Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee reports to Council


Dame DeAnne Julius

Who to contact

Ms Anne Marie O'Mullane

for agendas and minutes; apologies for absence 
020 3108 8930


Academic Manual
Key Resources for Staff
UCL Committees

Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee

Constitution and Membership for 2017-18

Where the name of a committee member is italicised, this indicates that that member is serving on the committee as a deputy or nominee of another member.

Number in brackets to the right-hand side of a committee member’s name indicates length of continuous service in years, up to and including the 2016-17 session. Length of service is not indicated for ex officio and student members, or for observers.

Ex Officio

Chair of Council (Chair) Dame DeAnne Julius
President and Provost Professor Michael Arthur
Vice-Provost (International) Dame Nicola Brewer
Vice-Provost (Development)
Mrs Lori Houlihan
Education Officer, Students' Union Ms Sarah Al-Aride

Deans of Faculties (or nominees):
Arts and Humanities Professor Stella Bruzzi
Brain Sciences  Professor Alan Thompson 
Built Environment Professor Alan Penn
UCL Institute of Education  Professor Becky Francis
Engineering Sciences Professor Nigel Titchener-Hooker
Laws Professor Piet Eeckhout
Life Sciences Professor Geraint Rees
Mathematical and Physical Sciences Professor Ivan Parkin
Medical Sciences  Professor Mark Emberton
Population Health Sciences  Professor Graham Hart 
Social and Historical Sciences Professor Mary Fulbrook


One external Member of Council, appointed by Council

  • Ms Lindsay Nicholson (3) 

Secretary Ms Anne Marie O'Mullane

Terms of Reference

Subject to any general or particular direction that may from time to time be given by Council, the Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee is charged by Council:

  1. In accordance with UCL Regulation for Management 8, to consider nominations for UCL Honorary Degrees and to submit to Council for approval recommendations for the conferment of these awards.
  2. In accordance with UCL Statute 14 and UCL Regulation for Management 8, to consider nominations of Honorary Fellows of UCL, and to submit to Council for approval recommendations of names for election to the UCL Honorary Fellowship.
  3. To determine, keep under review and make recommendations to Council as necessary for changes to UCL’s procedures for i) the conferment of Honorary Degrees and ii) election of Honorary Fellows of UCL.
  4. To report annually to Council on recommendations acceptances of proposed conferrals of UCL Honorary Degrees and election to Honorary Fellowships.
  5. To submit minutes of each of its meetings to Council.

Meeting Dates 2017-18

  • Thursday 16 November 2017, 10.30am


Minutes of meetings of the Honorary Degrees and Fellowships Committee are confidential to the Committee and are not available online.