Ethics Committee reports to Council


Ms Philippa Foster Back

Who to contact

Mr Jason Clarke

for agendas and minutes
020 7679 8594

Ms Harriet Lilley

for apologies for absence 
020 7679 8593


Academic Manual
Key Resources for Staff
UCL Committees

Ethics Committee

Constitution and Membership for 2013-14

Number in brackets to the right-hand side of a committee member’s name indicates length of continuous service in years, up to and including the 2012-13 session. Length of service is not indicated for ex officio and student members, or for Observers.

The number in square brackets next to the name of a committee member who is identified as serving as the appointed or elected Chair of the committee indicates the number of consecutive years that member has served as Chair up to and including the 2012-13 session.

Ex Officio

Vice-Provost (Operations) Mr Rex Knight
Director of Legal Services
Ms Natasha Lewis 


Two Lay Members of Council, appointed by Council (one to be Chair)

  • Ms Philippa Foster Back (Chair) [1] (1)
  • Baroness (Diana) Warwick (1)

Two academic staff members of UCL, appointed by Council

  • Professor Richard Moorhead (1)
  • Professor Jo Wolff (1)

Secretary Mr Jason Clarke

Terms of Reference

Subject to any general or particular direction that may from time be given by the Council, the Ethics Committee is charged by Council:

  1. To propose a Code of Ethics, and any subsequent modifications, to Council.
  2. To support promulgation and monitor implementation of the Code of Ethics across UCL.
  3. To review reports or other indicators which might give rise to ethical issues and recommend action where appropriate.
  4. To respond to any relevant national policy or legislative changes.
  5. To report to Council by submission to the Council officers of the Minutes of each meeting of the Ethics Committee.

Meeting Dates 2013-14

  • To be notified


Minutes of meetings of the Ethics Committee are confidential to the Committee and are not available online.